Quantcast Various issues with Carbonite - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-11-18, 07:16 PM   #1
vbalbert
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Various issues with Carbonite

I'm having several issues with Carbonite and with all these issues I thought I'd put them all in one post.

1) The objective is not listed in the database. This happens in all areas regardless of expansion level. For instance, today I got this questing in The Badlands doing "All's Fair in Love, War, and Archaeology".

2) Incorrect quest destinations. Example: "Into the Dragon's Mouth" sends me to where Rhea used to be in Lethlor Ravine when she is, in fact, in Dragon's Mouth (note that this is an Alliance quest.) The quest itself says that she's no longer in Lethlor Ravine.

3) Incorrect quest destinations two: I find that Carbonite sometimes ponts to quest destinations for Horde rather than Alliance locations. For example, with the quest "The Venerable Doctor Blam" Carbonite wants to send me to New Kargath.

4) I often have to reload the interface in order for the Carbonite quest list to update properly, often when problem 1 occurs, but not always.

My addons are listed below. I'm including version numbers but I use Twitch/Curse to keep my addons up to date and it's saying that all my addons are up to date:

Addon Control Panel 3.4.39
Altoholic 7.3.001
Archy 7.3.2.1
Auctioneer Suite 7.6 Test Release - r5
Bagnon 7.3.2
Bagnon ItemLevel 1.0.15-Release
Carbonite Maps v 7.3.0b-53-g6642311-alpha
Carbonite Notes 7.3
Carbonite Quests 7.3
Deadly Boss Mods 7.3.30 (and all its modules, all up to date)
Fishing Buddy 1.8.4.9
GatherMate2_Data - Carbonite Edition 30.2
GTFO 4.45.3
HandyNotes v1.4.15
HandyNotes - Broken Shore v1.24
HandyNotes - Suramar and Shal'Aran Telemancy v1.16
HandyNotes _Argus 0.26.5
HandyNotes_DungeonLocations 1.30
HandyNotes_LegionRares&Treasures v1.01b
HandyNotes: Legion Treasures v12
LiteMount 7.3.21
Pawn 2.2.18
Skada Damage Meter 1.7.2
VuhDo v3.92 (Disabled via Addon Control Panel)
  Reply With Quote
06-11-18, 07:18 PM   #2
vbalbert
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
One More Problem

Often auto-accept quests do not appear on the Carbonite quest list. I have to go into the quest log and select the quest to appear.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-18, 07:37 AM   #3
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,246
Try shutting off all your other addons and see how it works. You could have a conflict with another addon and that's the only way to tell. No need to uninstall them, just make sure you uncheck them on your character select screen. Another problem could be that you have the wrong version installed. Get the latest version from GitHub. And uninstall the version you have installed before you install the new one. Overwriting COULD cause weird problems of its own.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-18, 01:02 PM   #4
vbalbert
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Before I drive myself crazy with disabling all my addons and then adding them back one by one (especially since a lot of the problems are intermittent), I thought I'd give the GitHub downloads a try. The question comes up with how to install the different downloads. The README.MD file doesn't give any information. Now I know that addons go in the World of Warcraft\Interface\AddOns folder but what folder names should I use? Do I put all the additional stuff in the same folder as Carbonite or do they go in their own separate folders?
  Reply With Quote
06-12-18, 01:04 PM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,493
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/f..._howto_install
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
06-12-18, 02:05 PM   #6
vbalbert
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks for the help. It should be noted that zip files from GitHub create folders that end in -Carbonite. The instructions don't mention this, but the -Carbonite ending needs to be removed for them to work properly, at least that's the experience I had.
  Reply With Quote
06-12-18, 04:48 PM   #7
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,246
Look at the folder structure that's already in your Addons folder. As far as I know (after all, it's been almost 2 year's since I have had a computer) you have to download each individual module from GitHub now, so, do each module individually. Download the module, unzip it, delete the module in the Addons folder, move the new module to take its' place. After you're done, fire up WoW and test. Hopefully, Carbonite works OK.

You don't have to worry about your settings, either, as they're kept in the WTF folder.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.

Last edited by jeffy162 : 06-12-18 at 05:18 PM. Reason: more blah blah blah.
  Reply With Quote
06-13-18, 09:37 AM   #8
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 601
Originally Posted by vbalbert View Post
Before I drive myself crazy with disabling all my addons and then adding them back one by one (especially since a lot of the problems are intermittent), I thought I'd give the GitHub downloads a try. The question comes up with how to install the different downloads. The README.MD file doesn't give any information. Now I know that addons go in the World of Warcraft\Interface\AddOns folder but what folder names should I use? Do I put all the additional stuff in the same folder as Carbonite or do they go in their own separate folders?
Just use Curse/Twitch client and set Carbonite Maps + all modules to alpha version.

Curse/Twitch alpha version = Github version.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-18, 12:20 PM   #9
vbalbert
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
Try shutting off all your other addons and see how it works. You could have a conflict with another addon and that's the only way to tell. No need to uninstall them, just make sure you uncheck them on your character select screen. Another problem could be that you have the wrong version installed. Get the latest version from GitHub. And uninstall the version you have installed before you install the new one. Overwriting COULD cause weird problems of its own.
I've encountered the "The objective is not in the database" error again, but this has a bit of a twist. I disabled all my addons and enabled just Carbonite Maps and Carbonite Quest and it still happens. Specifically the quest is "Plan B" (http://www.wowhead.com/quest=11658/plan-b). There are two parts to the quest, getting 10 Warsong outfits and 1 Warsong banner. If I select the outfits nothing is wrong, but if I select the banner I get the error message.
  Reply With Quote
06-16-18, 12:28 PM   #10
ircdirk
A Molten Giant
 
ircdirk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 601
Originally Posted by vbalbert View Post
I've encountered the "The objective is not in the database" error again, but this has a bit of a twist. I disabled all my addons and enabled just Carbonite Maps and Carbonite Quest and it still happens. Specifically the quest is "Plan B" (http://www.wowhead.com/quest=11658/plan-b). There are two parts to the quest, getting 10 Warsong outfits and 1 Warsong banner. If I select the outfits nothing is wrong, but if I select the banner I get the error message.
You should know why it happens:
1) carbonite quest database is scrapped from wowhead
2) if some quest doesnt exist carbonite quest db it tires to use fallback function that tries to use information from wow api (not all information is available in there)

And now this quest as u can see here http://www.wowhead.com/quest=11658/plan-b has two objectives but only one is showed on map so only this one objective is available.

Always first check wowhead db and look at the map to verify information. If wowhead leaks some information or this info is bad there in carbonite u will see the same.

Last edited by ircdirk : 06-16-18 at 12:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite: Quests Module » Various issues with Carbonite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off