Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-05, 06:31 AM   #1
briggsy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Strange Error, Cant find the LUA

Hi, im making a simple mod, (not my first) however for some strange reason when i load it in WOW i get an error saying im calling an undefined global, (the OnLoad() i double check my spelling everything is fine, i try to debug it by making another function, same thing. i then turn to the <Script file="mymod.lua"/>, double check it, its fine. however im almost sure this is the problem, as it seems the XML file cannot run my LUA script even if my LUA script only has one small function for OnLoad. im at my whits end, anyone have an idea what could be causing this?
briggsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-05, 07:38 AM   #2
Cladhaire
Salad!
 
Cladhaire's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,933
Post your code (.toc, .xml and .lua) here and we'll take a look at it-- your description isn't much to go off of unfortunately.
Cladhaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-05, 02:28 AM   #3
briggsy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Cladhaire
Post your code (.toc, .xml and .lua) here and we'll take a look at it-- your description isn't much to go off of unfortunately.
I dont know what happened, but all i had to do was restart WoW and it solved the problem.
briggsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-05, 02:40 AM   #4
Gello
A Scalebane Royal Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 430
You probably didn't have the lua file referenced in the xml when the game started up before.

Since the recent patches we can't add new files to a mod without completely exiting the game and going back in. This includes textures and changes to the .toc.
Gello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-05, 03:32 AM   #5
briggsy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Gello
You probably didn't have the lua file referenced in the xml when the game started up before.

Since the recent patches we can't add new files to a mod without completely exiting the game and going back in. This includes textures and changes to the .toc.
that was the problem, it seemed to work before but at least i know what to do now .
briggsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Strange Error, Cant find the LUA

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off