Thread Tools Display Modes
07-09-08, 06:00 AM   #1
Dzinn
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
How to use Removed Action Bars

Hi, I've been playing the same char since open Beta and have since a while back been playing with invisible Bars.

I've used Bartender, Bartender2, Bartender3, and just a few days ago I installed Bartender4

Bartender is in my opinion a fantastic Barmod.

However, I very much appreciate a "clean" UI with as little visible items as possible.
Therefore I thought to myself, why use a barmod, that is not even visible?...

So I went ahead and looked up a few script commands on how to Hide default Action Bar
Code:
MainMenuBar:Hide()
problem is, when MainMenuBar is hidden,
and I go into stealth (ShapeshiftBar)
and use any opening attack or remove stealth while in combat
Actionbar 1 (Normal actionbar with all my out of Stealth Spells) will NOT appear.

I will however be told by the game that This particular spell needs me to be in stealth to use. In short I spam Sinister Strike (Bar1), but game wants to use Sap (Shapeshift Bar)

Bottom Left bar is Finishing Moves, Bottom Right is Getaways, they can both be hidden, yet remain functional with Default Interface Options.



Stealth / Shapeshift Bar


Error Message When I'm Out of Stealth and in Combat


After some testing this is what I've concluded:
  • If Out Of Combat I can enter and leave Stealth and Bars will follow correctly.
  • If in combat and in Stealth, Stealth bar works as usual, but won't Switch to Normal bar when going out of Stealth

So anyways, is there some way to tell WOW default Interface that i do want it to work, just not to be visible?

Thank you in advance
/Dzinn
  Reply With Quote
07-09-08, 10:19 AM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
It's a problem with hiding/showing secure frames in combat. Try:

Code:
MainMenuBar:SetAlpha(0)
This will make it invisible. If you don't want to accidentally click a button while it's invisible (I think you can still do that...) then do:

Code:
MainMenuBar:EnableMouse(false)
I think that might work....
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
07-10-08, 05:22 AM   #3
Dzinn
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thank you most kindly

Edit 2008-07-10 at 01:56 PM.:

This is the working code atm:

Code:
MainMenuBarArtFrame:Hide()
MainMenuBar:SetAlpha(0)
MainMenuBar:EnableMouse(false)
Again Seerah, thank you!

Edit 2008-07-11:

It Became and addon! (a very noobish one, but it does the trick)

Hide.toc
Code:
## Interface: 20400
## Title: Hide
## Notes: Removes Blizzard Default UI Main Bar & Player Frames
## Author: Dzinn of Twilight's Hammer (EU)

Hide.lua
Hide.xml

Hide.lua - added some extra commands to get a "clean" UI
Code:
	MainMenuBarArtFrame:Hide()
	MainMenuBar:SetAlpha(0)
	MainMenuBar:EnableMouse(false)
	PlayerFrame:Hide()
	TargetFrame:Hide()
	HidePartyFrame()

Hide.xml - Is it even needed?
Code:
<Ui xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/
..\FrameXML\UI.xsd">

<Script file="Hide.lua"/>

</Ui>
Um so as you can see it is as rough and as any first AddOn. It works, but I'm sure there's plenty of things to edit to make it a good AddOn, feedback is much appreciated.

Last edited by Dzinn : 07-11-08 at 07:40 AM. Reason: Update!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » How to use Removed Action Bars

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off