03-28-18, 09:14 PM   #1
GreyFox777
A Cliff Giant
Beginner

Hello community!

Im new to Ouf and i want to start learning and write my own unit frames. Can you help me to get started?

I need some examples of Addon structure (toc/lua files),

and if possible the code to create player frame and clickable overlay over the player frame,with their own width and height.
03-29-18, 04:38 AM   #2
runamonk
A Theradrim Guardian

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
I would check out some existing ones.

oUF P3lim / oUF Simple are good ones to help you start.

Look here at all the layouts.
03-29-18, 10:08 AM   #3
GreyFox777
A Cliff Giant
well... i did that 10 times... i just cannot understand what there is.
03-29-18, 10:22 AM   #4
Rainrider
A Firelord
I would highly recommend oUF_p3lim or oUF_Phanx over oUF_Simple.

If you are up to it, you could also try oUF_Layout, which is a layout planned for learning purposes. However it is still work in progress and it lacks review, but most of the planned stuff is already in there. I'm planning a small code guide but am not sure when I'll have the time to finish it. Maybe parts of the code will change and some could get rebased to get a smoother learning curve based on feedback.

You could just follow the commits to see how the layout evolved. The prerequisites are that you know the Lua basics and get along with Github. Just ask here if you have trouble understanding something.
03-29-18, 11:30 AM   #5
GreyFox777
A Cliff Giant
Seems interesting. So i have to work only in settings.lua? How do i change the color of a bar? The bar are black, and i want to get then from green 100% of HP to red 0% of hp.

I just do not understand how the framework makes everything easier for me?
03-29-18, 01:35 PM   #6
Rainrider
A Firelord
The idea is to follow the commit order and recreate the changes locally for yourself.