Thread Tools Display Modes
01-02-09, 09:00 AM   #401
hipjipp
A Cliff Giant
 
hipjipp's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by Alkar View Post
Question how would i go about adding Healcomm support to my layout?
You simply don't. It doesn't need any support. It finds the frames and adds itself to them. No extra code needed.
 
01-02-09, 09:32 AM   #402
Alkar
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Alkar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 195
Thank u hip
__________________
 
01-02-09, 10:54 AM   #403
Alkar
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Alkar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 195
Ok really dumb question...

How do i go about hiding partybuffs?? i'm using Lily as a base so i can learn but cant figure out how to hide party buffs..
__________________
 
01-02-09, 12:23 PM   #404
Mordog
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by Alkar View Post
Ok really dumb question...

How do i go about hiding partybuffs?? i'm using Lily as a base so i can learn but cant figure out how to hide party buffs..
i would try

Code:
self.Buffs.onlyShowPlayer = true
or

Code:
self.Buffs.filter = "HARMFUL|PLAYER"
 
01-02-09, 12:54 PM   #405
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Removing this block will kill the auras on the party frames.
 
01-03-09, 05:14 AM   #406
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
I dont see what's wrong with my castbar, it returns an error on CreateFontString but it works with the exact same arguments for my health text...

Code:
self.Castbar.Time = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Time:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Time:SetPoint("LEFT", self.Castbar, "RIGHT", 6, 0)    
self.Castbar.Time:SetJustifyH("RIGHT")
self.Castbar.Time:SetParent(self.Castbar)
        
self.Castbar.Text = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Text:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Text:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self.Castbar, "BOTTOMLEFT", -1, -4)
self.Castbar.Text:SetParent(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.Text:SetJustifyH("LEFT")
Anyone care to shed some light? I modified Neals castbar to get one working but it doesn't like my edits
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
 
01-03-09, 05:16 AM   #407
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Wimpface View Post
I dont see what's wrong with my castbar, it returns an error on CreateFontString but it works with the exact same arguments for my health text...

Code:
self.Castbar.Time = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Time:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Time:SetPoint("LEFT", self.Castbar, "RIGHT", 6, 0)    
self.Castbar.Time:SetJustifyH("RIGHT")
self.Castbar.Time:SetParent(self.Castbar)
        
self.Castbar.Text = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Text:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Text:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self.Castbar, "BOTTOMLEFT", -1, -4)
self.Castbar.Text:SetParent(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.Text:SetJustifyH("LEFT")
Anyone care to shed some light? I modified Neals castbar to get one working but it doesn't like my edits
self.Castbar:CreateFontString
 
01-03-09, 05:16 AM   #408
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by Wimpface View Post
I dont see what's wrong with my castbar, it returns an error on CreateFontString but it works with the exact same arguments for my health text...

Code:
self.Castbar.Time = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Time:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Time:SetPoint("LEFT", self.Castbar, "RIGHT", 6, 0)    
self.Castbar.Time:SetJustifyH("RIGHT")
self.Castbar.Time:SetParent(self.Castbar)
        
self.Castbar.Text = CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Text:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Text:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self.Castbar, "BOTTOMLEFT", -1, -4)
self.Castbar.Text:SetParent(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.Text:SetJustifyH("LEFT")
Anyone care to shed some light? I modified Neals castbar to get one working but it doesn't like my edits

I think it's probably getFont() clashing with the settings you put in within the CreateFontString.

Edit3lims right, i'm blind :P You probably don't need getFont() there though if you're putting in the font type within the CreateFontString.
 
01-03-09, 05:55 AM   #409
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
I think it's probably getFont() clashing with the settings you put in within the CreateFontString.

Edit3lims right, i'm blind :P You probably don't need getFont() there though if you're putting in the font type within the CreateFontString.
Weird... getFont() works for all other CreateFontStrings and they look exactly the same.

self.Castbar:CreateFontString
Really? But why should it be like that here and self.Castbar = CreateFontString in every other case?

I'll try it, thanks guys.
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
 
01-03-09, 06:10 AM   #410
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
Hmm, that didn't work..

Do you want me to pastey the whole code? I'm currently at a loss on how to do this... It just wont work.

Code:
if (unit == "player" or unit == "target") then 
self.Castbar = CreateFrame("StatusBar", nil, self)
self.Castbar:SetStatusBarTexture(texture)
self.Castbar:SetParent(self)
self.Castbar:SetHeight(10)
if (unit == "target") then
    self.Castbar:SetWidth(220)
else
    self.Castbar:SetWidth(220)
end
self.Castbar.bg = self.Castbar:CreateTexture(nil, "BACKGROUND")
self.Castbar.bg:SetTexture(texture)
self.Castbar.bg:SetAllPoints(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.bg:SetVertexColor(0, 0, 0, 0.5)
        
if (unit == "player") then
    self.Castbar:SetStatusBarColor(0.07450,0.07450,0.07450)
    self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER',oUF_Player,'CENTER',0,-175)
elseif (unit == "target") then
    self.Castbar:SetStatusBarColor(0.07450,0.07450,0.07450)
    self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER',oUF_Target,'CENTER',0,-175)
end

self.Castbar.Time:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Time:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Time:SetPoint("LEFT", self.Castbar, "RIGHT", 6, 0)    
self.Castbar.Time:SetJustifyH("RIGHT")
self.Castbar.Time:SetParent(self.Castbar)
        
self.Castbar.Text:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY','GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Text:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Text:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self.Castbar, "BOTTOMLEFT", -1, -4)
self.Castbar.Text:SetParent(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.Text:SetJustifyH("LEFT")
end
That's all there is about Castbars...

EDIT: Sorry if it's stupid, but i'm still learning
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
 
01-03-09, 06:15 AM   #411
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Wimpface View Post
Hmm, that didn't work..

Do you want me to pastey the whole code? I'm currently at a loss on how to do this... It just wont work.

Code:
if (unit == "player" or unit == "target") then 
self.Castbar = CreateFrame("StatusBar", nil, self)
self.Castbar:SetStatusBarTexture(texture)
self.Castbar:SetParent(self)
self.Castbar:SetHeight(10)
if (unit == "target") then
    self.Castbar:SetWidth(220)
else
    self.Castbar:SetWidth(220)
end
self.Castbar.bg = self.Castbar:CreateTexture(nil, "BACKGROUND")
self.Castbar.bg:SetTexture(texture)
self.Castbar.bg:SetAllPoints(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.bg:SetVertexColor(0, 0, 0, 0.5)
        
if (unit == "player") then
    self.Castbar:SetStatusBarColor(0.07450,0.07450,0.07450)
    self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER',oUF_Player,'CENTER',0,-175)
elseif (unit == "target") then
    self.Castbar:SetStatusBarColor(0.07450,0.07450,0.07450)
    self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER',oUF_Target,'CENTER',0,-175)
end

self.Castbar.Time:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Time:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Time:SetPoint("LEFT", self.Castbar, "RIGHT", 6, 0)    
self.Castbar.Time:SetJustifyH("RIGHT")
self.Castbar.Time:SetParent(self.Castbar)
        
self.Castbar.Text:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY','GameFontHighlightSmallRight')
self.Castbar.Text:SetFont(getFont())
self.Castbar.Text:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", self.Castbar, "BOTTOMLEFT", -1, -4)
self.Castbar.Text:SetParent(self.Castbar)
self.Castbar.Text:SetJustifyH("LEFT")
end
That's all there is about Castbars...

EDIT: Sorry if it's stupid, but i'm still learning
You dont get it?

local text = parent:CreateFontString(nil, 'LAYER' [,inherit])

aka

self.Castbar.Text = self.Castbar:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')

also, you have an 'if(unit == 'target') then' that produces the same as the rest.
and the mess with positions, just do 'self' as parent, it will use the right unit frame:
self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER', self, 0, -175)
 
01-03-09, 06:20 AM   #412
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
You dont get it?

local text = parent:CreateFontString(nil, 'LAYER' [,inherit])

aka

self.Castbar.Text = self.Castbar:CreateFontString(nil, 'OVERLAY', 'GameFontHighlightSmallRight')

also, you have an 'if(unit == 'target') then' that produces the same as the rest.
and the mess with positions, just do 'self' as parent, it will use the right unit frame:
self.Castbar:SetPoint('CENTER', self, 0, -175)
Oooh, thanks p3lim I think i got it now.

Thanks for all the help, appreciate it a lot

EDIT: It worked a charm, thanks p3lim
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.

Last edited by Wimpface : 01-03-09 at 06:32 AM.
 
01-03-09, 02:27 PM   #413
jadakren
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
jadakren's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 103
Originally Posted by Kellen View Post
I think ObbleYeah's confusion is similar to my own. If the error checking code suggested earlier reports a problem with an event that wasn't explicitly registered in my layout (or any layout), why is that an error? I realize that a missing handler is the problem, but if I didn't register it, why is it triggering?

For me it seems to be UNIT_AURA fired from 'player'. But I don't have anything to that effect in my layout. Is the answer to make a noop handler for it?
Haste is right, there is something wrong with another mod/plugin...

From my experiements it seems to be DebuffHighlight.

I include it in my layout and during raids the error you mention comes through at a rate of about 200-500 a second. fairly crazy.

taking out debuffHighlight and i dont get these errors anymore.

I have since looked at the use of the tags as I have seen from TekHub and created some for UNIT_AURA.

Keeping in mind that there is still alot of work to be done, have a look here : http://pastey.net/105491

the result is something that resembles grid. however some workable border highlights when the four types of debuffs occure would be good.

if you have a look I am creating aura triggers for things like Hymn of Hope, Improved Holy Concentration etc etc ... and to this end I guess that i could drop in a symbols based ttf file and use that for some better looking visual cues instead of * # ~ and other generic ascii characters.

Last edited by jadakren : 01-03-09 at 02:40 PM.
 
01-03-09, 09:27 PM   #414
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Alkar View Post
Question how would i go about adding Healcomm support to my layout?
Originally Posted by hipjipp View Post
You simply don't. It doesn't need any support. It finds the frames and adds itself to them. No extra code needed.
That actually depends on what he means by "Healcomm". If he means the plugin "oUF_HealComm" then that is correct, although there are several options he can configure from within his layout. If he means the library "LibHealComm-3.0", then that is wrong, and he either needs to use one of the several existing plugins (oUF_HealComm, oUF_IncomingHeals, oUF_HealEstimation, oUF_HealingFeedback, etc) or write his own code to duplicate their functionality.
 
01-04-09, 07:42 AM   #415
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by jadakren View Post
Haste is right, there is something wrong with another mod/plugin...

From my experiements it seems to be DebuffHighlight.

I include it in my layout and during raids the error you mention comes through at a rate of about 200-500 a second. fairly crazy.

taking out debuffHighlight and i dont get these errors anymore.

I have since looked at the use of the tags as I have seen from TekHub and created some for UNIT_AURA.

Keeping in mind that there is still alot of work to be done, have a look here : http://pastey.net/105491

the result is something that resembles grid. however some workable border highlights when the four types of debuffs occure would be good.

if you have a look I am creating aura triggers for things like Hymn of Hope, Improved Holy Concentration etc etc ... and to this end I guess that i could drop in a symbols based ttf file and use that for some better looking visual cues instead of * # ~ and other generic ascii characters.
This is interesting. I've also been playing with Tekkubs aura tags, but not to such an extent as you. I'l test these out.
 
01-05-09, 04:18 PM   #416
Penthouse36
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
I'm having a lot of troubles spawning raidpets in my layout (they don't appear)... I was hoping someone could point out what I'm doing wrong...

I spawn my raidframes like this :
Code:
local raid5 = oUF:Spawn("header", "oUF_Raid5")
raid5:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", raid4, "TOPRIGHT", raidoffsetX, 0)
raid5:SetAttribute("showParty", true)
raid5:SetManyAttributes(
		"showRaid", true,
		"groupFilter", 5,
		"yOffset", -raidoffsetY
	)
raid5:Show()
And the best I can come up with for raidpets is:

Code:
local raid5pet = oUF:Spawn("header", "oUF_Raid5Pet", true)
raid5pet:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", raid5, "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0)
raid5pet:SetManyAttributes(
		"groupFilter", 5,
		"yOffset", -raidoffsetY
	)
raid5pet:Show()
I have also tried using tables but that didn't work either. Could anyone point me in the right direction? It's hard to find working examples of layouts with raidpets at this point...
 
01-05-09, 05:12 PM   #417
Luzzifus
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Luzzifus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 94
Originally Posted by Mordog View Post
Take a look at Nivaya's Layout, he has raidframes for healers and another for DDs. I think that would be a good startingpoint for testing.
What I am doing is building two completely different raid layouts. My layout then decides which one to use based on the rules you set (e.g. character name or class). However, this happens only once: when the layout is being loaded. Switching based on raid size would probably take some heavy modifications, I'm not even sure if it is possible to re-spawn the raid headers without /reloadui.

I have been messing around with a key binding to switch between healer- and dd-layout on-the-fly, but I haven't been successful, that's why I built that rule thingy.

More over this, I'm also having that issue with ouf.lua:94, I'm gonna test if it persists through disabling ouf_debuffhighlight since I can't figure out any other error in my code.
 
01-06-09, 05:01 AM   #418
Freebaser
A Molten Kobold Bandit
 
Freebaser's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 135
Is it possible to have castbar timers to countdown to 0?
 
01-06-09, 05:37 AM   #419
Quokka
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Quokka's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 196
Had a strange thing with my raidnames, after merging the code into one file. I fixed that.

But ever since after doing that, I have HP (pets / raid / Vehircles not updating corect & not updating at all.

Complete layout code, I can't find the error myself
http://www.pastey.net/105587

Last edited by Quokka : 01-06-09 at 09:31 AM.
 
01-06-09, 10:03 AM   #420
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Originally Posted by Penthouse36 View Post
I'm having a lot of troubles spawning raidpets in my layout (they don't appear)... I was hoping someone could point out what I'm doing wrong...

I spawn my raidframes like this :
Code:
local raid5 = oUF:Spawn("header", "oUF_Raid5")
raid5:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", raid4, "TOPRIGHT", raidoffsetX, 0)
raid5:SetAttribute("showParty", true)
raid5:SetManyAttributes(
		"showRaid", true,
		"groupFilter", 5,
		"yOffset", -raidoffsetY
	)
raid5:Show()
And the best I can come up with for raidpets is:

Code:
local raid5pet = oUF:Spawn("header", "oUF_Raid5Pet", true)
raid5pet:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", raid5, "TOPRIGHT", 0, 0)
raid5pet:SetManyAttributes(
		"groupFilter", 5,
		"yOffset", -raidoffsetY
	)
raid5pet:Show()
I have also tried using tables but that didn't work either. Could anyone point me in the right direction? It's hard to find working examples of layouts with raidpets at this point...
Explained in this post.
Originally Posted by Freebaser View Post
Is it possible to have castbar timers to countdown to 0?
You can do it with self:CustomDelayText() and self:CustomTimeText()
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » oUF - Layout discussion


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off