Quantcast Attempts to update addons to older versions - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
03-19-15, 05:22 AM   #1
rockforce
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Attempts to update addons to older versions

The Minion client will scan and ask to update addons to versions that are older than the currently installed. For example my Archy addon is at version 6.1.0.11, the client attempts to "update" to 6.1.0.10.

The likely cause is that for some reason WoWInterface is not furnished with the latest versions of certain addons for some reason.

The previous is the case for 7 of my Addons. It's not an issue that renders the client unusable, it just reduces the usefulness greatly.
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 07:42 AM   #2
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
This is the case for 20 of my AddOns and the reason why I can't use Minion for WoW
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 08:50 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,396
If you have addons that are more regularly updated on Curse than here, then you can always right-click the addon and tell Minion to ignore it.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 08:44 AM   #4
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
How about letting Minion check the date/time when the files were changed instead of the version numbers?

And if it checks for Version numbers then it shoud prefere the ## X-Curse-Packaged-Version: .
E.g. BigWigs has Curse-Packaged-Version r12986-release on the addon pages but the its version number is 4.822.
Also there is no refresh button so when I updated some addons with curse already Minion dosen't see it and trys to update BigWigs from 4.818 to r12986.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 09:34 AM   #5
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 660
Software versions are not computer readable. They dont follow rules.
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 10:06 AM   #6
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Originally Posted by Rilgamon View Post
Software versions are not computer readable. They dont follow rules.
What Software versions are you talking about? The ## X-Curse-Packaged-Version is a added to the toc file only for the Curse client.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 10:54 AM   #7
rockforce
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
I understand that completely Seerah and that is what I did. My posting this was so that maybe a solution or change could be made that prevents it from happening.

Since the version number of most addons stay in the same format every time, if the number is higher perhaps it could ignore the downgrade. 3.1.3>3.1.2 so it doesn't ask to update. Granted, some addon developers change the version structure from time to time, such as 1.0 becoming v1.0 or r1.0, and in that case it would cause issue. However I feel the frequency of false flags would drop when not attempting to update a version that is > the one on the site.
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 11:59 AM   #8
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 660
Originally Posted by Tonyleila View Post
What Software versions are you talking about? The ## X-Curse-Packaged-Version is a added to the toc file only for the Curse client.
No matter what version we talk about. Versioning is done by hand and has no rules to follow.

6.1,6.2 ... 6.9,6.10,6.11 ... Math would say 6.2 is higher than 6.11 ... Versioning does not need to follow math or logic. A version can even decrease when a developer decides his changes are not working and he reverts back. It's a string that is formed after a logic decided by every dev on his own. And every rule you write for Minion to detect a certain pattern of versioning will fail on most version numbers. So in the end you have hundreds of rules you have to weight and it will still be a guess that might fail.
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 05:29 PM   #9
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Originally Posted by Rilgamon View Post
No matter what version we talk about. Versioning is done by hand and has no rules to follow.
6.1,6.2 ... 6.9,6.10,6.11 ... Math would say 6.2 is higher than 6.11 ... Versioning does not need to follow math or logic. A version can even decrease when a developer decides his changes are not working and he reverts back. It's a string that is formed after a logic decided by every dev on his own. And every rule you write for Minion to detect a certain pattern of versioning will fail on most version numbers. So in the end you have hundreds of rules you have to weight and it will still be a guess that might fail.
Version numbers are only for the users... However the Curse Client is checking for your version its doing it right because I have never had a downgrade there even if I had a newer version from wowinterface.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-20-15, 10:55 PM   #10
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 660
Right. Because curse client already has hundreds of rules and exceptions. And it was a long and hard way.
Minion is at the beginning of this way with more tasks open than closed. So on the road we as a user need to understand that we have to check the version numbers because the program can not do this yet.
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
03-21-15, 05:05 AM   #11
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Originally Posted by Rilgamon View Post
Right. Because curse client already has hundreds of rules and exceptions. And it was a long and hard way.
Minion is at the beginning of this way with more tasks open than closed. So on the road we as a user need to understand that we have to check the version numbers because the program can not do this yet.
You say curse client is checking for the version numbers - I don't think so because when I edit ANY file in the addon folder while the curse client is closed and then open the client it directly detects that I have modified this addon. My guess its comparing the code of the file.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________

Last edited by Tonyleila : 03-21-15 at 05:07 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03-21-15, 05:18 AM   #12
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 660
I'm not that deep into what the curse client can do and what not. IIRC this is part of the functionallity that prevents the client to mess with developers working copies. Like a .svn/.git-directory will exclude the addon from updating.
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Attempts to update addons to older versions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off