Quantcast Req: one bank addon, fitting the default UI. - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-10-14, 05:43 AM   #1
karmamuscle
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 205
Req: one bank addon, fitting the default UI.

Hi,
I've always been happy with the default UI bags and with the enhancements in WoD I definitely won't be using anything else.

One thing that do bother me, is how the bank works.
With 7 bags opening besides the main bank window.

I would love to see a all in one solution that also fit graphically with the default UI.
I've tried a few mods, but they all look horrible.

Thank you in advance
Karma Muscle
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765
  Reply With Quote
11-10-14, 06:01 AM   #2
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
Originally Posted by karmamuscle View Post
Hi,
I've always been happy with the default UI bags and with the enhancements in WoD I definitely won't be using anything else.

One thing that do bother me, is how the bank works.
With 7 bags opening besides the main bank window.

I would love to see a all in one solution that also fit graphically with the default UI.
I've tried a few mods, but they all look horrible.

Thank you in advance
Karma Muscle
I'd look into OneBag + OneBank, Bagnon. OneBank is specifically for the bank.

Most do use the tooltip-border though, to change the look. But see which one meets your requirements qua functionality, then we'll talk look (Could be as easy as writing a skin for it.)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-10-14, 08:23 AM   #3
karmamuscle
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 205
I would say OneBank has the functionality and apparently OneBag is no longer required, yay!

For looks, the default reagent bank would be sweet.
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765
  Reply With Quote
11-10-14, 07:54 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,530
I know you said that you like the default bags, but have you ever given Combuctor a look?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
11-10-14, 10:55 PM   #5
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
If you just want an all-in-one UI that matches the default UI and doesn't have any of the bells and whistles found in Combuctor etc. I'd highly recommend Inventorian.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-11-14, 12:19 AM   #6
jeruku
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
If you just want an all-in-one UI that matches the default UI and doesn't have any of the bells and whistles found in Combuctor etc. I'd highly recommend Inventorian.
Awesome! Personally used Combuctor up until now because I never found anything default looking. Now if only it had token/currency display like the default.

Oh, as a response to the actual thread I concur with Phanx and Seerah. If you do not mind the all in one bag then Combuctor or Inventorian are ideally what you are looking for.
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison

Last edited by jeruku : 11-12-14 at 10:55 PM. Reason: punctuation
  Reply With Quote
11-11-14, 06:53 AM   #7
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
If you just want an all-in-one UI that matches the default UI and doesn't have any of the bells and whistles found in Combuctor etc. I'd highly recommend Inventorian.
I didn't even know this existed!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-11-14, 07:40 AM   #8
karmamuscle
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
karmamuscle's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 205
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
If you just want an all-in-one UI that matches the default UI and doesn't have any of the bells and whistles found in Combuctor etc. I'd highly recommend Inventorian.
I had no clue this was out there! Fantastic!
Thank you so much.

Fits perfect. http://i.imgur.com/7yxuQmf.jpg
__________________
55 89 144 233 377 610 987 1597 2584 4181 6765
  Reply With Quote
11-11-14, 07:45 AM   #9
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
It's new. I only noticed it because I happened to be looking at the "new and updated" list on WowAce.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 09:12 AM   #10
deadhead
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
I absolutely love adibags.
I've not tried Inventorian but I stopped looking for bag mods after I found adibags.

http://www.wowace.com/addons/adibags/
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 08:17 PM   #11
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,530
I, myself, moved from Combuctor to AdiBags.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 09:07 PM   #12
JDoubleU00
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
JDoubleU00's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 340
cargBags Nivaya has worked for me pretty well. Adi looks interesting.
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 11:17 PM   #13
jeruku
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 162
If anyone else is looking for a way to add tokens/currency to Inventorian Phanx put this together.

Lua Code:
  1. local Inventorian = LibStub("AceAddon-3.0"):GetAddon("Inventorian")
  2.  
  3. local function TokenUpdate()
  4.     if GetNumWatchedTokens() > 0 then
  5.         BackpackTokenFrame:SetParent(Inventorian.bag)
  6.         BackpackTokenFrame:ClearAllPoints()
  7.         BackpackTokenFrame:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", Inventorian.bag, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 4)
  8.         BackpackTokenFrame:Show()
  9.     end
  10. end
  11.  
  12. hooksecurefunc(Inventorian, "OnEnable", function(self)
  13.    hooksecurefunc(self.bag, "Show", TokenUpdate)
  14.    hooksecurefunc("ManageBackpackTokenFrame", TokenUpdate)
  15. end)
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison

Last edited by jeruku : 11-13-14 at 09:25 PM. Reason: Bad code is bad code.
  Reply With Quote
11-13-14, 08:38 PM   #14
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Why on earth would you hook CreateFrame for that? >_<

Code:
local Inventorian = LibStub("AceAddon-3.0"):GetAddon("Inventorian")

local function TokenUpdate()
    if GetNumWatchedTokens() > 0 then
        BackpackTokenFrame:SetParent(Inventorian.bag)
        BackpackTokenFrame:ClearAllPoints()
        BackpackTokenFrame:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", Inventorian.bag, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 4)
        BackpackTokenFrame:Show()
    end
end

hooksecurefunc(Inventorian, "OnEnable", function(self)
   hooksecurefunc(self.bag, "Show", TokenUpdate)
   hooksecurefunc("ManageBackpackTokenFrame", TokenUpdate)
end)
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-13-14, 09:22 PM   #15
jeruku
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Why on earth would you hook CreateFrame for that? >_<
I did make mention that I threw it together. I copy/pasted some code I used for Combuctor, found out you could not hook the global frame, took about 10 seconds to read Inventorian's code and whipped it into shape with a bludgeoning tool repeatedly. AND it was 1 in the morning when I wrote it then after waking I did not care to fix it.

I will just mosey on up and edit my code.
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison
  Reply With Quote
11-13-14, 11:37 PM   #16
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 572
Just thought I'd ask. Why would inventorian need to use the ace libraries?
__________________
Tweets Website
  Reply With Quote
11-14-14, 12:26 AM   #17
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by 10leej View Post
Just thought I'd ask. Why would inventorian need to use the ace libraries?
Well, if you're asking that, you might as well ask why any addon uses Ace libraries, or any libraries. After all, libraries don't do anything you can't do yourself, right?

That said, AceConfig, AceConsole and AceGUI are not used at all, and at a total of ~370 KB (over 60% of the addon's total filesize) that's a lot of fat that could be cut. Most likely the author just started with a basic set of libs and forgot to remove the ones he (pretty sure Nev is a dude) didn't actually use.

LibWindow is used to easily manage frame positions independently of screen resolutions, so that's legit.

AceAddon, AceDB, AceEvent, AceHook and AceLocale aren't really doing anything here that couldn't be done just as easily without them, especially since they're all being used at the most basic level (no toggle-able modules, no profiles or DB namespacing, no dynamic hooking and un-hooking, etc.) but none of them are that bloated, so if you're already accustomed to writing addons using Ace3 there's not really any strong argument against using these libraries either... other than AceLocale, which is totally useless.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-14-14, 11:59 AM   #18
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 572
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Well, if you're asking that, you might as well ask why any addon uses Ace libraries, or any libraries. After all, libraries don't do anything you can't do yourself, right?
Wel for an addon like this it's barely really using them. Why not take the diy approach and setup everything it'll probably be easier to maintain like that.
__________________
Tweets Website
  Reply With Quote
11-14-14, 01:27 PM   #19
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
True, and if I'd written it I wouldn't have used any of them (maybe LibWindow) but other than the ones that aren't used at all, there's nothing especially egregious going on here.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Req: one bank addon, fitting the default UI.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off