Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-09-08, 07:14 AM   #61
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
Hehe, the tag system on git is incomplete. It currently doesn't do OnShow updating, and it's API is not set in stone yet.

To use the new tag system you currently have to do:
self:Tag(self.Name, '[name]') -- after that oUF will handle all updating.

But! Tags currently don't update during the "full" update oUF does when a unit changes on a frame, or a frame is shown. You could ofc handle this yourself and run: self.Name:UpdateTag(), but that's pretty hackish, and the gain isn't that large.

So what I would recommend to do is just wait for 1.3 to be released. There are a couple of larger changes that I want to push into the release first however. And there will probably be a 'incompatibilities with 1.2' guide before that also.

The easiest route is usually just to stick with the stable releases. Or at least wait until I update my own layouts to work with current git.

(haha, guess who forgot to click submit reply!)
haste is offline  
Unread 11-09-08, 07:39 AM   #62
MoonWitch
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 342
LOL

I've cooled off now too Just reverted to the previous version (did that with my layout too) and it's ok. Ya know, since I started working tech support, my patience sure is stretched thin lol. Sorry, ya got the brunt of it there. Still love you
MoonWitch is offline  
Unread 11-09-08, 09:42 AM   #63
dafire
Premium Member
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Moon.. you don't have to update your layout or oUF whenever it updates.. I don't use any tags (old or new) in my layout yet :9
dafire is offline  
Unread 11-09-08, 10:19 AM   #64
MoonWitch
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 342
Originally Posted by dafire View Post
Moon.. you don't have to update your layout or oUF whenever it updates.. I don't use any tags (old or new) in my layout yet :9
I know, the issue was that haste removed the .Name and by doing that, I lost the ability to color the names (and shorten the str.len)
MoonWitch is offline  
Unread 11-09-08, 05:23 PM   #65
dafire
Premium Member
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Originally Posted by MoonWitch View Post
I know, the issue was that haste removed the .Name and by doing that, I lost the ability to color the names (and shorten the str.len)
yes.. but why did you update oUF in the first place ?
dafire is offline  
Unread 11-10-08, 03:53 AM   #66
Blood Druid
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
New wishes for the future versions are added:

http://www.wowinterface.com/portal.p...3097&styleid=9
Blood Druid is offline  
Unread 11-10-08, 10:48 AM   #67
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
I've seen your feature requests already . I haven't had time to review them however.
haste is offline  
Unread 11-10-08, 01:14 PM   #68
Tim
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Tim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
I'm just wondering if anyone ever created a text based layout for this? With my current UI I'm trying to make text based unitframes at least for player and target with the possibility of focus/tot but, with my lack of knowledge of lua and how to use ouf I can't do this myself.
Tim is offline  
Unread 11-10-08, 01:21 PM   #69
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,264
Originally Posted by Naberius View Post
I'm just wondering if anyone ever created a text based layout for this? With my current UI I'm trying to make text based unitframes at least for player and target with the possibility of focus/tot but, with my lack of knowledge of lua and how to use ouf I can't do this myself.
Would be very do-able using tags
p3lim is online now  
Unread 11-11-08, 12:34 AM   #70
Blood Druid
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Originally Posted by haste View Post
I've seen your feature requests already . I haven't had time to review them however.
I am sorry for persistence
Blood Druid is offline  
Unread 11-13-08, 05:52 PM   #71
Bareisforfite
A Kobold Labourer
 
Bareisforfite's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Options?!

I tried to go through the posts, but a lot of technical jargon for a not so tech savvy guy like me. Are there any options for this what-so-ever? Like changing the size of the Frames?
Bareisforfite is offline  
Unread 11-13-08, 05:56 PM   #72
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
Originally Posted by Bareisforfite View Post
I tried to go through the posts, but a lot of technical jargon for a not so tech savvy guy like me. Are there any options for this what-so-ever? Like changing the size of the Frames?
That's layout dependent. oUF itself knows nothing of how the layout is actually built up.
haste is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 09:37 AM   #73
Chimaine
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Chimaine's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 17
Just wonderung what to do about runes
I'm playing a DK right now and I'm using the standard reposed blizz runes.
Is there a possibility that there will be a "rune bar" module in oUF? Or is this a layout thing?
Chimaine is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 09:46 AM   #74
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
There will be a rune bar in oUF, but I won't touch anything until I'm done with my exams. A option would be to use oUF_Runed however.
haste is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 12:26 PM   #75
Caellian
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Caellian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
I might have a small issue with the castbar, today by 'accident' when updating Dominos i left the cast bar module which i ususally remove as i use oUF castbar.

As they were both working i noticed that the oUF castbar doesn't seems to see short casts when a normal castbar does, it happened with steady shot for example, the normal cast bar display the cast just fine but with oUF castbar the cast start but instantly stop.

Any clue why ?
__________________
if (sizeof(workload) > sizeof(brain_capacity)) { die('System Overload'); }
Caellian is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 03:17 PM   #76
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
There are some castbar issues which are fixed on git, but no release has been made with them. Might be related to those.
haste is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 03:21 PM   #77
Caellian
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Caellian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Thanks, i will give a try to the git version and report here.
__________________
if (sizeof(workload) > sizeof(brain_capacity)) { die('System Overload'); }
Caellian is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 03:32 PM   #78
Caellian
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Caellian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Yep, short casts definately fixed thanks haste. The safezone looks a bit different, is it intended ?
__________________
if (sizeof(workload) > sizeof(brain_capacity)) { die('System Overload'); }
Caellian is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 03:51 PM   #79
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 981
How does it look different?
haste is offline  
Unread 11-16-08, 04:28 PM   #80
Caellian
A Frostmaul Preserver
 
Caellian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
A screenshot is better than 100 words.



See how it doesn't reach the top and the bottom of the portraits ?

Edit (uploaded to a different host)
__________________
if (sizeof(workload) > sizeof(brain_capacity)) { die('System Overload'); }

Last edited by Caellian : 11-16-08 at 04:37 PM.
Caellian is offline  
Closed Thread

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » oUF - General discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off