Quantcast Cannot quit - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-09-15, 08:50 PM   #1
Cralor
Mmm... cookies!!!
 
Cralor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 772
Cannot quit

Mac, Yosemite...

You cannot "Quit" (Command Q) appropriately.

I have to go into the Activity Monitor and Force Quit.

Thank you!
__________________
Never be satisfied with satisfactory.
  Reply With Quote
02-10-15, 09:33 AM   #2
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,169
Just curious, What if you use the X in the upper right hand corner? Does that work?
  Reply With Quote
02-10-15, 02:22 PM   #3
ccox
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
This is the old Macintosh issue that got fixed, then rebroken and never re-fixed.
Yes, the X works (but why would anyone think that exits the application?).
But Quit from the menu, shortcut key, dock menu, etc. do not work.
  Reply With Quote
02-11-15, 09:06 AM   #4
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Originally Posted by ccox View Post
Yes, the X works (but why would anyone think that exits the application?).
Because Windows. All mac users I know don't even know how to quit an application just leave everything running x)
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
02-11-15, 10:56 AM   #5
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,176
Originally Posted by Tonyleila View Post
Because Windows. All mac users I know don't even know how to quit an application just leave everything running x)
...I know no Mac users like this. Then again, I know a bunch of tech people...
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of Revelation, Spamalyzer, TravelAgent, Volumizer, and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote
02-11-15, 11:10 AM   #6
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
...I know no Mac users like this. Then again, I know a bunch of tech people...
Yes I guess its because I know many "Designes" from my study damn hipsters
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________
  Reply With Quote
02-13-15, 01:22 AM   #7
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 789
I often help out colleagues, friends, e.g. people that have "apps" running and often I find tons of idle apps not turned off in the background - because it's usually not something one thinks about having to do. Most press menu to get out and leave it running - draining battery in the background.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
  Reply With Quote
02-14-15, 12:11 AM   #8
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 566
I close my apps with "sudo pkill" cause I'm a Linux rockin command line pro!

Course I'm pretty sure minion doesn't run on Linux but I haven't tried it either.
  Reply With Quote
02-14-15, 04:23 AM   #9
Zyonin
Coffee powered Kaldorei
 
Zyonin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,440
Originally Posted by 10leej View Post
I close my apps with "sudo pkill" cause I'm a Linux rockin command line pro!

Course I'm pretty sure minion doesn't run on Linux but I haven't tried it either.
Maybe if you try it WINE, it will run. Not sure if if will run natively though given the folder (the old .name folder name) structure and since it written using JRE I would not be surprised if did.
__________________
LiveJournal | Twitter

  Reply With Quote
02-14-15, 05:44 PM   #10
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,169
Originally Posted by 10leej View Post
I close my apps with "sudo pkill" cause I'm a Linux rockin command line pro!

Course I'm pretty sure minion doesn't run on Linux but I haven't tried it either.
If you grab the app directory from the exe or the java directory from the dmg and run Minion-jfx.jar with the lib folder in a subdirectory it should run from Linux. It requires Java8 if you run it that way.

Re-opened the bug ticket for this, your right it was fixed for awhile (back when Minion was Java7) and I'm guessing in Java8 things changed again because the fix was kind of a hack. Also a lot of areas were re-worked/re-written and it might have been reintroduced then.

Last edited by Dolby : 02-14-15 at 05:46 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-01-15, 10:08 PM   #11
Cralor
Mmm... cookies!!!
 
Cralor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 772
Sorry for not coming back to this sooner.

Yeah, it's pretty habitual for me at this point to Command-Q an app when I am done with it.

Minion currently hangs when doing this Specifically, window closes, but process continues.

Thanks!!
__________________
Never be satisfied with satisfactory.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Cannot quit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off