Thread Tools Display Modes
07-06-10, 01:11 AM   #1
Rogumino
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
nUI keybinds + my mcaro conditions = a mess

just a quick little thing i'd like to say has happened to me since 3.3.5(alone from the chatbox not going in the corresponding place)is the problem i get when trying to cast a spell from a macro that contains a modifier using a bound key. So basically i have a macro
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [nocombat, nomod] Charge;[combat, nomod] Heroic Strike;[combat, mod:shift] Rend
/startattack
on my nui main page button 1. |<<I walk up to a mob>>| i press 1 |<< i charge >>| i press 1 again |<< i Strike him in a heroic fashion >>| i hold down shift and press 1 |<< nothing happens>>|
plz tell me if it's my macro, a setting in the addon or if i'm just SOL and i'll need to chop my macro =$
edit:i got the latest newsletter and i'm gonna dwonload the latest version i'll see if helps and i'll keep you posted
edit2:nope still doesn't work =( respond as soon as you can

Last edited by Rogumino : 07-06-10 at 01:39 AM. Reason: just checked my email, Downloaded the new version
 
07-06-10, 04:00 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I know there were some changes in how macros work in an attempt to reduce the "no thinking" style of macros. (which is not to say this is what your macro is) -- it's possible that this is collateral damage. I'm not sure.

I can't recall the details, but something along the lines that previously if a spell couldn't be cast, it was skipped and the next spell would cast. So you could stack spells such as you're doing and have the spell on cooldown get skipped and the next spell executed. However, I believe that with the change when the macro hits a spell that's on cooldown, it eats the keypress.

I would think the 'nomod' would cause that not to happen, but I dunno. I can tell you that nUI does not tinker with macros, key mods, etc., so it should be a non-issue. Certainly nothing has changed in the action bars in a very long time now, so it's more likely a change in 3.3.5 is the root cause than a change in nUI.

What happens if you use the macro without nUI?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
07-06-10, 04:56 AM   #3
Kodewulf
Premium Member
 
Kodewulf's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 114
Originally Posted by Rogumino View Post
just a quick little thing i'd like to say has happened to me since 3.3.5(alone from the chatbox not going in the corresponding place)is the problem i get when trying to cast a spell from a macro that contains a modifier using a bound key. So basically i have a macro
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [nocombat, nomod] Charge;[combat, nomod] Heroic Strike;[combat, mod:shift] Rend
/startattack
on my nui main page button 1. |<<I walk up to a mob>>| i press 1 |<< i charge >>| i press 1 again |<< i Strike him in a heroic fashion >>| i hold down shift and press 1 |<< nothing happens>>|
plz tell me if it's my macro, a setting in the addon or if i'm just SOL and i'll need to chop my macro =$
edit:i got the latest newsletter and i'm gonna dwonload the latest version i'll see if helps and i'll keep you posted
edit2:nope still doesn't work =( respond as soon as you can
You can also try this:
Code:
#showtooltip
/castsequence reset=target [nocombat] Charge;[combat] Heroic Strike,Rend
/startattack
I didn't test this, but it should:

Button 1 => Charge
Button 1 => Heroic Strike
Button 1 => Rend

This will do it in sequence.

If you want to alternate between Heroic Strike and Rend the following should do it:


Code:
#showtooltip
/castsequence reset=target [nocombat] Charge;[combat] Heroic Strike;[combat,mod:shift] Rend
/startattack
Hope this helps.

-- Kodewulf
__________________
I will never forget. I will never regret. I will live my life.
 
07-06-10, 01:20 PM   #4
Rogumino
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
@spiel2001 I'll try out the macro with the standard Blizzard User Interface -as soon as the realms are back up-. 'Til then I'll keep you posted once again thanks for the help
 
07-06-10, 04:59 PM   #5
Rogumino
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
yep it still doesn' work in the standard blizz UI
 
07-06-10, 05:06 PM   #6
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,929
Try the castsequence suggestion offered. To use the same button repeatedly like that you need to use castsequence.

Code:
/castsequence reset=combat/24 Shadow Word: Pain, Devouring Plague, Vampiric Touch, Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Shadow Word: Pain, Mind Flay, Mind Blast, Mind Flay, Vampiric Touch, Mind Blast
This for example is one of my shadow priests old rotation macros. Each press of the button will execute the next spell in the list and will reset the list when combat ends or 24 seconds has passed. Whether you can use modifiers in a sequence I don't know as I don't use them.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » nUI keybinds + my mcaro conditions = a mess


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off