Quantcast {Feedback} - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-17-14, 11:08 AM   #1
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
{Feedback}

I love it so far. I will not lie I have wanted for a long time to replace or at least reduce the amount of usage the Curse Client gets. I hate adds really I do and to have to pay Curse to turn off adds I personally think is unethical! With that being said!!! Some of these I have seen in the forums, but I would just like to summarize!

1. Sorting. No way to sort my needed add-ons to the top!
2. Multiple WoW installs showing up and they are all named the same. I went in an deleted all the addons listed under the PTR and both are still showing the same number so I do not understand where the second one is coming from. Suggestion ... Let Minion name the instals based upon the folder name.
3.Conflicting version numbers! I can literally load up minion and click update all then load up the curse client and re-download everything. Can anybody explain how this is working and why?

I in no way want it to look or even act like the curse client. I hate that thing, but I still have to run bth for the time being.

Thank You so much for this great addition to the site!
  Reply With Quote
10-19-14, 09:00 PM   #2
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,169
Hi PeterGunn,

Thanks for your feedback.

1. Its a feature we are working on and is being requested a lot. We have given it more priority because of all these requests.

2. We are working on a way for you to rename your detected games. You can see the path of the detected game by going to the options tab in Minion so you can see where its being detected.

3. I'm sorry, not sure I understand what your trying to explain here?
  Reply With Quote
10-19-14, 09:48 PM   #3
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Originally Posted by PeterGunn View Post
3.Conflicting version numbers! I can literally load up minion and click update all then load up the curse client and re-download everything. Can anybody explain how this is working and why?
As far as I know, Minion detects installed versions by looking in the addon's TOC file. For example, if you open up Bartender4.toc in Notepad you can find:

Code:
## Version: 4.6.2
Then it checks that against the version number on the addon's WoWInterface download page. For example, on the Bartender4 download page, you see:

Version: 4.6.2
Since "4.6.2" and "4.6.2" are the same, Minion knows that Bartender4 is up to date. If you update the addon outside of Minion, you won't confuse Minion, because it just looks in the TOC and finds which version you've updated to.

Unfortunately, Minion's version detection is (currently) very literal. If a TOC says "27" but the addon author wrote "r27" or "v27" in the box on the download page, Minion can't tell that those are the same thing.

Minion also can't tell when one number is bigger or smaller than the other, so if you got version "4.6.2" of an addon from Curse, but the author is lazy and hasn't updated their WoWI page since version "4.5.1", Minion will tell you to update.

Finally, if you've configured the Curse Client to install alpha versions, you'll get version strings like "r458" and "g5d66af1" which typically correspond with SVN revision numbers or Git commit hashes (those are popular version-control systems for developers). Even if Minion knew how numbers work, it wouldn't be able to tell whether "r458" (an alpha version) was newer or older than "3.5" (a release version), so it will always tell you to update these addons. The Curse Client knows which of those is newer because they're both in its database with dates and times, but Minion doesn't look at Curse release dates.

---------------

On the other hand, the Curse Client seems to maintain some kind of internal cache of versions, and is generally very bad at detecting any installations or updates it didn't do itself. If you install a new addon, it will detect that, and even check the TOC for a version, but then it will insist you reinstall the addon even if it matches the current version on Curse. If you update an addon outside of the Curse Client, it will flag the addon as either "out of date" or "modified" -- it seems to be random which status it picks -- and try to get you to reinstall it from Curse.

---------------

I'm not currently using Minion, because the text is just too small with too little contrast for me to reasonably read, and there are more important issues for them to work on than making the text accessible to users with poor eyesight right now, but during the brief period where I was using both, it seemed to work best to run the Curse Client first, let it update, and then just ignore any suggested updates in Minion for addons that Curse had just updated.

Alternatively, you could tell the Curse Client to ignore addons that are updated on WoWInterface.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
01-06-15, 10:44 AM   #4
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Thanks Dolby & Phanx!! I think that took care of the question. I want to do away with Curse Client altogether at some point. I tried Wowmatrix at some point in my life and it REALLY gets things confused and I read another article here about that and I am not bringing that conversation here! So only curse and minion with the hope to eventually upgrade to just Minion at some point. Oh Phanx has your profile picture been eating a little more Kibble than normal he seems a little larger than in the past! lol j/k j/k Thanks for the answer!!!!
  Reply With Quote
01-07-15, 03:00 AM   #5
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Originally Posted by PeterGunn View Post
Oh Phanx has your profile picture been eating a little more Kibble than normal he seems a little larger than in the past! lol j/k j/k Thanks for the answer!!!!
Haha. Well, based on that cat's expression I'd assume it had been enjoying a bit too much catnip, which may lead to the munchies and increased kibble consumption so...
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
02-03-15, 10:18 AM   #6
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Newest Renditition of Minion

Sometimes I think I talk to much, but okay here we go. The newest update to minion is completely useless to me. I have not tried it on the other PC yet and will not be able to until later today. There are no errors at all. When it tries to update it looks as if the update gets to 99% and just stops cold in its tracks. I let it sit there for 10 minutes just too see if it would free up and it did not. I am also running it in administrator and on Windows 8 if that helps. I see so many nice new features, but I still do not see the ones that need downloaded to the top. Was that added and I missed it some how? Everything installed and works perfect up until you try to update! Thanks for the hard work I am still looking forward to removing the curse client from my PC!!!
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (37.7 KB, 102 views)

Last edited by PeterGunn : 02-03-15 at 10:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-03-15, 10:46 AM   #7
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,169
Looks like there was an issue with the GTFO AddOn in our database that was causing Minion to pause the install (md5sum mismatch). We have fixed the issue and it should be live in about 15min when the cache expires. You'll just need to restart Minion.

We still have the updates on top sorting features in our ticket system and its towards the top. Upgrading Minion to java8 took a ton of time but now that we finished it feature updates should come much quicker.

Last edited by Dolby : 02-03-15 at 10:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-03-15, 02:49 PM   #8
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Looks like there was an issue with the GTFO AddOn in our database that was causing Minion to pause the install (md5sum mismatch). We have fixed the issue and it should be live in about 15min when the cache expires. You'll just need to restart Minion.

We still have the updates on top sorting features in our ticket system and its towards the top. Upgrading Minion to java8 took a ton of time but now that we finished it feature updates should come much quicker.
Thanks Dolby!
  Reply With Quote
02-03-15, 03:05 PM   #9
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Might have been to quick!

I may have said thanks to quickly. Just pointing this out. May or may not be an issue and I realize this is in beta so yes bugs may be present I am just trying to present them! I loaded it up again and got the correct look. As I scroll through you notice updating yet there was only one that needed the update. I went ahead and clicked update all and it worked correctly. The version numbers were missing, but the bars for them were there then it freezes up with what you see in the attached jpg.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Minion Error.JPG
Views:	154
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	8462  
Attached Files
File Type: log minion0.log (36.7 KB, 114 views)
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » {Feedback}

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off