07-21-13, 09:33 PM   #1
Niketa
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Checking if raid group is in combat with a specific boss...

Hi. I'm new to LUA and AddOn development, so this might be a pretty simple question but I'm having problems finding an efficient way to check if a raid group is in combat with a boss.

I currently have it so that when it registers that I enter combat it checks each group member's target (cycles through based on "raid1" "raid2" etc.) and gets its NPC ID then compares that to values in a table.

This sometimes work but it's very inefficient and unreliable for several reasons, but mainly being that if people don't have the boss targeted right away when their turn comes it won't register it and thus if no one does it may miss a correct ID.

I tried looking over DBM's codes but since I've only started learning this this past week, it's way too advanced for me to get an idea of what they did.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
07-22-13, 12:11 AM   #2
semlar
A Pyroguard Emberseer

This is not a simple question, and the answer depends on what bosses you're trying to track.

Typically, a fight against a raid boss from newer expansions (I think starting with wrath?) create a unit frame for the boss, and therefor have corresponding events which make it relatively easy to detect when you're in combat with them.

If the boss in question does not spawn a unit frame when engaged it becomes more complicated, as some fights don't even involve any sort of combat between you and the boss itself.

DBM and BigWigs treat each boss independently and have modules that describe how each fight is detected.

Most bosses (or other mobs) can be detected through general combat log events though, so unless the fight you're trying to track is really unusual like Valithria in Icecrown where the objective is to actually heal the boss then it probably won't be too hard to figure out.