10-15-10, 03:20 PM   #1
Crystallyne
A Fallenroot Satyr
Post "You are not in a guild." Spam with 4.0 Beta

There was brief mention from someone in another area of the forums about this, and I am now getting it. I tried to look around but don't see any bug reports about this, so I'm reporting it now.

At this moment the ONLY addon I have loaded is Carbonite, and I am getting a constant stream of "You are not in a guild." error messages. Like every 5 seconds. I had loaded it earlier and didn't see this. Turned it off to test something unrelated, and when I turned it back on and went in-game, it started right away.

On a side note, when I did not have the problem before I had multiple addons loaded. But now, with ONLY Carbonite loaded, I'm getting this. I don't know if it's a coincidence or not, but thought I would mention it just in case. (Dunno why having other addons would stop it, but hey. I'm not an expert at this sort of thing.)

10-15-10, 05:50 PM   #2
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer

I've experienced the issue myself as well. There's several bug threads on the Cataclysm forums about this.

Issue: Blizzard Bug. Is not caused by an addon.

Symptons:
I'll see the same system message in chat off and on. Sometimes, I'll try to type into G chat and I will receive the Blizz system message that "You are not in a Guild" as well.

Solution per Blizz forums:
Log out to the character selection screen, then log back in and all is well for a time. If it happens again, rinse, repeat as needed. PITA I know, but it's all we have at the moment.

10-15-10, 07:07 PM   #3
Palladia
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker

I had this same problem last night. I thought it was Carbonite, but then loading without Carbonite (or, in fact, without any addons), I still had the problem. I tried to type in guild chat and couldn't see anything. So I whispered a guildmate, and he said it's a bug and to relog. I did so and the problem went away.

10-16-10, 09:14 AM   #4
Crystallyne
A Fallenroot Satyr