Thread Tools Display Modes
11-19-10, 12:16 PM   #1
Tobbe8716
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Tobbe8716's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Raid problem

Im having this odd problem with the raidframes (and party using them for both). When I join a raid sometimes or someone new joins they may create a double of the previous player like this, mostly a player clones me but it happens to other players to. It goes away and the right name appear if I reload or just take up fullscreen map ...



Btw hovering arp with 35k with is a mage in this case as you see on the tt and not a double me :P

EDIT: It came with the patch, didnt happen before
__________________
Arp UI oUF_Arp
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 02:36 PM   #2
Monolit
A Black Drake
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 81
I also noticed that problem lately. That usually happens only when some player is d/c out of range or something like that. For some reason tags with 'UNIT_HEALTH' and 'UNIT_NAME_UPDATE' events do not properly update.

It's pretty easy to fix though, just force frequent update on the text region with that tag, e.g.: n.frequentUpdates = 0.5 (0.5 should be enough and not too much to affect unit frames' performance)

I guess it's not the best way (sort of hackish) to do this performance wise, but so far it's the only one I managed to figure out to get rid of that weird behavior.

EDIT: or wait actually never mind ^^
just noticed another topic about this issue:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=36869

so I guess updating TagEvents to 'UNIT_NAME_UPDATE UNIT_CONNECTION' should help

Last edited by Monolit : 11-19-10 at 03:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 03:16 PM   #3
Tobbe8716
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Tobbe8716's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
seems to be working to early to tell anyways ty!
__________________
Arp UI oUF_Arp
  Reply With Quote
11-19-10, 03:41 PM   #4
Tobbe8716
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Tobbe8716's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
or not... tho its seems to maybe be tag related, gonna check them over tomorrow.
__________________
Arp UI oUF_Arp
  Reply With Quote
11-20-10, 08:08 AM   #5
Tobbe8716
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Tobbe8716's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Solved it I think

It was the "Tag" if you call it that on the raid.
Code:
"oUF_Raid", nil, 'custom  [group:party,nogroup:raid40] show;hide',
Replaced it with
Code:
'oUF_Raid', nil, 'solo,party,raid,raid10,raid25,raid40'
works fine atm
__________________
Arp UI oUF_Arp

Last edited by Tobbe8716 : 11-20-10 at 10:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
11-20-10, 08:22 AM   #6
Aftermathhqt
A Molten Giant
 
Aftermathhqt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 784
Going to try it, but i have the same problem with party also
  Reply With Quote
11-20-10, 09:13 AM   #7
Toran
A Nerdscale Dorkin
 
Toran's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 143
Ooh this is helpful. Noticed the same thing, will try.
  Reply With Quote
11-20-10, 01:25 PM   #8
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,740
Hmm but doing solo will give you group in raid groups where you are solo in that group. Which is really bad if you have different party and raid layout and only want to have one of them at a time appear.

I think this is a bug. You get this in party aswell when at the end of a dungeon. People leave the instance. You had 5 people in the group. 3 leave. The one that stays does not get changed properly. Unitframes state him as Paladin ABC but he is Hunter XYZ. Normally you would catch that by adding "PARTY_MEMBERS_CHANGED" and "RAID_ROSTER_CHANGED" event to tags. But they provide no "unit" as an argument afaik. So not sure if you can add those to the tags. Bad.

http://wowprogramming.com/docs/event...EMBERS_CHANGED
http://wowprogramming.com/docs/event..._ROSTER_UPDATE

If there is any possibility of adding those to the tag event list I think we can fix that.

I for myself only have "party" in the visibility argument for my party header spawn and "raid" for my raid header spawn. I think the unitID and updates correctly. Because once you have hover the unit and the tooltip is correct. I think it's just the tag not getting activated.

What I think is the bug is that UNIT_NAME_UPDATE doesn't get fired. If that one would be activated the unitname would update correctly.

http://wowprogramming.com/docs/events/UNIT_NAME_UPDATE

Workaround that could work is registering the roster_update and the party_members_changed to the header unit self objects and once they get fired call the specific tag with self.unit. That may work.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW)

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 11-20-10 at 01:44 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » Raid problem


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off