Quantcast Minion wants to update to older versions of what I have installed. - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-05-17, 06:56 AM   #1
Pops'Hunter
A Murloc Raider
 
Pops'Hunter's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Minion wants to update to older versions of what I have installed.

I am running Minion v3.0.5 on Windows 7 64bit. And for some reason Minion wants to update addons to an older version to what I have installed, or a different number altogether. Granted I use Curse as well as some addons get updated there first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Minoin.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	284.4 KB
ID:	8932  
Attached Files
File Type: xml minion.xml (8.0 KB, 26 views)
  Reply With Quote
04-05-17, 03:18 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,385
See here: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...19&postcount=9
for some insight.

You can also read through this thread if you like, to see how it has been debated in the past: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=52820

If you update some addons from Curse, and the addons' authors keep them more up to date at Curse, simply right-click that addon in Minion and set it to ignore.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
04-05-17, 04:43 PM   #3
Pops'Hunter
A Murloc Raider
 
Pops'Hunter's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
thanks for the reply and links Seerah, I searched somewhat but didn't see anything relevant.
  Reply With Quote
04-26-17, 10:33 PM   #4
gmarco
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 231
Hi,

I have the same problem ...



Minion wants to update addons using version number completely wrong even for addons that are on WoWI.
For example, if you check the img you can see that all the addons with gm* (mine) are completely mischecked even if on WOWI I usually mantain all of them even before curse.

In this case where it gets this version numbers so old and is there a way to reset it ?

Thanks.
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
04-26-17, 10:54 PM   #5
gmarco
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 231
Hi,

I have found in the setting the possibility to reset addons, games and drive.
Using this make the situation better even if there are some iussues that are still there.

Is it possible that Minion will have an option to scan them everytime ?

Here is my situation:



- Tipsy has a wrong version in toc file: ## Version: $project-version$

- Skada is a pity but it is not outdated on WOWI as on curse but it is correctly detected.

- EPGP* are mismatched, I have:


- OpenAll (I used the kemayo version) is mismatched the same but it is not not update on WOWI like on curse.

- AraBrokerGuild is correctly detected as outdated even if it is not because the latest file r76 has in .toc file: Version: r75

Thanks for attention.
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
04-27-17, 03:43 PM   #6
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,181
Hi gmarco,

Thanks for your post! Here are some comments I had...


Originally Posted by gmarco View Post
Hi,

I have found in the setting the possibility to reset addons, games and drive.
Using this make the situation better even if there are some iussues that are still there.

Is it possible that Minion will have an option to scan them everytime ?
It does scan them every time you start Minion? I'll have to double check but maybe its not re-scanning the toc files. Just checking to make sure the AddOn is still there.

- Tipsy has a wrong version in toc file: ## Version: $project-version$
Not sure how we can correct this, the author uploaded it to our site like that. So when Minion detects it in the wild it uses the version found in the toc which is "Version: $project-version$". If you download it and install it directly from Minion it will use the version number the author entered into our database and ignore the toc version.

- Skada is a pity but it is not outdated on WOWI as on curse but it is correctly detected.
The version WOWI has in its database is 1.6.4, Minion wants to make your version the same that is on our site. With these simple version numbers it would be easy for us to update Minion so it could tell that 1.6.8 is newer than 1.6.4 but many authors use names, letters, numbers & git hashes in their versions. This is an issue with in the wild detection. Shouldn't happen if you use Minion to install the AddOn and not reset detection.

- EPGP* are mismatched, I have:
epgp (dkp reloaded) is marked as discontinued on our site so Minion tried to match it to something current.

- OpenAll (I used the kemayo version) is mismatched the same but it is not not update on WOWI like on curse.
Minion matched it to the newest version our site has. Since there are 3 versions of it on our site. http://www.wowinterface.com/download...search=openall

Last edited by Dolby : 04-27-17 at 03:47 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04-27-17, 09:54 PM   #7
gmarco
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 231
Hi Dolby,

thanks for your kind reply.

Installing the addon with version mismatch again with minion solve the .toc files problems.

A couple of whishes:

- Is it possible that it shows also the addons that it could not find so we can guess what other addons we have to find elsewhere to download and update ? with a link to google (or other research engine you wish) so we can find them fast ?!?!?

- is it possible to have a function/tool that clean all the saved variables of addon not used anymore or badly deleted removing only the folder in then addon dir ? It is a thing the first curse client had but disappeared also from the latest twitch client.

Thanks !
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
04-27-17, 10:42 PM   #8
VincentSDSH
Non-Canadian Luzer!
 
VincentSDSH's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 301
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
It does scan them every time you start Minion? I'll have to double check but maybe its not re-scanning the toc files. Just checking to make sure the AddOn is still there.
I don't think it re-reads the .toc when it scans.

I run into this frequently:
  1. Update Addon's .toc file
  2. uploaded the new version to WoWI
  3. Minion tells me my source version needs an update from WoWI, even showing the wrong local .toc version

Also pops up if you pull an addon from a non-WoWI source but it's also updated on WoWI.

I'm really surprised that Minion doesn't read the on-disk .toc file. A tiny amount of extra load time would be well, well worth removing this particular headache.
__________________
AddonsNEW Executive Assistant User Configurable To-Do ListLegible Mail Choose the Font for Your Mail
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Minion wants to update to older versions of what I have installed.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off