Thread Tools Display Modes
08-24-11, 01:26 PM   #1
seanj0
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
hi, need some macro help.

I need a one button macro that does the following:

Cast Hibernate on target (no mod).
Cast Hibernate on focus (mod:shift)
Cast Hibernate on arena target 1 (mod:Alt)
Cast Hibernate on arena target 2 (mod:Alt, Ctrl)
Cast Hibernate on arena target 3 (mod:Alt, shift)

I actually need a multipurpose macro like this where I can substitute Hibernate with X.

I understand simple macros, but I'm not smart enough to do more complex ones.

Also, if I use a two button modifier on a macro that all ready has one of the modifiers in use, will it still recognize the two button modifier? I bind my two button modifiers to my foot pedals, so the two buttons will be pushed simultaneously.

Thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
08-24-11, 01:42 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
/use [mod:ctrl,mod:alt,@arena2,exists,nodead][mod:alt,mod:shift,@arena3,exists,nodead][mod:alt,@arena1,exists,nodead][mod:shift,@focus,harm,nodead][]Hibernate


Also, keybindings take precedence over modifiers, if that's what you are referring to. ie, if the button your macro is on is bound to Ctrl-3, then the macro would not recognize control as the modifier (you would essentially need to hold ctrl twice, which is impossible).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
08-24-11, 02:17 PM   #3
seanj0
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
I don't think I asked that right.

Let's say I use a 'shift' modifier to cast Hibernate on my focus, but to cast it on Arena target 1 I have my modifier as 'shift, ctrl'. Will it still recognize both or just the first one?

Seerah, thank you very much!
  Reply With Quote
08-24-11, 03:23 PM   #4
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,313
Originally Posted by seanj0 View Post
If I use a two button modifier on a macro that all ready has one of the modifiers in use, will it still recognize the two button modifier? I bind my two button modifiers to my foot pedals, so the two buttons will be pushed simultaneously.
This can't be done since the game reads the mouse button as a "click" and not a modifier. The same way any regular key is read (any key except Ctrl, Alt, and Shift). However, if you click a macro, it can run a condition based on which button was used. If a macro is run from a keybind, this defaults to button 1.


Code:
/cast [btn:1] Spell1; [btn:2] Spell2; [btn:3] Spell3
This'll choose to cast based on if you used the left, right, or middle button respectively. As mentioned above, the left button will be used if this is run from a keybind.


Code:
/cast [btn:1,btn:2] Spell
A macro like this will never run since the game will never read more than one button at once.





Originally Posted by seanj0 View Post
Let's say I use a 'shift' modifier to cast Hibernate on my focus, but to cast it on Arena target 1 I have my modifier as 'shift, ctrl'. Will it still recognize both or just the first one?
It depends on the order of the macro conditions.


Code:
/cast [@focus,mod:shift][@arena1,mod:alt,mod:shift] Hibernate
This will always try to cast on focus no matter if Alt is held down or not since the first condition will always match in that case.


Code:
/cast [@arena1,mod:alt,mod:shift][@focus,mod:shift] Hibernate
Since the more restrictive condition is listed first in this example, it'll switch between arena1 when Alt+Shift is held and and focus when it's just Shift.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
08-24-11, 04:04 PM   #5
seanj0
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
That answers everything. Thank you
  Reply With Quote
08-24-11, 05:31 PM   #6
Taryble
A Molten Giant
 
Taryble's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 811
Basically, macros do the first matching conditions it finds.

If you want to use a double-modifier, it has to come before the single-modifier conditions, which have to come before the no-modifier conditions.
__________________
-- Taryble
  Reply With Quote
08-26-11, 12:10 AM   #7
seanj0
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
/use [mod:ctrl,mod:alt,@arena2,exists,nodead][mod:alt,mod:shift,@arena3,exists,nodead][mod:alt,@arena1,exists,nodead][mod:shift,@focus,harm,nodead][]Hibernate

Is there anyways to substitute Faerie Fire with Hibernate? Faerie Fire will need to coincide with the appropriate form I'm in @ the time. I assume it's too long, but thought I'd try.

Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
08-26-11, 10:02 AM   #8
Taryble
A Molten Giant
 
Taryble's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 811
Copied from lawomous' reply to this question on another forum:

Try this. You can fit most of it in a macro, but to have it do the correct type of Faerie Fire for all of those conditions would make the macro over twice as long. This will prioritize Feral Faerie Fire for all of the conditions above, and will just use regular Faerie Fire on your target if none of the conditions were true, and you were not in feral form.

Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [@arena1,mod:alt,mod:ctrl][@arena2,mod:alt,mod:shift][@arena3,mod:ctrl,mod:shift][@focus,mod:shift][@mouseover,harm][form:1/3]Faerie Fire (Feral)();Faerie Fire
If you spend most of your PvP time as a healer or moonkin, try this variant.
Code:
#showtooltip
/cast [@arena1,mod:alt,mod:ctrl][@arena2,mod:alt,mod:shift][@arena3,mod:ctrl,mod:shift][@focus,mod:shift][@mouseover,harm]Faerie Fire;[form:1/3]Faerie Fire (Feral)()
__________________
-- Taryble
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Macro Help » hi, need some macro help.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off