Thread Tools Display Modes
03-25-09, 10:15 PM   #1
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Custom Bar Texture

I sucessfully added an Arena unit panel type by modifying the raid10 group to show your team on the left side and the opposing team using the arenaN identifiers on the right side. However, the one other change I am trying to do is replace the bar textures with LiteStep from Quartz, but when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!
 
03-26-09, 02:44 AM   #2
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,443
Originally Posted by NynjaMonkii View Post
I sucessfully added an Arena unit panel type by modifying the raid10 group to show your team on the left side and the opposing team using the arenaN identifiers on the right side. However, the one other change I am trying to do is replace the bar textures with LiteStep from Quartz, but when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!
What arena frames are you trying to customize? Often times the easiest way to replace bar textures with your own is to:
  • Drop the bar texture of your choice into that AddOn's folder (into the same folder as the AddOn's textures)
  • Then rename the current bar texture. Example, the bar texture's name is statusbar.tag. Rename the texture to something like statusbar.old.
  • Finally rename your chosen texture to the same name as the old texture. Example: LiteStep.tga -> statusbar.tga

This how I got started modding my AddOns. There is no need to mess with the AddOn's lua.
__________________
Twitter

Last edited by Zyonin : 03-26-09 at 02:48 AM.
 
03-26-09, 04:47 AM   #3
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
nUI uses a custom set of unit frames that move the different frames around based on solo, party, etc. I simply extended that system to support arena frames for your opponents. Indeed, I've dropped textures before, but when trying to do this instead of replacing the textures it just places the entire texture on the bar without colors and full even when its not.
 
03-26-09, 06:26 AM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by NynjaMonkii View Post
when I try to place it in the Art folder and replace references I get a solid bar with no color. I replaced the BarOverlay references. Did I do something wrong or do I need to do something special with the texture? BTW, great work on the mod!
Did you exit WoW and re-enter after adding the textures to the art folder? Without getting into the detail of it all, WoW will only look for textures when you first load it. Once loaded, even logging out and back in, will not detect new textures in the addon directory.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-26-09, 07:26 AM   #5
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Right, what happens is it looks like the textures are being applied directly as an image without any coloring or anything, heres a screenshot of what happens. The achievement tracker shows what should happen with the texture, and you can see in my unit panel what really happens. LiteStep is a tga, I've tried changing it to a blp and replacing the overlays with it, using it by itself, etc. Obviously I'm doing something wrong, but I'm not sure what. Anyhow, once I get this working I plan on doing a diff with the things I added for the arena frames and e-mailing it to you. I had based my work on Gladius and I'd like to port a few more of the features from that great addon over as well, such as trinket status.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_032609_082224.jpg
Views:	1374
Size:	1.62 MB
ID:	2403  
 
03-26-09, 07:28 AM   #6
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Also you can see in that screenshot how the entire bottom skin is shifted over about 10-15 pixels, any idea what causes that? its not a huge issue and doesnt affect playability but Id like to fix it if I could. For the record, using a custom nUI 5.0 12 dev version.
 
03-26-09, 07:44 AM   #7
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Ah... the little light in the attic goes on... you're using the overlay texture? The overlay is what goes OVER the top of the bar itself. The bar is UNDER the overlay. If the overlay is not transparent, it will hide the bar. I bet that's that problem, your overlays aren't transparent and I don't have a transparency option in the overlay object.

I can add that later, but that's almost certainly the issue.

EDIT: Oh yeah... the shift... you have FuBar installed.... make sure the bottom bar is the full width of the display and centered... nUI attaches to it.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-26-09, 07:46 AM   #8
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Ah I see, so what do I need to use to get the bar, like which blps should be replaced? And thanks for help!
 
05-08-09, 06:31 PM   #9
NynjaMonkii
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Okay, I see you never fixed this, and I'll be honest, I had stopped using nUI for a while. I came back to it, and after having read up a bit on addon development I decided to look at it again, and I figured it out. In nUI_StatusBar.lua function createStatusBar you set frame.bar to the texture file on the BORDER layer. Looks good there. In setBar you have three variables, bar, min_offset and max_offset. If bar is present, you set frame.bar to the given bar, otherwise, you set it to the texture file with the points 1,1,1,1. At the end of createStatusBar, you call setBar() with no variables, so bar is empty, thereby setting the texture to 1,1,1,1. Because runic power and rage are empty, no update is called to make the bar active, and the entire texture is shown! To remedy this, on line 631 of nUI_StatusBar.lua simple change:

Code:
frame.setBar()
to

Code:
frame.SetBar(frame.bar)
 
05-08-09, 06:45 PM   #10
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
0.o

I didn't understand a word you said rofl.. but it looks good!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
 
05-08-09, 09:33 PM   #11
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
~blush~

Wow... talk about letting things slip through the cracks

/sigh

*thank you* for tracking that down... feel free to slap the absent minded old programmer.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
05-09-09, 08:22 AM   #12
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
This fix has been made and will be in the next update.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » Custom Bar Texture

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off