Thread Tools Display Modes
05-05-08, 02:17 PM   #1
Vex
Premium Member
 
Vex's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
add font outline to monkeyquest

I tried adding "MonkeyQuestFont:SetFont("FRIZQT__.ttf","12","OUTLINE, MONOCHROME"); to the monkeylibrary.lua but it seemingly had zero effect.

How do i add an outline to the font? The default shadow isn't enough when i have the background opacity set to 0.
  Reply With Quote
05-05-08, 02:49 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Originally Posted by Vex View Post
I tried adding "MonkeyQuestFont:SetFont("FRIZQT__.ttf","12","OUTLINE, MONOCHROME"); to the monkeylibrary.lua but it seemingly had zero effect.

How do i add an outline to the font? The default shadow isn't enough when i have the background opacity set to 0.
In your code, do you actually have a " in front of MonkeyQuestFont? Also, did you mean to do "OUTLINE", "MONOCHROME" ?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
05-05-08, 03:22 PM   #3
Vex
Premium Member
 
Vex's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
nope don't have " in front, and i didm't do "OUTLINE","MONOCRHOME" cause thats not how it was written on wowwiki ;( i'll try that though!

ok tried it.

this is exactly what i have:
Code:
MonkeyQuestFont:SetFont("FRIZQT__.ttf",12, "OUTLINE");
MonkeyQuestFontWide:SetFont("FRIZQT__.ttf",12, "OUTLINE");
tried it in both MonkeyLibrary.lua and MonkeyQuest.lua , no effect whatsoever.

I get lua error:
attempt to index global 'MonkeyQuestFont' (a nil value)
but this is in MonkeyQuest.xml
Code:
	<Layer level="ARTWORK">
				<FontString name="$parentText" inherits="MonkeyQuestFont" justifyH="LEFT">
					<Anchors>
						<Anchor point="TOPLEFT">
							<Offset>
								<AbsDimension x="0" y="6"/>
							</Offset>
						</Anchor>
					</Anchors>
				</FontString>
			</Layer>

Last edited by Vex : 05-05-08 at 04:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-05-08, 04:35 PM   #4
Vex
Premium Member
 
Vex's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
also have tried the following - still no change /sigh

in MonkeyLibrary.xml

Code:
<FontString name="MonkeyQuestFontWide" inherits="MasterFont" outline="THICK" monochrome="TRUE"  font="Interface\AddOns\MonkeyLibrary\Fonts\framd.ttf" virtual="true">
in MonkeyQuest.xml

Code:
<Layer level="ARTWORK">
	<FontString name="$parentText" inherits="MonkeyQuestFont" outline="THICK" monochrome="TRUE" justifyH="LEFT">
		<Anchors>
			<Anchor point="TOPLEFT">
				<Offset>
					<AbsDimension x="0" y="6"/>
				</Offset>
			</Anchor>
		</Anchors>
	</FontString>
</Layer>
  Reply With Quote
05-05-08, 05:00 PM   #5
Vex
Premium Member
 
Vex's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
finally found it.

MonkeyQuestInit.lua line 412

Code:
		getglobal("MonkeyQuestButton" .. i .. "Text"):SetFont(strFontName, iFontHeight,"OUTLINE");
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » add font outline to monkeyquest


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off