Thread Tools Display Modes
08-30-17, 02:58 AM   #1
gmarco
An Onyxian Warder
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 362
patch 7.3 and artifact knowledge level

Hi all,

I made a little addon to track artifact progress.
It works fine until patch 7.3 when it stops track knowledge level (currently 41).
It shows 40

The code is:
Lua Code:
  1. kl = select(2,GetCurrencyInfo(1171))

Now I begin to think that this currency is outdated and probably it doesn't reflect the new patch content.
Anyone has some clue ?

Thanks all.
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 06:39 AM   #2
Terenna
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 105
They probably just changed to a different currency? Could try
Lua Code:
  1. for i = 1, 3000 do
  2.     local name = GetCurrencyInfo(i)
  3.     if (name and name == 'Artifact Knowledge') then
  4.         print(i)
  5.     end
  6. end

to see if any new IDs have popped up other than 1171.

Then just see if there's a hand off in game. That is, if a person is at or below 40, does it use currencyID 1171? Or do they just now use this potential new currencyID at any AK level?
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 06:52 AM   #3
lightspark
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
lightspark's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 341
Originally Posted by Terenna View Post
Then just see if there's a hand off in game. That is, if a person is at or below 40, does it use currencyID 1171? Or do they just now use this potential new currencyID at any AK level?
No one can be below AK 41 now.

I guess that the reason why they don't use currency for tracking anymore and that's why it caps at 40.
__________________

Last edited by lightspark : 08-30-17 at 06:57 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 07:50 AM   #4
gmarco
An Onyxian Warder
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 362
Thanks all for the replies.

So there should be a new function to get it from elsewhere (hopefully

Where I can begin to dig to find it ?

Thanks

P.s.
Because everyone now get the same value I think Blizzard should remove happily the knowledge level from the game
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 08:22 AM   #5
Terenna
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 105
I looked through both wowhead and wowdb databases and found these:

http://ptr.wowdb.com/spells/238562-artifact-knowledge
http://ptr.wowdb.com/spells/235765-a...ledge-research

IDK if these are relevant, but perhaps a GetSpellInfo on either of them will return the rank? Alternatively doesn't the artifact weapon UI have the information as a string? I want to say if you mouseover the amount of artifact power you've earned for the weapon it shows your artifact knowledge level. This means there should be some way to get that info from the server.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 08:30 AM   #6
lightspark
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
lightspark's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 341
Originally Posted by Terenna View Post
This means there should be some way to get that info from the server.
Ofc there's, but it's a bit PITA because it requires artefact UI to be opened, that's the reason why many used AK currency for tracking.

-- edit #1

Anyways, you basically have to do something like this:

Lua Code:
  1. ShowUIPanel(SocketInventoryItem(16)) -- shows artefact UI w/o errors
  2. local ak = C_ArtifactUI.GetArtifactKnowledgeLevel()
  3. HideUIPanel(ArtifactFrame)

But you'll obv hear typical frame opening and closing sounds.
__________________

Last edited by lightspark : 08-30-17 at 08:54 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 01:10 PM   #7
gmarco
An Onyxian Warder
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 362
Originally Posted by lightspark View Post
Ofc there's, but it's a bit PITA because it requires artefact UI to be opened, that's the reason why many used AK currency for tracking.

-- edit #1

Anyways, you basically have to do something like this:

Lua Code:
  1. ShowUIPanel(SocketInventoryItem(16)) -- shows artefact UI w/o errors
  2. local ak = C_ArtifactUI.GetArtifactKnowledgeLevel()
  3. HideUIPanel(ArtifactFrame)

But you'll obv hear typical frame opening and closing sounds.
Being AK a weekly server update, I think (please correct me if wrong), probably it should be enough to read the value at PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD or PLAYER_LOGIN and cross fingers praying the AK change will not happens during the player game session

Really thanks for yours kind replies.
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 01:21 PM   #8
gmarco
An Onyxian Warder
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 362
Reading it in this way, works ... even if it is not an elegant solution

__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 01:23 PM   #9
lightspark
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
lightspark's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 341
Originally Posted by gmarco View Post
Being AK a weekly server update, I think (please correct me if wrong), probably it should be enough to read the value at PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD or PLAYER_LOGIN and cross fingers praying the AK change will not happens during the player game session

Really thanks for yours kind replies.
Well, if you're going to check it on PEW you don't need to worry about AK changing while playing, it fires every time player sees a loading screen, unless you unregister it after 1st time. PL is a one time event though.

And yes, AK is a weekly region-wide thingy now.
__________________

Last edited by lightspark : 08-30-17 at 01:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 01:57 PM   #10
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by gmarco View Post
Reading it in this way, works ... even if it is not an elegant solution

Not to be an asshole or anything, but...
https://www.google.com/search?q=knowledge
  Reply With Quote
08-30-17, 02:16 PM   #11
gmarco
An Onyxian Warder
 
gmarco's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 362
Ehehehe

Fixed thanks
__________________
This is Unix-Land. In quiet nights, you can hear the Windows machines reboot.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » patch 7.3 and artifact knowledge level

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off