Quantcast New to nUI...help with minimap please? - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-02-09, 07:07 PM   #1
Mullmaster
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
New to nUI...help with minimap please?

Hello,

I just recently discovered nUI, and I think it's fantastic. I've almost got everything set up just the way I like it.

I did notice though that the minimap seems like it doesn't fill the space between the player unit frame and the target unit frame. The minimap is kinda small too, so I was wondering if there is a way to expand the minimap even just that little bit to fill the space available.

I'm still working with an old 17" monitor, so with the minimap the size it is, it is really difficult to see. Maybe I'm just getting old.

Anyway, I would appreciate any tips on this if they exist. Like I said, this really is the most fantastic UI mod I've come across in 4 years. Great work.

Thanks.
 
08-02-09, 07:33 PM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,074
You're not imagining it. The minimap has a gap on the smaller party setups because when you hit the 25 man and up raids they take up that extra bit of room that is left on either side of the map.
__________________
 
08-02-09, 11:18 PM   #3
Mullmaster
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
That is perfectly understandable. Is that something that is changeable? Maybe I could make it bigger while only running 5 mans and then set it back when in a raid? I don't raid often, so it wouldn't be too much of a bother for me. I'd just need someone to spell out how to do it for me. I follow directions really well.
 
08-02-09, 11:38 PM   #4
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
unfortunately no, its been asked before but i cant remember the exact reason that scott gave
__________________

 
08-03-09, 04:42 AM   #5
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
You can use the command '/nui minimap' to turn nUI's management of the minimap off entirely... which will move it back to the upper right corner. You can also grab the nUI Minimap plugin from the "Info Panel Plugins" section at http://files.nUIaddon.com which will give you a nice large minimap in the info panel instead of the center of the dashboard.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-03-09, 04:33 PM   #6
Mullmaster
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Thank you very much for the help. I downloaded the plugin and it works great. I will probably use the blizz default when I raid just so I can run omen at the same time. But these solutions are perfect.

Thanks again.
 
08-28-09, 07:49 AM   #7
dawnbird
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Talking

Yay thank you!! I was having this problem as well, where everything seemed absolutely perfect... except that I was missing mining nodes because I couldn't see them on the tiny minimap. =(

Then again, I first experimented with this addon on a 13" macbook, so now that I have a 19" screen I'm going to give it another shot. =D
 
08-28-09, 08:55 AM   #8
justylln
A Murloc Raider
 
justylln's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
replacing the mini

I was wondering after reading this section, if it was possible to remove the mini map entirely, and replacing it with carbonite in the center dashboard? Considering that carbonite has integrated all the nodes for mining and herb tracking as well as others. I have Omen and Recount in my info panel, so placing carbonite in the center would benefit me in the long run.
 
08-28-09, 09:09 AM   #9
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
That space is also used for the focus frame... so if you disable nUI's minimap and then place another minimap mod in that space, you won't be able to see your focus when you have one.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
08-28-09, 07:29 PM   #10
cokedrivers
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
cokedrivers's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 271
I to was looking for something to make the minimap bigger, but as stated before when in a Raid the frames move closer to where the map is.

So i went minimap addon hunting and came across a addon called BasicMinimap, this addon works great, it does 2 thing here:

A) Makes the map large nough when farming either Herbs or Ore you can see the yellow dot on the map.

B) is a background minimap so the focus frame and the raid frames all go over the map so you dont miss out on anything. Which as everyone know in a raid your not staring at your minimap :P.

I attached a screen shot of the map on my nUI, I alos had the focus frame up so you can see how the map is in the background.


Coke
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	minimap.jpg
Views:	720
Size:	312.0 KB
ID:	3262  
 
08-30-09, 12:46 AM   #11
neuralassassin
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
neuralassassin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 423
thats not the focus frame in your screenshot, it's the mouseover unit frame. The focus takes up the whole window not sure if the map would overlay it though unless you could pick the maps strata level?
__________________

 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » New to nUI...help with minimap please?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off