Thread Tools Display Modes
07-04-14, 10:18 AM   #1
emiaee
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 18
Addon to just rename bags?

Hello

I could not find any working CT_BagMod like addon so I have to ask here.

I just want to rename my bags by clicking on them like CT_BagMod used to do, is there any standalone addon that does that?

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
07-04-14, 04:54 PM   #2
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by emiaee View Post
Hello

I could not find any working CT_BagMod like addon so I have to ask here.

I just want to rename my bags by clicking on them like CT_BagMod used to do, is there any standalone addon that does that?

Thank you!
not that I'm aware of but I doubt the api calls to rename the bags have changed much so it's probably still possible
__________________
Tweets YouTube Website
  Reply With Quote
07-06-14, 11:06 AM   #3
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,240
All the CT_ AddOns were moved to their home page years ago. The authors choose not to have their suite hosted on either Curse or WowInterface.

http://www.ctmod.net
  Reply With Quote
07-07-14, 09:25 AM   #4
def9
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
def9's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 219
ct_mod has been on the curse site since January.. I'd guess the author rewards system may have enticed them to allow it there.

http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/ctmod
__________________
Epiria, level 100 Ret/Holy Paladin
Simkin level 100 Combat Rogue
Feldeemus, level 100 Arcane Mage
  Reply With Quote
07-08-14, 09:23 AM   #5
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
This is just hardcoded, but here you go updated for 5.4:

https://github.com/Resike/CT_BagMod

Last edited by Resike : 07-10-14 at 07:45 AM. Reason: Sorry, but had to remove the mediafire download, as per site rules --Seerah, It's ok i was lazy to create a repo for this.
  Reply With Quote
07-08-14, 09:25 AM   #6
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by def9 View Post
ct_mod has been on the curse site since January.. I'd guess the author rewards system may have enticed them to allow it there.

http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/ctmod
Actually from what i know curse asked them to remove their addons, because their servers couldn't handle the 2 millions download per month back then. But yeah now it's back on curse and maintained by me.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 07:46 AM   #7
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Link fixed.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 08:54 AM   #8
Rainrider
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 454
getglobal? Hasn't this been looked at for the last 6.5 years?
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 10:28 AM   #9
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,196
Indeed.

You should replace:

Lua Code:
  1. getglobal(X)
with

Lua Code:
  1. _G[X]
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of NPCScan and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 11:25 AM   #10
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Rainrider View Post
getglobal? Hasn't this been looked at for the last 6.5 years?
The last official version I could find was released in 2006, and was still using RegisterForSave, so I'd say the answer to your question is a resounding no.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 02:43 PM   #11
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
Indeed.

You should replace:

Lua Code:
  1. getglobal(X)
with

Lua Code:
  1. _G[X]
Well i just spend around 45 seconds to make it work. But yeah, i'll do it when it's gonna be a release.
Getglobal is still usable and working so i'm not sure whats the hype about it.

Last edited by Resike : 07-10-14 at 04:03 PM.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 03:16 PM   #12
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,877
Double handling, getglobal(x) will essentially just return _G[x] so every addon that uses getglobal is just adding unneccesary processing cycles
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 04:31 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Plus, it was deprecated long, long (YEARS) ago. I'm surprised it's still in the game.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
07-10-14, 04:54 PM   #14
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
getglobal(x) doesn't just essentially return _G[x] -- it literally does that:

Code:
function getglobal(varr)
  return _G[varr];
end
It's defined in FrameXML/UIParent.lua. There is absolutely no reason to ever use getglobal in actively maintained or newly written code. The only excuse for it to be used anywhere would be in ancient code that still works but is not being maintained by anyone.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Addon to just rename bags?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off