08-11-10, 09:36 AM   #1
Albie
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Importing quests from old computer?

I posted this in the Database forum, but then I realized that there are no replies to any of the threads there, so I've re-posted it here.

I'm sorry if this has been brought up before, I couldn't find it if it has.

I started playing my char on my desktop computer. At around level 50, I switched to my laptop, and I've played exclusively on my laptop ever since. I am now going through and doing all the Quest achievements and am about to start doing the old world ones (Kalimdor and Eastern Kingdoms). Is there any way I can import my quest info from my desktop to my laptop so Carbonite accurately display my quests in the old lands?

08-11-10, 09:44 AM   #2
MidgetMage55
Grinch!

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Carbonite should be able to import your quest history. The function was added a few patches ago to query the server for this information.

However if you wish to do it manually you should just have to copy the carbonite savedvariables files from one computer to the next. They are located in the WTF folder inside the wow installation folder. You are looking for carbonite.lua and carbonite.bak

Check both the account folder savedvariables and the character folders within your specific server's folder.

I think Hong Kong Phooey was a ninja AND a pirate. That was just too much awesome. - Yhor

08-11-10, 09:47 AM   #3
Albie
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Ah, thanks.. I'll have to check to see if it has already imported my quests. However, if I have to do it manually, and I copy over the files, won't that overwrite the files on my laptop that contains the quest data I've done on it?

08-11-10, 10:09 AM   #4
MidgetMage55
Grinch!

AddOn Author - Click to view addons