Quantcast Incorrect Addon Detections - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-27-09, 08:45 PM   #1
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
Incorrect Addon Detections

I realize the heuristics are having some problems with addons that aren't on WoWI, and in rare cases ones that are on WoWI as well. Here's what I need from anyone experiencing an issue:

Name of addon that is installed
Name of addon that is detected
WoWInterface ID of the addons, or "N/A" if not available or not detected
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 08:52 PM   #2
Tearstar
A Cyclonian
 
Tearstar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
Name of addon that is installed
Name of addon that is detected
Name of addon that is installed - a custom modified version of Mini-Me as well as Mini-Targ
Name of addon that is detected - recognizes it correctly under interface but in status it says version 1.3 available, right click more info takes me to MiniTrinketsMenu http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info10472.html

plus I remember reading another post where "addon control panel" connects to AfterLife Crowd Control http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info9092.html

AllStats connects to Battle Stats 2 http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info10789.html

Bang! FeignDeath is connecting to Bang! PvP http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info12949.html
yet Bang! PvP connects to nothing and says waiting for Bang! Feign Death

Baggins goes to Baggins Scrap

Battleground Defender goes to Battleground General

Cartographer 3 is connecting to Cartographer 2.5

Dr Damage -Ace2- connected straight to Ace2 - seems like moany of the addons with Ace2 in it is connecting straight to Ace2
after updating Ace2, Ace 3 now tries to update by connecting to Am Dead http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info8840.html

PocketStable connects to Stable

Recount connects to Broker: Recount

AtlasLootFu goes right to AtlasLoot Enhanced

All the DeadlyBossMod plugins want to update to DeadlyBossMod:Burning Crusade

Enhanced Flight Map goes to EnhancedToolTip

This is after a long day and first shot at the client, overall I think it looks good, updates quickly and the ads aren't obtrusive, not bad . . . just can't use Update All yet, but it's still beta



*edit*
Upon loading my client and looking at my addon list, everything seems ok except it's telling me Ace2 is incompatable

Last edited by Tearstar : 05-27-09 at 09:56 PM. Reason: added info about Ace2
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 09:40 PM   #3
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
Whats interesting is every one of the addons that is incorrectly linked are ones that do not exist here on WoWI. At least that's what i looks like anyway.

It's like instead of linking an addon by exact name only it goes for any addon with a similar name if it can not find it here on WoWI instead of just saying it can not find it.
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 09:46 PM   #4
Tearstar
A Cyclonian
 
Tearstar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Originally Posted by Sepioth View Post
Whats interesting is every one of the addons that is incorrectly linked are ones that do not exist here on WoWI. At least that's what i looks like anyway.

It's like instead of linking an addon by exact name only it goes for any addon with a similar name if it can not find it here on WoWI instead of just saying it can not find it.
Not everyone of them, My Mini-Targ is hosted here on WoWI and it's not linking right, but I do think you have the right idea, it's like if the name is not exact, it will find a close match . . . perhapse in that situation, a flag should show up, "not an exact match' then you know to do more info and check it
  Reply With Quote
05-27-09, 10:40 PM   #5
Asuhrie
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Sorry if this is not the right place for this but..

EPGP (DKP Reloaded) connects to the WoWI version of the correct mod, but it is only updated on Curse.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 01:42 AM   #6
lordkarthas
An Aku'mai Servant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 35
Already posted some of these on the tracker, but I'll post all of mine here for completeness' sake.

BindPad links to BindPad PTR instead of BindPad - GUI to set keybindings for spell/item/macro
Broker: Currency links to Broker CT instead of being unavailable
FuBar - BankItemsFu, FuBar - CalendarFu and FuBar - MailFu all link to FuBar 3.6 instead of being unavailable
FuBar - VolumeFu links to FuBar - FarmerFu instead of being unavailable
Mail Expiry links to Express Mail instead of being unavailable
Reagent Restocker links to Reagent Broker instead of being unavailable
Send Self links to Annoying Self Rebuff Reminder instead of being unavailable
Tradeskill HD links to Tradeskill Advice instead of being unavailable
Eeshards -Ace2- links to Ace2 instead of being unavailable


Originally Posted by Tearstar View Post
AtlasLootFu goes right to AtlasLoot Enhanced
AtlasLootFu is included in the ZIP file for AtlasLoot Enhanced.

Last edited by lordkarthas : 05-28-09 at 01:52 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 05:26 AM   #7
syrupk
A Cliff Giant
 
syrupk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 71
I'll add this one here because I'm not sure yet what the other ones are linking to. I'll trying to figure out why the other ones are today.

Pitbull 4 gives you Ace2 AND Stuff Unitframes.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 05:31 AM   #8
Gimbli
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Installed AddOn: Pitbull 4.0 - N/A on WoWI, downloaded from WoWAce/Curse
Detected AddOn: Kollektiv Unit Frames - ID 11171 (?) (Also linked for your convenience) Properly displayed Pitbull 4.0 but installed kUnits when updated.

I only use two AddOns that aren't on WoWI, and I manually updated the second. It seems (from what's already been posted), that Pitbull 4.0 is pulling multiple different AddOns from WoWI.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 06:29 AM   #9
Bomyne
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
According to minion... this is what Ace 3 is: http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info8840.html
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 06:39 AM   #10
clayton6870
A Murloc Raider
 
clayton6870's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
I was having problems so I deleted all my addons and search through Minion for them again. Figured this would help with the multiple source problem people were having. So far I found out this:

Fubar Plugins not found with minion but are on WoWI:
Friendsfu
Guildfu
garbageFu
ToFu

Fubar Plugins not on WoWI:
SwitcherFu
XperlFu


Closed and Reran Minion and the following Addons were not present in the MInion list but are availible on WowI:
Atlas
Auctioneer Suite
Cartographer (core)
durabilityFu
FriendsFu
GuildFu
MoneyFu
QuestsFu
Gatherer (core)

Last edited by clayton6870 : 05-28-09 at 11:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 06:58 AM   #11
Darkwolfie
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
"Addon Control Panel by Sylvanaar" is being detected as "Afterlife Crowd Control"
"Addon Control Panel" is n/a @ wowinterface

"Recount by Cryect, ported to 2.4 by Elsia" is being detected as "Broker Recount"
"Recount" is n/a @ wowinterface

Long one (sub folders of underhood)
Underhood 2 - Auras by Anadale -> Power auras classic
Underhood 2 - Bars by Anadale -> Extra bars
Underhood 2 - Combopoints by Anadale -> UIM:Combopoints
Underhood 2 - Hide Blizzard Frames by Anadale -> SSarena Frames
Underhood 2 - Icons by Anadale -> Class Icons
Underhood 2 - Portraits by Anadale -> Adapt - Almost-Default Animated Portraits
Underhood 2 - Runes by Anadale -> RDX Runes
Underhood 2 - Text Frames by Anadale -> Dreagar's Text Unit Frames

Underhood 2 is N/A @ wowinterface
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 09:08 AM   #12
Pyrophoric
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 45
Well, I guess I will repost here ... since my thread (which was made before this one) was closed ... :/

EQCompare linking to this:http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info11245.html

That is first one I noticed last night. There were three others but I have to wait till I get home because I dont remember what in the world they were linking to.

I am having the problems exactly as stated in the original post. Multiple addons finding things that arent on WoWI, finding the wrong thing when the right thing IS on WoWI, not finding anything at all when it is on WoWI and at times not even recognizing that I have certain plugins installed.

Also, when installing new addons it adds them to the list until I close Minion and restart it.

The last issue I have, when using my login info it seems to pull from my favorites list instead of what I have installed. This is a problem because even after I went back to anonymous, it still used my favorites list or some variation of it. I had to remove the plugin and every file it installed to revert back to seeing my installed addons.

Edit: Forgot about one other issue. It is breaking up certain mods as separate updates when it is really one suite. The first I can think of off the top of my head was Auctioneer. It wanted to download the suite for the core update (which the Suite includes everything). It also wanted to download the entire suite again for Enchantrix and then again for Swatter.

Last edited by Pyrophoric : 05-28-09 at 09:15 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 09:33 AM   #13
algritz
A Murloc Raider
 
algritz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
My list of missinterpreted add-ons

Add-on : Source --> Links to

Aucatabase : CC --> http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info11809.html
Bagsort : CC --> http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info9545.html
BulkMail Inbox : CC --> http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info8636.html
Fubar - CharmsFu : CC --> http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info4571.html
Fubar - CraftTimer : CC --> http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info4571.html


(pretty much every "Fubar - " points towatds fubar)
__________________
<I Pugged this life>
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 10:31 AM   #14
markuznw
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Chatter should be blocked, it's pretty outdated on wowi and overwrites the newer one from curse
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 10:36 AM   #15
Bomyne
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
I have nUI+ and Minion is trying to install nUI lite.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 11:01 AM   #16
Pyrophoric
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by markuznw View Post
Chatter should be blocked, it's pretty outdated on wowi and overwrites the newer one from curse
Actually, I would love an option to not update an mod that isn't WotLK updated.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 11:03 AM   #17
thumpabash
A Murloc Raider
 
thumpabash's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Characterinfo is outdated here and i update it from curse. The minion identified it as Character map
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 12:11 PM   #18
Venificus
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
On a related note I think it would be nice if there were a "sanity check" column in the UI that would have the title of the remote mod that the local mod is heuristically matched with.

That way we could see at a glance if there's a problem without having to drill down into More Info for each addon.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 05:17 PM   #19
Bomyne
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 123
Can I make a suggestion? and no, I'm not going to use that bug tracker thing... but I would like to see the ability to over ride Minion's detection of whiich file is which.

I have looked over the list and have probably 10 to 15 mismatches that I can't correct cause I can't find anyway to proform an override.
  Reply With Quote
05-28-09, 10:48 PM   #20
Quaunaut
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 7
Note: Continuously updating this post as I find more. On Edit 3.
Okay, I've some myself:

Addon Control Panel(ACP)-> Afterlife Crowd Control
Edit1: ButtonFacade_Darion -> ButtonFacade_Pas
Edit2: Pitbull 4.0 -> Satrina Unit Frames 3
Edit2: Recount -> Broker_Recount
Edit2: ShadedMedia -> Healbot Continued
Edit2: ShockAndAwe(formerly Disqodice) -> Inquest
Edit2: Wowhead Looter -> GathererDB WoWHead
Edit2: Yet Another Totem addon(YATA) -> Addon Loader

Edit2: Also, anything with the word "Fu" in it goes to Fubar.



Also there are lots of others that I'm trying to figure out where the mistake is, but it's more difficult than that. Those are:
Bagnon(and Bagnon_Options)

Edit3: Went through the entire list, no idea what installed Bagnon.

Last edited by Quaunaut : 05-28-09 at 11:24 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Incorrect Addon Detections

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off