04-08-10, 05:40 PM   #1
Tekashi
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Ahnk Use/Cooldown Information Sending

As a Shaman, my guild requires me to have ora2 or ora3 so it can send information if I used/have used my ahnk. As someone who is interested in an efficient UI, I would never, ever install bloated mods like ora. Does anyone know of a mod that has the simple functionality of communicating to ora2/3 my ahnk status, and -nothing- else?

If this doesn't exist, I'll attempt to look at the code in ora and make it myself, however I am relatively new to LUA in general, so any help would be appreciated with at least getting my started on the project.
04-08-10, 05:59 PM   #2
Taryble
A Molten Giant

Honestly, oRA3 is very lightweight, compared to oRA2.
04-08-10, 06:13 PM   #3
Tekashi
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Even if ora3 was something like 200kb, my entire UI is about 700kb. I have no intention of using a mod of that magnitude. Not to mention I have zero use for any feature BUT the ahnk information, which is why I'd like to only use that particular function.
04-08-10, 09:32 PM   #4
Beoko
Originally Posted by Tekashi View Post
As someone who is interested in an efficient UI, I would never, ever install bloated mods like ora.
Even if ora3 was something like 200kb, my entire UI is about 700kb. I have no intention of using a mod of that magnitude. Not to mention I have zero use for any feature BUT the ahnk information, which is why I'd like to only use that particular function.
Static memory usage has very little impact on anything. Unreasonable cpu usage is what you should be worried about. I'm willing to bet some of those "small" addons that are 1~50 kB's each are inefficient and using much more cpu than what is necessary.

As far as feature usage - I will agree with you on that. I'll take a look at ora3 and see how difficult it would be to sync your ankh cooldown. If it is something simple, I'll write it up for you.

Edit:

http://www.wowinterface.com/download..._AnkhSync.html