Quantcast Having trouble installing addons? - Page 3 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-31-08, 06:30 AM   #41
Typhanie0483
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
not able to get add ons

I am making sure that I go through C:/Programs Files/WOW/interface/addons. Once I have the add on up I clicked open and put it in the file. Then I seen the forum that said to save instead. I have done it both ways and I am still not getting the add on button in WOW. I have been trying to get addons since new patch. Can someone please help?
  Reply With Quote
07-31-08, 07:04 AM   #42
tophero21
A Cliff Giant
 
tophero21's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 71
geez, this is a mess, and not what I think Seerah was intending when starting the thread...

anyway, to make this easier I actually went to the auctioneer page and grabbed the zip file, so we will start from there.

1. take the .zip file and copy-paste it into your c:/program files/world of warcraft/interface/addons folder (or re-download and save it there directly).

2. right click on the .zip file and choose to "Extract here", either from the 7zip, Winzip, or Winrar options

3. the following folders should appear:
!Swatter
Auc-Advanced
Auc-Filter-Basic
Auc-ScanData
Auc-Stat-Classic
Auc-Stat-Purchased
Auc-Stat-Simple
Auc-Stat-StdDev
BeanCounter
BtmScan
Enchantrix
Enchantrix-Barker
EnhTooltip
Informant
Stubby

4. fire up WoW, addons button should show up with each of the above listed
  Reply With Quote
07-31-08, 10:02 AM   #43
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
Thank you, Topher.

Yes, a new folder is being created for tiph49, as they had already mentioned the folder name and was already told what was wrong and how to fix it. If you still have troubles, tiph49, please look at the FAQ with the screenshots and/or watch the video.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
08-01-08, 11:10 AM   #44
snowdancer7
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Exclamation

I seem to be getting an "Internal Error" during the backup process when trying to install an addon through the UI Manager.

I have created the "Interface/AddOns" directoies and placed my extracted addon files in there (QuestHelper, to be specific). I was not getting an Add On button, so went to try the UI Manager Then I go to register it in the UI Manager, enter the ID from the URL (which is actually a forum topic; how else do I get it?), and follow the steps in the interface. However, when it begins the update, it comes up with an Internal Error almost immediately.

Please tell me these addons are worth all this!
  Reply With Quote
09-30-08, 09:09 AM   #45
tiph49
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Smile Thanks!

Thanks for the help, guys!
I was able to get the files working after using winzip. The Auctionerr Add-On still didn't work but I'm using QuestHelper which works great! Thanks for putting in the effort!
  Reply With Quote
10-17-08, 09:26 AM   #46
pawprint45
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Auctioneer

I downloaded the updated version of auctioneer. It doesn't have an auctioneer folder like the old version or at least it didn't download as part of the zip file. I have not been able to get the suite to work at all, even though I deleted the old auctioneer before installing the latest version. It's installed to my interface/addons folder like the rest of my addons. Any suggestions?
  Reply With Quote
10-17-08, 10:25 AM   #47
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
First, please don't double-post.

Second, did you ensure that you have it installed correctly, ie, no folder-in-folder syndrome? There should be several folders for Auctioneer and its dependencies. Unless you mean something else by "it does not work" which is vague?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-17-08, 11:22 AM   #48
pawprint45
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
The addon is in my worldofwarcraft/interface/addons folder, just like my other addons. My auctioneer folder is red (showing out of date at addons button on character screen) but the rest of the auctioneer-related files are fine. Only the 3 tabs from Blizzard are showing when I'm at AH. Tooltip isn't working. I don't get the auctioneer loaded message when I log into game on my character. Any ideas? It's the latest version.
  Reply With Quote
10-17-08, 12:46 PM   #49
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
Did you click load out of date addons?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-19-08, 03:27 PM   #50
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Unhappy

I also have trouble installing Auctioneer Suite.

I've done all the steps installed the same way as every other addon.
(I use Qhelper, Lightheaded and Tom Tom) But i didn't get it to work.

Since i am an Vista user, i disabled UAC, Moved the Wow folder to C:\Games\World of warcraft. I even tried to set authentication to the highest (wich i didn't have to do because UAC is turned off)

This is how it is;



There is nothing wrong here is it? so why isn't it working??

Edit;

Forgot to mention that the addon doesn't appear under the addon button, so there isn't anything to check off. While Qhelper, LH and tom tom are there

Last edited by talisen82 : 10-19-08 at 03:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote
10-19-08, 03:55 PM   #51
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
We need to see where your .toc file is. Also, do you only have one install of wow? Is your launcher/shortcut pointed to the correct directory, if you have two copies?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-19-08, 06:07 PM   #52
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
ok you lost me at .toc I dont recognize this extension

I only have one copy of the wow file and just replaced it from program files to c:\games (i created this path) I did this after i tried everything i could while it was in program files.

Normaly this should work but it doesn't, weirdly enough.

So the question is where can i find the .toc file so i can show it.
  Reply With Quote
10-19-08, 06:42 PM   #53
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
Inside the addon's folder. Screenshots are in the FAQ here: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/f..._howto_install
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-20-08, 04:09 AM   #54
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Question

According to the screenshots, i've done this correctly.

Here is how it is, this example is the same for every folder;



Really i don't understand what wrong. Could it be the Auctioneer suite itself?
  Reply With Quote
10-20-08, 09:27 AM   #55
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
Are you getting any errors? Make sure that you aren't hiding lua errors in your Interface Options.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-20-08, 09:34 AM   #56
Evolution85
A Black Drake
 
Evolution85's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 83
Great post Seerah! Guide is very nicely done!
  Reply With Quote
10-20-08, 02:46 PM   #57
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Are you getting any errors? Make sure that you aren't hiding lua errors in your Interface Options.
No errors. Auctioneer suite isn't even under the add-on tab. not Ingame in the interface or on the char select page. So its safe to say Auctioneer suite isn't even being loaded into WoW.

Btw I appreciate you taking the time to help me

Do you know of a different mirror to download the zipfile? If you do than i'll try that first.

Last edited by talisen82 : 10-20-08 at 02:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-13-08, 12:44 PM   #58
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
AddOn button is gone

Hey guys,

WOTLK messed up my addon options as in there are none!!

The addon button disappeared.

Here are the steps i followed to get it back.

I removed all the folders inside the addon folder and downloaded all of the files again through wow interface. That is; Questhelper, Tom Tom and lightheaded.

Normaly i would have to check the "load out of date data" box but i don't get an addon button on the char select page.

PLZ help me
  Reply With Quote
11-13-08, 01:34 PM   #59
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,486
Did you double-check that they were extracted correctly?

Post the file path to LightHeaded.toc
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
11-14-08, 07:41 AM   #60
talisen82
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Extracted correctly, but i think it is a Vista problem. Where could i send an patch request if neccecary?
On my brothers pc it works with XP.

Here is the path to lightheaded.toc



BTW; Would Wow Work on LINUX?? Than i could install it on my PS3.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Having trouble installing addons?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off