Thread Tools Display Modes
12-01-10, 01:43 PM   #1
DSTring
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Rogue Sub Macro

#showtooltip
/cast [nostealth] Shadowstep
/castsequence reset=20 Premeditation, Shadowstep, Ambush

hi all - sometimes it refuses to cast ambush ( no idea why), any ideas how optimize this
  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 04:15 PM   #2
thebigmunch
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 15
First to answer your question, your castsequence will run through the sequence of spells and will reset 20 seconds after the last time you use the macro. Therefore, it's impossible for you to use this as a mashable ambush key.

The easiest way to do this would be this macro here:

Code:
/cast Premeditation
/cast Shadowstep
/cast Ambush
However, you will have to press it twice when premed and shadowstep are up to ambush as well. I personally just have a Premed macro'd to ambush and use shadowstep separately.
  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 04:33 PM   #3
Jigain
A Molten Giant
 
Jigain's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 732
Code:
#showtooltip Ambush
/console SET Sound_SFXVolume 0 
/cast Premeditation
/cast Shadowstep
/cast Ambush
/console SET Sound_SFXVolume 1
/run UIErrorsFrame:Clear()
Removes "That ability is not ready yet" speeches, clears any "Ability not ready yet" error messages, and (assuming both Premeditation and Shadowstep are off the global cooldown) always casts Ambush and whenever available, Premeditation and Shadowstep.
__________________


  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 04:37 PM   #4
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Shadowstep is definitely on the global cooldown .. I tried a simple Shadowstep + Ambush macro and it wouldn't work due to the cooldown being in place stopping ambush from happening.

Premeditation however looks to be okay in a macro with another ability, although I haven't tried other macros yet but I would probably use that with Shadowstep.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 04:51 PM   #5
DSTring
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Completely forgot that I can combine

/cast Premeditation
/cast Shadowstep

In 1 click

Thx a lot - this simple solution is just what I've needed!
  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 06:27 PM   #6
thebigmunch
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Shadowstep is definitely on the global cooldown .. I tried a simple Shadowstep + Ambush macro and it wouldn't work due to the cooldown being in place stopping ambush from happening.

Premeditation however looks to be okay in a macro with another ability, although I haven't tried other macros yet but I would probably use that with Shadowstep.
ShS is NOT on the GCD. The reason it doesn't work is that when it tries to ambush, the game hasn't registered you as being in range of the target yet since at key press you haven't actually stepped yet. It's easy to check in-game. Use ShS and check for the cooldown spirals on your abilities. No spiral, no GCD.

Last edited by thebigmunch : 12-01-10 at 06:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
12-01-10, 07:51 PM   #7
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,892
Hmm, Im sure I saw the spiral, but I apologise if I was mistaken. My roguish knowledge is very limited.

Edit:
*Bows down to better knowledge* .. Just checked again and can confirm no cooldown spiral so it is as thebigmunch said

So, although not on the global cooldown where you aren't necessarily in range for a melee hit it may not work every time Did I understand it better that time ?
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 12-01-10 at 07:55 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Macro Help » Rogue Sub Macro

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off