Thread Tools Display Modes
02-16-07, 09:33 PM   #1
Poee
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Unhappy Coords (X,Y)

I've searched and searched for simple coord mods, and nothing is right for me. I just want one that adds the pointer coords, and player coords at the bottom bar of the world map (similar to Titan). I don't want to go back to Titan since I migrated from Titan -> FuBar. I do not like NavigatorFU for the coords. I was just wondering how would you code up a nice one that just adds pointer and player coords on the bottom bar in the world map? I'm very new to coding and reading up on alot of guides and I cannot come across a Coord mod guide. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
02-16-07, 09:44 PM   #2
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
There is this . It adds what you want to the main map but also adds to the minimap as well.

Last edited by Sepioth : 02-16-07 at 09:56 PM.
  Reply With Quote
02-16-07, 09:48 PM   #3
Poee
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
I like, I like. Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
02-16-07, 09:56 PM   #4
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
Your welcome


You said you only want the coords on the Minimap. This can be done with this mod with a little edit.

Open up the file diMapCoords.lua in Notepad (or other text editor)

Search for this text (without quotes) " function diMapCoordsUpdateMiniMap() "
You will need to comment out this function. To do this add this (again minus quotes) " -- " (two dashes) to the line you just found and the next 3 lines.

Should look like this now :
--function diMapCoordsUpdateMiniMap()
--x,y=GetPlayerMapPosition("player")
--diMiniMapFrame.loc:SetText(string.format("%s,%s", floor(x*100) or "", floor(y*100) or ""))
--end


This will remove the coords from the minimap and keep them on the main map only.

If there is a problem with me saying how to do this either by the author or any mod here please either delete it or ask me to and it will be removed. I don't want to step on any toes... just trying to help out a fellow gamer.
  Reply With Quote
02-16-07, 10:00 PM   #5
Poee
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks! It worked. I didn't like the coords displaying in minimap as you guessed!
  Reply With Quote
02-16-07, 10:58 PM   #6
Riraito
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Riraito's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
this is a little off topic srry, but im just wondering, what the units are for the coordinates, is it feet? meters? something else? or just some arbitrary number?
  Reply With Quote
02-17-07, 12:41 AM   #7
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
Actually thats a good question. I use cartographer and it has it set to yards. Don't know if there is actually a "measurement" used for it. I believe it's can be whatever you want to call it .. can call it smooges if ya wanted

Good thing is is every mod that uses coords are pretty much the same. Always the same coords. I believe it's using the built in loc of WoW. It just displays it for you as it changes.

Good for when people give you coords and places like www.thottbot.com where coords are always used. Easy way to locate and find stuff
  Reply With Quote
02-17-07, 04:37 AM   #8
Wobin
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Wobin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 35
The coordinates are relative to the current map from 0,0 to 100,100

The units of distance are arbitary.
__________________
Wob's Portal
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Coords (X,Y)


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off