Thread Tools Display Modes
02-04-17, 06:32 PM   #1
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
How to make a visible window? image link in disc

http://imgur.com/a/a6RGc

How do i create a window like this one in wow?
Pretty straight forward question^^
  Reply With Quote
02-05-17, 04:44 PM   #2
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,237
That looks like SexyInterrrupter, in which case, look at the code in any text editor.
  Reply With Quote
02-06-17, 03:11 AM   #3
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
That looks like SexyInterrrupter, in which case, look at the code in any text editor.
Correct! That is sexy interrupter, i did check the code several times to find the one but simply could not find it:/, would u mind help me?^^
Just the code for the window ,
  Reply With Quote
02-06-17, 12:35 PM   #4
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Here is github page for sexyinterrupter, I have tried to find what code section that creates the window but i have failed. I really can not find it.

https://github.com/apnotix/SexyInter...aster/core.lua
  Reply With Quote
02-06-17, 03:59 PM   #5
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,237
Lines 69 -95. The rest is either creating the anchor, or the announce frame.
  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 07:28 AM   #6
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Create a window table().

http://imgur.com/9X12qCc

Hello! how do i create a window like this shown with the image link above? Without the names , just the window
it is from sexyinterrupter. I just want to be able to have the code that makes the window.
All help i need is to create a window like that and then i can continue ,

Here is the github code for sexyinterrupter.
https://github.com/apnotix/SexyInter...aster/core.lua

Please help me with this . I made a post about this before but did not get the help i needed.
Best regards!

Last edited by Seerah : 02-20-17 at 12:15 PM. Reason: Thread merge
  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 08:57 AM   #7
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 666
You said you want the code to make that window, but you just linked it. The basic creation of the box is under SexyInterrupter:CreateUi(). Do what I do: take a chunk of that code, research the function/widget names, and make a standalone example work.
  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 09:59 AM   #8
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by Kanegasi View Post
You said you want the code to make that window, but you just linked it. The basic creation of the box is under SexyInterrupter:CreateUi(). Do what I do: take a chunk of that code, research the function/widget names, and make a standalone example work.
Hey!
Yeah i have tried but there is alot of unverified variables just taking from the createui() block. There included ("LibSharedMedia-3.0"); which i have in my folder but there is also that function at line 18 (self) which is included in createui block which i just can't get to work :/
  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 11:16 AM   #9
briskman3000
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
briskman3000's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 108
If all you want is a frame with a border, and not have to worry about Libs, this should create a simple 200x100 frame for you to work with

Lua Code:
  1. local frame = CreateFrame("Frame", nil, UIParent)
  2. frame:SetSize(200, 100)
  3. frame:SetPoint("CENTER")
  4. frame:SetBackdrop({
  5.     bgFile="Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background",
  6.     edgeFile="Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Border",
  7.     tile=false,
  8.     tileSize=0,
  9.     edgeSize=2,})
  10. frame:SetBackdropColor(0,0,0,0.5)
  11. frame:SetBackdropBorderColor(0,0,0,1)
__________________
My Addons: Convert Ratings Honor Track
  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 12:15 PM   #10
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
I've merged your two threads together.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
02-20-17, 02:52 PM   #11
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by briskman3000 View Post
If all you want is a frame with a border, and not have to worry about Libs, this should create a simple 200x100 frame for you to work with

Lua Code:
  1. local frame = CreateFrame("Frame", nil, UIParent)
  2. frame:SetSize(200, 100)
  3. frame:SetPoint("CENTER")
  4. frame:SetBackdrop({
  5.     bgFile="Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background",
  6.     edgeFile="Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Border",
  7.     tile=false,
  8.     tileSize=0,
  9.     edgeSize=2,})
  10. frame:SetBackdropColor(0,0,0,0.5)
  11. frame:SetBackdropBorderColor(0,0,0,1)
Hello! Dude thank you , I have tried litterly for days trying to just make a fraking window , Those libraries drives me insane , Especially trying to work with sexyinterupter code because everything is mixed in to eachother so hard to sort that code out.

best regards!
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 02:07 AM   #12
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Just a question off topic.

Is this a acceptable way to store variables in an array? Going to have mulitple spellinfos in debuffs array and i want unitdebuff("raid1", debuffs) to look for any of those debuffs on the raid1 unit.

Lua Code:
  1. taintofthesea = GetSpellInfo(228054)
  2. TimeRelease = GetSpellInfo(219965)
  3.  
  4. local debuffs = {taintofthesea, TimeRelease}
  5. local name, _, _, _, _, duration, expires = UnitDebuff("raid1", debuffs)

If this is the wrong way please help me just make the correct array : ).
What i want in short is to unitdebuff() to be searching the debuffs array for any of those debuffs on the raid1 unutid target.
best regards!
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 07:11 AM   #13
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
Do unpack(debuffs).

Edit: Or wait, you want to look for two different buffs? Then you need to do a loop over debuffs and call UnitDebuff for both values individually.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!

Last edited by Lombra : 02-21-17 at 07:13 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 07:16 AM   #14
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by Lombra View Post
Do unpack(debuffs).

Edit: Or wait, you want to look for two different buffs? Then you need to do a loop over debuffs and call UnitDebuff for both values individually.
Hey , yea well i am making a assist addon that will help with dispelling .
Basicly it will list characther name in a window. That is why i have an array of debuffs that i want unitdebuff to be looking for.

So i dont have to create different unitdebuff() methods for each debuff.
Please help me give a example code

Best regards!
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 09:28 AM   #15
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,857
Lua Code:
  1. for key, value in pairs(debuffs) do
  2.     local name, _, _, _, _, duration, expires = UnitDebuff("raid1", value)
  3.     -- do whatever here
  4. end

does an unordered loop throught the table.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 09:51 AM   #16
wille480
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz View Post
Lua Code:
  1. for key, value in pairs(debuffs) do
  2.     local name, _, _, _, _, duration, expires = UnitDebuff("raid1", value)
  3.     -- do whatever here
  4. end

does an unordered loop throught the table.
Ah okey thank you! , i always imagine doing a foor loop like.


For i=0, 2 do

local name, _, _, _, _, duration, expires = UnitDebuff("raid1",debuffs[i])
  Reply With Quote
02-21-17, 10:31 AM   #17
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,857
Originally Posted by wille480 View Post
Ah okey thank you! , i always imagine doing a foor loop like.


For i=0, 2 do

local name, _, _, _, _, duration, expires = UnitDebuff("raid1",debuffs[i])
for i=1, 2 do
...
end

lua is 1 based but that would have worked also as the keys will be created when you add items to the table. If you print the key in the pairs loop it will print 1, 2 etc.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » How to make a visible window? image link in disc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off