10-25-12, 01:38 PM   #1
indoviet
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Event question: SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS

Hi I'm a newbie addon developer and I'm running into some trouble understanding the SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS event. I wrote a short block of code that is supposed to detect when a specific spell is casted and then trigger a cooldown frame I set up. However, the event only triggers when the spell casted is an instant cast spell such as Corruption or Drain Soul. When I successfully cast a casted spell like Haunt or Shadow Bolt, the event doesn't trigger.

Can someone help me understand why SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS doesn't work for casted spells and what event I should be using instead?

Here is my code for reference:
Code:
function DispelBar_OnEvent(event,...)	
	local timeStamp, event, hideCaster, sourceGUID, sourceName, sourceFlags, sourceRaidFlags, destGUID, destName, destFlags, destRaidFlags = select(1,...)

if(event=="SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS") then
		local spellName = select(13,...)
		print("SPELL_CAST_SUCCESS"..": "..spellName)
		if(spellName == "Haunt") then
			CooldownFrame:SetCooldown(GetTime(), 10)
		end
	end
end
In this example if I changed
Code:
if(spellName == "Haunt")
to an instant cast spell like
Code:
if(spellName == "Corruption")
then it works.

Thanks for all help in advance and let me know if I need to clarify anything.
10-25-12, 02:27 PM   #2
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer

I ran into something like this before and I forgot how I handled it. I'll have to take a look at combat log events again and see what comes up. You should be able to run the /etrace command and it'll show you a log of every event firing when they happen.

Last edited by SDPhantom : 10-25-12 at 02:29 PM.
10-25-12, 02:36 PM   #3
indoviet
A Murloc Raider
Thanks a lot for the etrace command I didn't know it existed. Very useful! With it I found that UNIT_SPELLCAST_SUCCEEDED can be used instead.

Thanks again