Thread Tools Display Modes
04-14-10, 05:47 PM   #1
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Any Torque 3D guru's here?

Is there anyone here who's experienced with Torque 3D?

I'm having an issue that's giving me a headache and I'm not familiar with it enough to know what the cause me be and, frankly, their documentation is pathetic.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
  Reply With Quote
04-14-10, 06:02 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Actually, I think I figured out what the issue is...

Either I have a bad build of the binary or I'm misusing the AIWheeledVehicle object.

Does anyone happen to have a Torque 3D binary with a known "good" implementation of the AIWheeledVehicle class?

(I don't have a source license, but Torque told me I could get the binaries anyone who does)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
  Reply With Quote
04-14-10, 06:10 PM   #3
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Just to follow up on my conversation with myself... here's what's going on...

Code:
function AIPlayer::spawn(%name,%spawnPoint, %type)
{
   // Create the demo player object
   if( %type $= "player") {
       %useThisDatablock = DemoPlayer;
   }else if( %type $= "enemy1") {
       %useThisDatablock = DemoPlayer2;
    }else if( %type $= "strykerGun") {
        %useThisDatablock = DefaultPlayerData;
    }else if( %type $= "tankGun") {
        %useThisDatablock = TankTurret;
    }else if( %type $= "box") {
        %useThisDatablock = testBox;
   }
   %player = new AiPlayer() {
      dataBlock = %useThisDatablock;
      path = "";
   };
   MissionCleanup.add(%player);
   %player.setShapeName(%name);
   %player.setTransform(%spawnPoint); // this line works without error
   return %player;
}

function AIWheeledVehicle::spawn( %name, %spawnPoint, %type )
{
   %player = new AIWheeledVehicle() {
      dataBlock = DefaultCar;
      path = "";
   };

   MissionCleanup.add(%player);
   %player.setShapeName(%name);
   %player.setTransform(%spawnPoint); // this line causes the game to sigseg
   
   return %player;
}
In the above two methods... one to spawn an AI player, the other to spawn an AIWheeledVehicle, if I pass in a %spawnPoint to the AIPlayer::spawn() it will work. Pass the same %spawnPoint in to the AIWheeledVehicle::spawn() method and the app will abort immediately on the function call.

I'm all ears for what the problem might be.

(PS: The above it not my code... it's legacy stuff I'm trying to wrap my head around)
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » General » nUI: Community Chat » Any Torque 3D guru's here?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off