Quantcast Different UI on different computers - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-20-18, 03:11 AM   #1
Yonaz
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Different UI on different computers

So, I have 2 computers. 1 laptop and one workstation I play from. The workstation has a 27" screen, and the laptop a 15" that I use for traveling. My question is divided into 2 different:

1. Are my ingame-UI stored locally, or on Blizzards servers? If I move a actionbar on one computer, will it be moved on the other too? Reason I ask is, that when I log into my laptop, my unitframes are misplacers, since they are based on the 27"..can I move them on the laptop without them being moved on the workstation?

2. Addons on twitch app, is there a way to login to the twitch app on my laptop, and it automatically download and/or updates the ones I use on my workstation?
__________________
twitch.tv/the_yonaz
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 05:22 AM   #2
yess
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16
UI settings, placements and add-on settings are stored locally in the WTF folder. So you can configure on both separately or copy the config and then change it.

One thing about actions bars that is stored online is what spells you haven in an actionbar slot. But some addons do display that differently than the default UI so when you switch to a computer that does not have the addon every thing is misplaced.
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 05:27 AM   #3
Yonaz
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by yess View Post
UI settings, placements and add-on settings are stored locally in the WTF folder. So you can configure on both separately or copy the config and then change it.

One thing about actions bars that is stored online is what spells you haven in an actionbar slot. But some addons do display that differently than the default UI so when you switch to a computer that does not have the addon every thing is misplaced.
Ah, good. Then I can configure the laptop for a smaller screen
__________________
twitch.tv/the_yonaz
  Reply With Quote
07-21-18, 11:39 AM   #4
briskman3000
A Cliff Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 70
Also unless they changed it recently, the chat box position and size is stored server side.

I used to play on a laptop when travelling for work and everytime that I switched from the laptop to the desktop or vice versa, I would have to reposition the chat box to fit that screen's UI.
  Reply With Quote
07-21-18, 03:26 PM   #5
Ammako
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Ammako's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 244
You can use this addon to keep chat window position and size separate on each machine, if needed.
It's supposed to automatically load your saved chat window state on login, sometimes it doesn't work though, but a quick /een load fixes it.

https://wow.curseforge.com/projects/...-window-backup
__________________
█████████████
█████████████
█████████████
█████████████
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » General Discussion » Tech Chat » Different UI on different computers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off