Thread Tools Display Modes
10-03-12, 11:07 PM   #1
Whoboom
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Fixing for MoP

I've been gone for a while. When I come back, MoP is out, and requests pour in for me to fix the add-on I Frankensteined together. It's just a small one that plays "TOASTY!" from Mortal Kombat whenever you get a crit. I've looked at the function pages and whatever I could think of to find out how to fix it for MoP. I need help. I got help from here a while ago when I first put it together, and had to modify it a few times with patches. Now I find I need to fully as the smart ones for guidance, or a slap to the face if that's what's called for.

Please will you help me?
I attached all code files.
Attached Files
File Type: lua TOASTY.lua (1.2 KB, 423 views)
File Type: xml TOASTY.xml (478 Bytes, 889 views)
File Type: txt TOASTY.toc.txt (193 Bytes, 411 views)
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 12:13 AM   #2
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 837
are you getting any error messages?
__________________
"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 01:37 AM   #3
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,877
For API changes try http://www.wowpedia.org/Patch_5.0.1/API_changes
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 02:11 AM   #4
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,360
At first glance I don't see anything that needs fixing.

1. Try your sound files in-game with
Code:
/run PlaySoundFile("Interface\\AddOns\\TOASTY\\CriticalDamage.mp3")
2. Put some debug print("Critical!") after each one to see if the events fire as appropriate.

You could add a channel parameter to you PlaySoundFile calls (usually "Master" so sounds can play with SFX turned off)
PlaySoundFile("Interface\\AddOns\\TOASTY\\CriticalDamage.mp3", "Master")

But overall if it was working like this it should still be working, it doesn't contain any code that became outdated.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 02:12 AM   #5
Whoboom
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Fizzlemizz - I have seen that page, and the part that pertains to me, I don't understand really.

tinyu - It's not even loading in the list of addons when in the interface/addons folder.

Dridzt - ok, so the LUA is still good. why do you think it isn't even loading into the list?
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 02:14 AM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
There's nothing on that list that should affect this addon, and I don't see anything wrong with the code, though I didn't load it in-game to test it.

If it's not showing up in the addons list, then you have the files installed in the wrong place. Post the full, exact path to the TOASTY.toc file on your system.

Edit: On second thought, there is one issue with your code. You're loading your Lua file twice -- once from the TOC, and once from the XML. If you want to use XML to create your frame, then I'd suggest loading the Lua from the XML, and getting rid of the Lua file reference in the TOC. This should not prevent the addon from appearing in the in-game addons list, though.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.

Last edited by Phanx : 10-04-12 at 02:17 AM.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 02:20 AM   #7
Whoboom
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
NOW I have it as
C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\interface\addons\TOASTY

for some reason there was an extra folder...it was
C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\interface\addons\TOASTY\TOASTY

Phanx you solved it for me lol. Thank you so much for all the help. It is working perfectly again.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 02:21 AM   #8
Whoboom
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
If I just drop the load from XML, it should still work without any other modifications?
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 03:12 AM   #9
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
If you choose to load the Lua from the TOC instead of the XML, you need to switch the order in the TOC so that the Lua file is loaded before the XML file. Otherwise, no modifications are needed; just remove the Lua reference in either the XML or TOC file.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 07:46 AM   #10
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,240
Semi-related question

Sorry for hijacking, but the thread makes me ask. Didn't WoW do away with mp3s and switch to ogg files? It's great that Toasty works regardless; I am just curious.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 08:10 AM   #11
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 837
i think they use .ogg files for their own sounds but .mp3 files still work as does .wav (i think)
__________________
"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 11:13 AM   #12
Ketho
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,026
I was thinking .wav doesn't work anymore since cata

Last edited by Ketho : 10-04-12 at 01:32 PM. Reason: wotlk->cata
  Reply With Quote
10-04-12, 05:29 PM   #13
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Support for WAV sounds was removed in Cataclysm. MP3 and Ogg Vorbis (*.ogg) both work, as far as I know, but Blizzard uses the Vorbis format for all of the client's built-in sound files now.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
10-14-12, 06:44 AM   #14
Choonstertwo
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Choonstertwo's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 194
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Support for WAV sounds was removed in Cataclysm. MP3 and Ogg Vorbis (*.ogg) both work, as far as I know, but Blizzard uses the Vorbis format for all of the client's built-in sound files now.
Blizzard's sound effects and voice files use Ogg Vorbis, but all the music is still in MP3.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Fixing for MoP


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off