Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-09, 08:02 PM   #1
Fullmetall
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Action Bars

Hello I would like to say I love the mod so far but is there any way to hide the main action bar like in Bartender4?
Fullmetall is offline  
Old 04-12-09, 08:07 PM   #2
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
No. Can't imagine why you would ever want to hide the main action bar... how do you handle possessions, vehicles, etc. with no main action bar?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-12-09, 09:23 PM   #3
Fullmetall
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Well the problem im running into is when i put some spells in the main action bar it pops up on another one of the bars on the UI.
Fullmetall is offline  
Old 04-12-09, 11:17 PM   #4
Vis
Premium Member
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,782
Did you make sure that your main action bar is set to the first position? You can make the main bar swap with another by using the small up/down arrows to the right of it or holding shift and hit a number....ie: shift+1 should be bar one, shift+2 should be bar 2.

I'd double check that first, and fyi, sometimes the scroll wheel on a mouse swaps the action bar too. Nothing quite like playing a healer with all your spells on the main action bar, scrolling out and finding all your buttons swapped :P
Vis is offline  
Old 04-13-09, 01:08 AM   #5
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,025
And don't forget that at the moment the balance druid moonkin action bar is the same as the bottom right hand corner bar.

Seeing as I haven't got a moonkin druid to test this with I haven't seen it first hand.
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-13-09, 02:13 AM   #6
spiritwulf
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
spiritwulf's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 202
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
Did you make sure that your main action bar is set to the first position? You can make the main bar swap with another by using the small up/down arrows to the right of it or holding shift and hit a number....ie: shift+1 should be bar one, shift+2 should be bar 2.

I'd double check that first, and fyi, sometimes the scroll wheel on a mouse swaps the action bar too. Nothing quite like playing a healer with all your spells on the main action bar, scrolling out and finding all your buttons swapped :P
Yes, note to Blizzard: Need option to disable swapping action bar through scrolling, sheesh
__________________
Traveling through the night on padded feet
the ghost in the dark
to rend and kill
not for pleasure
but for survival
spiritwulf is offline  
Old 04-13-09, 04:21 AM   #7
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Originally Posted by Fullmetall View Post
Well the problem im running into is when i put some spells in the main action bar it pops up on another one of the bars on the UI.
Are you by any chance playing a druid? If so... see this http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=20916

If not, then what you place on your main action bar should not appear on any other bar. Which bar is it showing on? Can you post a screen capture?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-13-09, 07:07 PM   #8
Fullmetall
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
ok i see that on the main bar / action page 1 (the one that can scroll) there is one line that doesnt repeat spells on the other bar positions (other action bar pages) but when i click that scroll up or down it then goes to each of the other pages. btw im a hunter. im sorry for the confusion but i never use the scroll part and it threw me off.
Fullmetall is offline  
Old 04-14-09, 06:35 AM   #9
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Not a problem

nUI's "extra" bars are just the pages that are normally hidden in that scroll... page 2, page 3, etc. Without getting into all the painful detail, it's so that nUI stays fully compatible with Bliz's action bars... nUI "re-uses" the underlying action bar engine in WoW to produce all of it's action bars.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 09:01 AM   #10
timberbear60
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Confused

I am having the same issue with the spells duplicating on the bars. Does nUI support 120 buttons or only 72? As I scroll through the action bars I notice that the spells on bars 2-6 a duplicates of the bars on the main console. I know the answer is something very simple and I would love to use this UI as it cuts my add-on memory usage by a ton!
timberbear60 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 09:51 AM   #11
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
nUI supports 120 buttons...

Page 1 is your main action bar
Page 2 is the far bottom left action bar below the chat frame
Page 3 is the 2x6 action bar on the left end of the unit frames
Page 4 is the 2x6 action bar on the right end of the unit frames
Page 5 is the action bar immediately below the main action bar on the right
Page 6 is the action bar immediately below the main action bar on the left

Page 7-9 are used for shapeshift forms, stances, stealth, possession and vehicles.
Page 10 is dual purposed as the far bottom right action bar below the info panel and druid forms for some specs

I'm not sure what any of this would have to do with your ability to use nUI or not... can you explain in more detail why the current action bar layout prevents you from being able to use the mod?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 11:31 AM   #12
timberbear60
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
The only thing stopping me from using this is the fact that I can only locate bars 1-6 plus bar 10. Bars 7-9 are not visible to me or am I not looking in the right area? I have numerous characters but the one I am experimenting with is a shammy so with totems and all the other spells/abilities I have I am afraid of running out of bar space. So I guess the main issue is locating bars 7-9 and utilizing them. I know this is sounding totally noobish. I really appreciate your time and your hard work in developing this mod.
timberbear60 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 12:02 PM   #13
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
o.O

Bars 7 through 9 are not usable in the way that you are trying to use them and never should be. To do so would break the game. They serve all sorts of special functions to the Blizzard game engine such as vehicle abilities when you mount a vehicle, possession abilities when you are in control of another mob or player such as occurs in many quests and raid encounters, etc. Trying to use those bars for unintended purposes would break the game engine.

I cannot fathom ever needing 120 buttons at one time... however, if you needed more than the 72 buttons that are instantly available to you, then you could add another bar mod that gives you the extra buttons you're looking for.

That said, I'm pretty confused since most classes really can't use more than a maximum of 36 buttons for the spells and talents they have available to them. What do you need all of the extra buttons for?

EDIT: Bars 7-9 *are* visible to those classes that use them... that is... you put your action bar on page-1 and you shapeshift into cat form on a druid and the correct shapeshift bar is displayed so they can place their kitty form talents on it. But that bar is a *replacement* for action bar page 1 that is displayed only when in cat form. Similar for stealth, etc. Bars 7-10 are technically all replacements for bar 1 when you are in a special form or situation which is why you can't use them all the time.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 12:12 PM   #14
timberbear60
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Think I understand now

I believe the confusion comes from the fact that I am a long time Dominos action bar user. That being said I am able to put any spell, ability, trade skill or item in any bar and still be able to set the main action bar to page to a different bar upon shapeshifting or stance. I guess I just need to layout my spells differently which is ok. It's a small price to pay for saving 20mb of memory usage. One other quick question, is nUI compatable with Geist?
timberbear60 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 12:20 PM   #15
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I would assume that it is compatible with Geist.

nUI, unlike Dominoes, actually reuses the Blizzard action bar engine so that it remains fully compatible with Bliz's action bar design and mods that are reliant on that... that's why it doesn't allow you to do the same thing Dominoes does in that regard.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 12:35 PM   #16
timberbear60
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks

Just wanted to say " Thank you" for your patience and I am looking forward to spending some quality time with nUI. I may have to add a totem manager add-on to alleviate the that particular issue but I will explore all options prior to doing that. Once I get the feel for this I fully expect to install the pro version and contribute towards the project development. Once again, Thanks for your time and patience. One other little question. What are the small white dots in the upper left corner of the buttons for. It's not present on all of the buttons. Just curious. Nevermind, used /nui rl and they disappeared. Is it from recently moving spells on the bars?

Last edited by timberbear60 : 05-09-09 at 01:01 PM.
timberbear60 is offline  
Old 05-09-09, 01:12 PM   #17
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Those dots indicate the buttons you do not have key bindings set for... and no worries on the questions thing... that's what the forum is for ~smile~
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-18-09, 12:22 PM   #18
Tondef
An Aku'mai Servant
 
Tondef's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 39
Question Nostromo

Sorry for borrowing someone else's question thread, but I'm gonna do it.

Can you suggest any way to set up the Action Bar 1 for use with a Nostromo N52? The N52 is a left hand controller with the number keys set up as:
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14

In my previous UI I used Dominos to set my action bar into a similar shape, which made changing out spells/etc. easy as a glance to see which key I should be mashing. With the traditional sequenced layout for keyboard use it is a bit trickier, but I guess I could use two different bars and keybindings.

Also I'm using a Logitech G11 keyboard with the extra 18 hotkeys on the left so I'm binding those all around too.

Thanks for the help and the UI.
Tondef is offline  
Old 05-18-09, 12:48 PM   #19
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Well... to be honest, I use the number pad on my keyboard for most of my play using ctrl and alt to modify it which gives me 19 buttons I can bind three ways and I've just memorized how they map to my action bars... muscle memory and all that.

The main problem with trying to address your issue with the nUI action bars and your N52 is that nUI's action bars are tied directly to Blizzard's action bar engine, so having 14 buttons on the main action bar would break it. You're kind of stuck with 12.

That said, the approach I have used in mapping my action bars to my keypad is that I look at the action bars as three groups of four buttons each so the top row of four buttons is 1-4, the next row is 5-8 and hte third row is 9-12 then I use the extra buttons for "other" things. Without a modifier, the keys map to my main action bar, ctrl maps them to the action bar below and to the left of the main and alt maps to the bar below and to the right... that's a quick 36 buttons I can access with one hand on the mouse and the other hand never moving from the number pad. And, as already mentioned, I use the extra buttons for other things. For the rest, I just mouse-click.

I'm not sure how you might translate that to the n52 but maybe that will give you some ideas?

Also... you can change the orientation of the action bars if you really need to by editing [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Layouts > Default > nUI_Layout_Default_Dashboard.lua ] -- just locate the nUI_DefaultConfig.ButtonsBars section and change the "rows =" and "cols =" to modify the layout... you could, for example, make them three rows of four buttons each to they more closely map to your keypad... just keep in mind you'll have to rearrange things a bit using '/nui movers' to make it all fit though.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-18-09, 12:58 PM   #20
rossman
A Cyclonian
 
rossman's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 39
My solution for n52te

The first message in this section is my layout I use for n52te.

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=21028
rossman is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » Action Bars

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off