Quantcast I have no clue how to write an addon - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-13-16, 01:15 PM   #1
upirlikhyi
A Defias Bandit
 
upirlikhyi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
I have no clue how to write an addon

Or if my idea is even possible or i may have even missed it.

I play a arcane mage and we have the summonable familer but it goes away as we zone is it possible for an add-on to remind us to resummon this be made?

thanks
  Reply With Quote
10-13-16, 02:10 PM   #2
pas06
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 54
something like this:
Code:
local f=CreateFrame("Frame")
local color = {r = 1, g = 1, b = 1} --white
local text = GetSpellInfo(205022)
f:RegisterEvent("ZONE_CHANGED_NEW_AREA")
f:SetScript("OnEvent",function(self,event)
	RaidNotice_AddMessage(RaidWarningFrame, text, color)
	PlaySound("RaidWarning")
end)
it plays a sound and writes the name of the spell in the raidwarning frame
  Reply With Quote
10-13-16, 02:28 PM   #3
tonyis3l33t
A Cyclonian
 
tonyis3l33t's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
You can probably make a weakauras string for this and avoid writing an addon.
  Reply With Quote
10-13-16, 02:36 PM   #4
upirlikhyi
A Defias Bandit
 
upirlikhyi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by pas06 View Post
something like this:
Code:
local f=CreateFrame("Frame")
local color = {r = 1, g = 1, b = 1} --white
local text = GetSpellInfo(205022)
f:RegisterEvent("ZONE_CHANGED_NEW_AREA")
f:SetScript("OnEvent",function(self,event)
	RaidNotice_AddMessage(RaidWarningFrame, text, color)
	PlaySound("RaidWarning")
end)
it plays a sound and writes the name of the spell in the raidwarning frame
K thank you very much
  Reply With Quote
10-13-16, 02:38 PM   #5
upirlikhyi
A Defias Bandit
 
upirlikhyi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by tonyis3l33t View Post
You can probably make a weakauras string for this and avoid writing an addon.
I know I am going to sound dumb here but weakauras the add-on? I have never done anything like this I just grab addons and go....

Sorry for being not up to speed on all of this
  Reply With Quote
10-13-16, 05:53 PM   #6
tonyis3l33t
A Cyclonian
 
tonyis3l33t's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Originally Posted by upirlikhyi View Post
I know I am going to sound dumb here but weakauras the add-on? I have never done anything like this I just grab addons and go....

Sorry for being not up to speed on all of this
yea weak auras 2 the addon its often used to notify you of specific conditions like this
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » I have no clue how to write an addon

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off