04-15-15, 04:36 PM   #1
tobias1919
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Addon version check?

Hello! I'll start by saying, that i'm very new to writing addons, and programming in general...

I see some addons giving an in-game message when a new version is available...
How is this done? I've tried googling various stuff, but doesn't seem to come up with anything worth mentioning...
04-15-15, 04:40 PM   #2
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
SendAddonMessage
04-15-15, 09:53 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer

WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
To expand upon what Drizdt said, the addons will talk with each other over the addon message channel to ask for the addon version. If a user updates to a new version and that version doesn't match that returned by the other copies of the addon, they will know that it is newer (if the number is bigger, of course).

Now... There are only a select few of addons that where users having the latest version is in their best interests. If you don't have a really, really, really good reason for this, then don't put it in your addon.
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

04-16-15, 12:44 AM   #4
Phanx
Cat.

Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
If you don't have a really, really, really good reason for this, then don't put it in your addon.
This x1000. It's incredibly annoying to download something simple, and later have it spam you with "OMG YOUR ADDON IS OUT OF DATE!!!!!" warnings for no good reason. Other than major patches, I only run the Curse Client to check for addon updates about once a month. An addon spamming me about unnecessary updates isn't going to make me go update immediately. It's just going to make me uninstall the addon.