Thread Tools Display Modes
01-17-13, 09:53 AM   #21
Rusken
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Originally Posted by nin View Post
its hard to say what values you need i usually just adjust till i find the one that fits.

It looks like the backdrop is bigger than the border..

So try adjust the inset so the backdrop gets smaller... so adjusting both values might work for you.

In my custom wigs i set the height of the frames to 20, and scale 1... thats probably why my settings will not look the same for you.
Tryed just about everything now, is there any way to remove the backdrop?
Damn the BW creator that just didn't add a border option to the addon, this is truly driving me mad
  Reply With Quote
01-17-13, 10:24 AM   #22
nin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
What resolution are you playing at?

and are you using any scaling?

I can try replicate it and send you my version and see if that helps.
  Reply With Quote
01-17-13, 10:47 AM   #23
Rusken
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Originally Posted by nin View Post
What resolution are you playing at?

and are you using any scaling?

I can try replicate it and send you my version and see if that helps.
That would be awesome, i play with 1920x1080 and i use the lowest UI scale in the options.
  Reply With Quote
01-17-13, 10:24 PM   #24
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Rusken, you really don't need to quote the post you're replying to when it's the last one in the thread, and even if you're replying to an older post, you don't need to quote all 50+ lines of it. Just quote the sentence that's most relevant.

Anyway, most border textures need an inset greater than 0, because the visible part of the texture is not right up against the "physical" edge of the texture. For example, the GameTooltip's default border is 16 pixels wide, and needs an inset of 4 pixels so that the edge of the backdrop matches up to the visible part of the border texture.

Also, I've never seen anyone write -0 instead of 0... weird.

Try increasing the insets. For example:
Code:
local backdrop = CreateFrame("Frame", nil, bg)  
backdrop:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", bg, -4, 4)
backdrop:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", bg, 4, -4)
backdrop:SetFrameStrata("BACKGROUND")
backdrop:SetBackdrop({
	bgFile = Media.bgFile,
	edgeFile = Media.edgeFile,
	edgeSize = 6,
	insets = {
		left = 2,
		right = 2,
		top = 2,
		bottom = 2,
	}
})
The offsets in SetPoint will make the "backdrop" frame stick out 4 pixels around its parent. The insets will make the background texture stop 2 pixels from the edge of the frame, and the edgeSize will make the border texture 6 pixels wide, so 2 pixels of it are visible outside the "backdrop" background and 4 pixels of it are visible outside the parent frame.

||||||FRAME

2px edgeFile 2 px edgeFile + bgFile parent + edgeFile + bgFile parent + bgFile
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 01:19 PM   #25
Rusken
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Bringing this old thread back to life with another question, is there anyway to change the spacing of the bars in BW and the "Y" position of the font inside of the bars?
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 02:42 PM   #26
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Both of those things are handled by the LibCandyBar-3.0 library. Install a standalone version of the lib, change the minor version to 9999999999 or some other arbitrarily huge number so it will always override all the copies embedded in addons, and make your changes to that copy.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 04:37 PM   #27
Rusken
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Both of those things are handled by the LibCandyBar-3.0 library. Install a standalone version of the lib, change the minor version to 9999999999 or some other arbitrarily huge number so it will always override all the copies embedded in addons, and make your changes to that copy.
Thanks, but would you mind giving me a walkthrough on how to do this?<3
For example, how do i install a standalone version of the lib?
Im a noob when it comes to these things
  Reply With Quote
05-27-13, 05:46 PM   #28
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Libraries are just addons, with special features built in to let them be embedded inside other addons. To install a standalone copy of a library, just install it like you would any other addon:

1. Find the addon's download page.
2. Download it.
3. Put it in your AddOns folder.

Changing the minor version is also easy:

1. Open the file in Notepad.
2. Find the line near the top that starts with "local minor =".
3. Change everything after the equals sign to 999999999.

Now your copy will supersede all embedded versions in addons. Normally, when each copy loads, if its minor version is less than or equal to the highest minor version already loaded, it's ignored. By setting the minor version of your modified copy to some huge number that will never be reached by normal versions of the library, you ensure that your version is always the one that ends up loaded.

Now you can make any other changes you want. Spacing and text placement would both be controlled by SetPoint calls. Look around in the file and try stuff. If it doesn't work, undo and try again.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-13, 02:15 AM   #29
Rusken
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 61
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Libraries are just addons, with special features built in to let them be embedded inside other addons. To install a standalone copy of a library, just install it like you would any other addon:

1. Find the addon's download page.
2. Download it.
3. Put it in your AddOns folder.

Changing the minor version is also easy:

1. Open the file in Notepad.
2. Find the line near the top that starts with "local minor =".
3. Change everything after the equals sign to 999999999.

Now your copy will supersede all embedded versions in addons. Normally, when each copy loads, if its minor version is less than or equal to the highest minor version already loaded, it's ignored. By setting the minor version of your modified copy to some huge number that will never be reached by normal versions of the library, you ensure that your version is always the one that ends up loaded.

Now you can make any other changes you want. Spacing and text placement would both be controlled by SetPoint calls. Look around in the file and try stuff. If it doesn't work, undo and try again.
Thanks Phanx<3
I managed to get the font up but i can't find anything about spacing.
Btw, you wouldn't happen to know if this is doable with skada aswell? Moving the font up that is.

Edit, found a way to change the barspacing in QuesebossStyles

Last edited by Rusken : 05-28-13 at 06:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Adding a borders to BW, is there anything else like QuesebossStyles out there?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off