Quantcast ICEHUD being reported incorrectly! - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
02-12-15, 11:26 PM   #1
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
ICEHUD being reported incorrectly!

Please see my post in the authors addon page at http://www.wowinterface.com/download...=8149#comments

The following is a qoute from that post to save you some clicks.

did a little snooping and just looked for other addons with HUD in the title and found http://www.wowinterface.com/download...ditsGuile.html in the list. I DID not download this, but I have a suspicion that may warrant the owner looking into. I think the New Minion incarnation may have added this with an update. If you look in the ICE hud folder the name BanditsGuile is in there. I unfortunately did not delete that and try it I deleted the entire Icehud directory and reinstalled it. You may be able to just delete that and fix the issue. In short the errors are GONE!!!! I use Curse and MInion and greatly want to get rid of the curse client. I would blame it on curse, but since I can't see all of Minions updates sorted to the top I just click update all addons and would think that is how BanditsGuile got added. Anyway my two cents worth!!!

The Minion client is incorrectly putting BanditsGuile as ICEHUD and causing errors. The curse clent correctly assigns and writes over the bad files. Looking over Curse however you will not even find BanditsGuile so that may partially account for the issue. When you download and open the BanditsGuile zip file it is EXACTLY the same as ICEHUD. Just throwing errors in game like crazy!
  Reply With Quote
02-12-15, 11:51 PM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,567
Originally Posted by PeterGunn View Post
When you download and open the BanditsGuile zip file it is EXACTLY the same as ICEHUD.
Yes, this is the problem. The "Bandit's Guile" addon is just a modified version of IceHUD. Even if the IceHUD author allows this kind of thing, addon sites should not, since it causes nothing but problems for everyone involved. It breaks addon updaters (as you've discovered) and it creates unnecessary confusion for addon users and authors alike when someone using the modified version starts having problems, forgets they're using a modified version (or never knew in the first place because they got it in a compilation) and asks for help from the original version's author, who then wastes time trying to track down a bug that doesn't exist, resulting in everyone being frustrated.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
02-13-15, 12:00 AM   #3
Dolby
PPAP
 
Dolby's Avatar
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,180
Hi PeterGunn, this should be fixed in about 10min (api cache needs to clear).

Sorry for the trouble.

The person will likely need to remove ICEHUD (right click on it in Minion and choose uninstall) and then re-install ICEHUD sinc their local cache has it assigned to the wrong id by now.

Last edited by Dolby : 02-13-15 at 12:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
02-14-15, 07:38 PM   #4
PeterGunn
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
Hi PeterGunn, this should be fixed in about 10min (api cache needs to clear).

Sorry for the trouble.

The person will likely need to remove ICEHUD (right click on it in Minion and choose uninstall) and then re-install ICEHUD sinc their local cache has it assigned to the wrong id by now.
No worries guy. Just trying to do my part to make Minion better!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » ICEHUD being reported incorrectly!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off