Thread Tools Display Modes
03-24-09, 09:08 PM   #1
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Help with How to MAke an Infopanel

Alright I know this should be nUI but you are the only person who knows coding enough to help ~lol~ Ok I am working on my UI and I want it to be useful, I was wondering if you knew anything to help make inforpanels? I am trying to figure out a way to use reflux to create mini profiles for UF and such but righ tnow I am not sur eif it supports this. If oyu have any ideas I would be Happy to hear. Thank YOu
~Kilth~
 
03-25-09, 04:10 AM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Are you talking about info panels like the ones that are included in nUI, or something else? If you mean the nUI info panels, that's actually a feature of nUI that I don't believe is currently available in any other mod.

The primary code for info panels as a feature is located in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Integration > nUI_InfoPanel.lua ] -- the code for implementing a single info panel against that feature engine is located in [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > InfoPanels ]
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-25-09, 04:59 PM   #3
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
THis would be for a seperate UI from nUI, and you i figured if I couldn't figure out something I should as the only person who actually uses it, However Have you ever used the addon Reflux? Probably not but I am trying to figure a way to make it where when I click on a texture (using KgPanels) It will switch the saved variables, essentially changing how it looks, If you know anything about how to do this I was wondering if you could share with me, Thank You,
Kilth
 
03-25-09, 05:06 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah... you're getting pretty deep into things there.

The easy way to do that would be to have your mod have its own shared variables sets that mirror the KgPanels sets and a button with an "OnClick" method that copies the set you want to use over the KgPanels set that's in memory and then does a console reload.

If you want to do it without doing a reload, that's another problem and would require reverse engineering KgPanels -- not something I could help you with there.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-25-09, 05:28 PM   #5
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Hmmm, Well im kinda like LOLFAIL at coding, hoever I was wondering....I could create a folder to put in the addons folder with say three sets of Saved Variables, then it would be a matter of telling kgpanels where the files are and to access them...Just spitballing ideas atm, What do you think?


Edit: going to go read up on wowwiki about saved variables, hopefully this could be a good idea.
 
03-25-09, 05:53 PM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Unfortunately, you can't tell kgPanels where to go get the file... Bliz is in control of that. You could, however, have three different files and copy them into the WTF as needed.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-25-09, 06:05 PM   #7
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Hmm... I would like to be able to do this in-game so WTF is gotta be out of the question...HMm could I make an addon (probably Couldn't myself but an idea) THat I could have three different sets of saved variables in, then in game I could Have a texxture I could click on to switch the saved variables...Not sure if this could work by the last post but Spitballing Ideas again, I would like to Make this work X(
 
03-25-09, 06:11 PM   #8
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by kilth2 View Post
Hmm... I would like to be able to do this in-game so WTF is gotta be out of the question...HMm could I make an addon (probably Couldn't myself but an idea) THat I could have three different sets of saved variables in, then in game I could Have a texxture I could click on to switch the saved variables...Not sure if this could work by the last post but Spitballing Ideas again, I would like to Make this work X(
Yes... you could make that work, and with relative ease if you can program.

Set up your first layout in kgPanels and exit the game. Copy and save the WTF file. Repeat for the second and third layout.

Now create your own mod that has it's own saved variable of which the three kgPanel sets are three sub-tables and add a button you can click. When you click the button, it copies one of your three sets over kgPanel's current set, then reloads the game. Voila, you're done.

PS: I'm heading to bed early tonight... if you post back, I'm ignoring you, I'm just making up for nearly a week of debating the fools in the WoW UI forum over the new Bliz mod rules.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-25-09, 06:17 PM   #9
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Yes... you could make that work, and with relative ease if you can program.

Set up your first layout in kgPanels and exit the game. Copy and save the WTF file. Repeat for the second and third layout.

Now create your own mod that has it's own saved variable of which the three kgPanel sets are three sub-tables and add a button you can click. When you click the button, it copies one of your three sets over kgPanel's current set, then reloads the game. Voila, you're done.

PS: I'm heading to bed early tonight... if you post back, I'm ignoring you, I'm just making up for nearly a week of debating the fools in the WoW UI forum over the new Bliz mod rules.
ALright Tyvm for your help, I will go elsewhere now that I have a good base to stand upon..
I understand you ahve had a hard week after the new policy changes, GOod Luck and MAy you live long and prosper
 
03-25-09, 06:20 PM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Ouch -- I just re-read my post... I'm *SO* sorry... I'm so tired I didn't even see the type... It was supposed to read "I am *NOT* ignoring you"

/sigh

sorry.

I'm gone to bed... feel free to keep posting and asking questions... I'm more than happy to help. I just need to get some sleep is all.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-25-09, 06:24 PM   #11
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Ouch -- I just re-read my post... I'm *SO* sorry... I'm so tired I didn't even see the type... It was supposed to read "I am *NOT* ignoring you"

/sigh

sorry.

I'm gone to bed... feel free to keep posting and asking questions... I'm more than happy to help. I just need to get some sleep is all.
Lol no problem figured that was what you meant after reading a few of your different Posts before, RIght now I am just looking up on creating an addon (did the tutorials befor ebut found them slightly confusing..Lol) I am figuring it will take a lil while but I think i can mush my wa through this.
 
03-25-09, 08:33 PM   #12
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
ok, i am working on it and i think i have a useable .toc file (lmao, of course) and for what I am thinking I will need an XML file or no? Because if i do then i have this pretty much made up (it was used as an example on some website again i know ima n00b)

Code:
<Ui xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/
..\FrameXML\UI.xsd">
	<Button name="StudUIpanel" parent="UIParent" enableMouse="true" movable="true" frameStrata="LOW">

	<Size x="100" y="40"/>

	<Anchors>
		<Anchor point="CENTER" relativePoint="CENTER" relativeTo="UIParent">
		</Anchor>
	</Anchors>


	<Backdrop bgFile="Interface\DialogFrame\UI-DialogBox-Background" edgeFile="Interface\DialogFrame\UI-DialogBox-Border" tile="true">
		<BackgroundInsets>
			<AbsInset left="11" right="12" top="12" bottom="11"/>
		</BackgroundInsets>

		<TileSize>
			<AbsValue val="32"/>
		</TileSize>
		
		<EdgeSize>
			<AbsValue val="32"/>
		</EdgeSize>
	</Backdrop>

	<Layers>
		<Layer level="OVERLAY">
			<FontString name="$parentText" inherits="GameFontNormalSmall" justifyH="CENTER" setAllPoints="true" text="StudUIPanel"/>
		</Layer>
	</Layers>


	</Button>
</Ui>

Last edited by kilth2 : 03-25-09 at 08:39 PM.
 
03-26-09, 06:27 AM   #13
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I'm at work now, so I really can't look at this right now, but I will either during lunch or when I get home this evening.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-26-09, 07:39 PM   #14
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
ok th in advance
 
03-27-09, 06:25 AM   #15
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I"m sorry I didn't get to your code last night... I collapsed after I got home and didn't wake up until 5:30 this morning. I'll take a look at it tonight.

Sorry.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
 
03-27-09, 07:59 PM   #16
kilth2
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
kilth2's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 93
np, i was to excited to get on forums, I got a SkullFlame shield for 50g when it normally goes for 500g for an alt so i was happy and content ~lol~
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Developer Chat » Help with How to MAke an Infopanel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off