Quantcast New 8.0 mainbar: I can no longer change the gryphons - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-22-18, 03:04 PM   #1
Ansi
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Ansi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Exclamation New 8.0 mainbar: I can no longer change the gryphons

I can no longer replace the Mainbar gryphons with different graphics as I could before this patch.

I've been trying to figure out what happened and this is what I've got so far.

It seems like Blizzard changed the path to the graphics with 8.0 when I'm looking at this supposed copy of WoW's ui textures: https://github.com/Gethe/wow-ui-text...ve/MainMenuBar.
As far as I can see this one is new.




Surprisingly it seems to hold all the elements in 1 single image - and if that is the case, that would explain why I cannot replace any graphic (.BLP), like UI-MAINMENUBAR-DWARF, with my own anymore.


It looks like this:





So... How do I fix that? Do I have to edit the image with all those elements in it just to replace the gryphons?


I appriciate all the help I can get here. Thanks in advance.


/Ansi
__________________
twitter.com/ansirox

Last edited by Ansi : 07-23-18 at 12:12 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 03:24 AM   #2
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,706
Maybe Blizzard is using the texture atlas for the gryphons now?
The atlas references a texture file and a texcoord to grab the specific part of that texture. Like a sprite texture.

I have not looked into actionbars yet. Hopefully updating rActionBar will not be that bad. :fingerscrossed:
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW) | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 05:10 AM   #3
Kanegasi
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Kanegasi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 250
You can try replacing the texture using Lua and SetTexture or however it works. The gryphon frames are delacred as these now:

MainMenuBarArtFrame.LeftEndCap
MainMenuBarArtFrame.RightEndCap
  Reply With Quote
07-23-18, 10:44 AM   #4
Miiru
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Miiru's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 138
Originally Posted by zork View Post
Maybe Blizzard is using the texture atlas for the gryphons now?
Yes they do
__________________
◘◘ Author of MiirGui Texture Pack - [Core] [Blue] [Grey] ◘◘
  Reply With Quote
07-28-18, 07:29 AM   #5
candrid
Premium Member
 
candrid's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 58
Originally Posted by Miiru View Post
Yes they do
Sorry to re-up this thread.

Does that mean we have to do our textures in the same manner or can I just make tga like normal?
  Reply With Quote
07-28-18, 12:08 PM   #6
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,706
You should be able to use the same texture as before but this time around replacing just the texture image is not enough. You either adjust the texture sprite that is used in the atlas (if that is even possible) or you need to reset the texture of each gryphon to the old one.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW) | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
  Reply With Quote
07-30-18, 01:06 AM   #7
Ansi
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Ansi's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by zork View Post
You should be able to use the same texture as before but this time around replacing just the texture image is not enough. You either adjust the texture sprite that is used in the atlas (if that is even possible) or you need to reset the texture of each gryphon to the old one.
Complicated! Thanks, Zork, and everyone else.
__________________
twitter.com/ansirox
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » New 8.0 mainbar: I can no longer change the gryphons

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off