Quantcast target frame name length - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
09-07-18, 11:54 AM   #1
joeyo
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
target frame name length

hello everyone i was wondering if there is a line i can add into one of my current addons to make the targets name extend the amount of characters it shows.for example when i target something the name will go up to 10 characters and then show a "..." for the rest of it. was curious if there is a way to extend it past 10 characters to not show the "..." and instead show the full name without lowering the font?
  Reply With Quote
09-07-18, 05:40 PM   #2
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,276
That depends on whether you use a unit frame addon, or the default unit frames. And, no, I can't answer your question, but, this is something that has to be known for an answer to be given.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote
09-07-18, 11:33 PM   #3
joeyo
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by jeffy162 View Post
That depends on whether you use a unit frame addon, or the default unit frames. And, no, I can't answer your question, but, this is something that has to be known for an answer to be given.
ok im using an addon called easy frames for my player and target frame and i checked the addon and it doesnt seem to have an option for it
  Reply With Quote
09-08-18, 05:25 AM   #4
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,276
In that case, all I can suggest is that, perhaps, you should try another unit frame addon or go back to the default unit frames. Or you can find the piece of code that controls what you want and change it. The only problem with doing that, is that you'll have to change that piece of code every time the addon is updated - unless the update happens to fix it.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.

Last edited by jeffy162 : 09-08-18 at 09:26 AM. Reason: more blah blah blah.
  Reply With Quote
09-08-18, 10:53 PM   #5
joeyo
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 25
well i was curious to see if there was a script to modify the default frames sort of like how you can change the font and everything else.
  Reply With Quote
09-09-18, 05:34 AM   #6
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,276
There probably is, but, I don't know it unfortunately.
__________________
Ahhhh, the vagueries of the aging mind. Wait.... What was I saying?


Carbonite <----- GitHub main module (Maps ONLY) download link. The other modules are also available on GitHub.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » target frame name length

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off