Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-09, 10:00 PM   #1
Ne0nguy
Periodic Developer
 
Ne0nguy's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Addon Interpretation

I can see the Minion has a few issues identifying what addons belong to each folder.
Is there anything that addon devs can put in the TOC file to help the detection process?
Maybe a url to the preffered download site?
Ne0nguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 09:48 AM   #2
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 817
I have considered this on several occasions, but I really don't want to force addon authors to have to do things to get it to detect properly.

Try out patch 2.2.1 and see if it's any better.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
Shirik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 11:56 AM   #3
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Here is a screenshot of what Minon is doing with my Macaroon addons -



Minion sits in this state, unchanging.

A few things I notice -

My main Macaroon addon, Macaroon! itself, does not show on the list.

All the Macaroon addons look like they are waiting for Macaroon!, but most are contained in Macaroon: Xtras

Macaroon: Extensions is in it's own project.

And the others (Minimap, Units and News & Info) are working alpha versions not packaged anywhere.

As an author, I myself would not mind if the condition to upload files to projects is that WoWI inject a .toc line so that Minion can better determine where an addon is on WoWI. Others might mind, but it wouldn't hurt to put the question forward to the author community here.

Injecting a .toc line would also help identify if an addon is part of a compilation or not.
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com

Last edited by Maul : 05-31-09 at 12:00 PM.
Maul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 12:04 PM   #4
Ne0nguy
Periodic Developer
 
Ne0nguy's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
I have considered this on several occasions, but I really don't want to force addon authors to have to do things to get it to detect properly.
There are several addons that are hosted across multiple addon hosting sites, or may not host it on wowinterface at all, in which case the minion should not try and find a similar addon hosted here to 'update'/replace it with.
Ne0nguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 12:27 PM   #5
wanderingDrummer
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by Maul View Post
My main Macaroon addon, Macaroon! itself, does not show on the list.

All the Macaroon addons look like they are waiting for Macaroon!, but most are contained in Macaroon: Xtras

Macaroon: Extensions is in it's own project.
Seems to be ok for me, I've got "Macaroon! by Maul" on my list (which points to Macaroon!) and I have "Macaroon: Cast Bars by Maul" which is actually pointing at Macaroon: Xtras
__________________
--
wD
wanderingDrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 12:53 PM   #6
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Originally Posted by wanderingDrummer View Post
Seems to be ok for me, I've got "Macaroon! by Maul" on my list (which points to Macaroon!) and I have "Macaroon: Cast Bars by Maul" which is actually pointing at Macaroon: Xtras
Woot!

But it does not work for me lol. And those are the same versions as available for download here on WoWI, for those that are available
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 12:55 PM   #7
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 817
Originally Posted by Ne0nguy View Post
There are several addons that are hosted across multiple addon hosting sites, or may not host it on wowinterface at all, in which case the minion should not try and find a similar addon hosted here to 'update'/replace it with.
As of patch 2.2.1 this should not be happening anymore.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
Shirik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 02:24 PM   #8
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
Wanted to add something I noticed. The issue I posted seems to affect any addon that has a ":" in it's .toc title. The same thing is happening with Button Facade skins where it indicates "Waiting for ButtonFacade", so it may be a parsing issue.

I also have a series of un-released chat addons (Tungsten) and they all have .toc title entries of "Tungsten: <module name>" and they also indicate they are "Waiting for Tungsten"
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: trinityui@live.com | Google Talk: trinityui@gmail.com
Maul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 03:21 AM   #9
Tristanian
Andúril
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 279
Seems to be happening with other special characters in the .toc tile as well, for instance : "AddonName [<whatever>]".
__________________
Tristanian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 04:53 AM   #10
orionshock
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
orionshock's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 50
TBH i don't see why a unified method can't be adopted. As long as it's not a requirement to have. It would make things simpler on just about every site, as each site must use a UID to identify an addon internally. I think the curse/ace-Forge packager does this already.

Something as simple as:
Code:
##Hosted-Site-ID: <Site> : <ID>
Is all it would really take, and it's not like this is going to change often if at all. IE in my own addon "Sick Of Clicking Dailies" all i'd have to add to the toc is 2 fairly static lines.
Code:
##Hosted-Site-ID-1: wowi:7798
##Hosted-Site-ID-2: curse:sick-of-clicking-dailies
It would suffice for a cursory identification.

As for Sub Modules or LoD stuff just a simple:
Code:
##Parent Addon: <AddonName>
That way the toc file for the submodules reference the parent addon that it belongs to (Distributed package wise). For addons that are modules of another but are not explicitly packaged with it won't use this. Like Grid Modules, a lot are not part of the proper Grid addon, but follow it's naming method, these packages would not use this. But Grid's naturally packaged LoD Modules would.
__________________
Author of GuildCraft, SickOfClickingDailies, CursorCooldown, Broken_LFD
WoWAce Addon List WoWInterface Addon List

"I was there in the beginning... and things were very different back then" --An Echo from a time before.

Last edited by orionshock : 06-01-09 at 05:01 AM.
orionshock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-09, 05:25 AM   #11
Ne0nguy
Periodic Developer
 
Ne0nguy's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Originally Posted by orionshock View Post
TBH i don't see why a unified method can't be adopted. As long as it's not a requirement to have. It would make things simpler on just about every site, as each site must use a UID to identify an addon internally. I think the curse/ace-Forge packager does this already.
I agree with this.
If the updaters supported it I would quickly throw an extra few lines in my addons if it meant better detection and less false-positives.
Ne0nguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Addon Interpretation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off