Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-09, 04:15 PM   #1
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Exclamation WARNING: Clippy the CRIT CHICKEN crittin' the forum with a WALL OF TEXT

I've got a collection of a few issues I need some advice or help with and being that my most recent was me taking a stab at customizing my nUI layout to a more tweaked degree than normal I figure I'll just unload here... okay so lets begin: (I can get screen shots for all of this however can someone re-explain how to go about uploading those and using them through wowinterface.com?)

1. nUI absolutely just won't for the life of me reposition itself for my broker display bar! I came to a general conclusion that this might have something ultimately to do with the default code written to allow this was looking for Fubar or Titan Panel (or alternatively the plug-in for ninja-panel, which also didn't help). I use DockingStation (Display) http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info11831-DockingStationDisplay.html and nothing I've tried with get nUI to move it's arse for the damn thing. Here's things I've attempted:

- Installed and tried two different addon 'dummy bars' that attempt to produced a dummy'd fubar... neither worked.
- Tried to see if nUI would reposistion itself for two other bars besides dockingstation... one was chocolate panel the other was just attempting the dummy bar itself with nUI and no other bar. No avail
- Tried editing the ninjapanel.lua by changing it all to DockingStation (lolz cause I have no clue how to write lua).
- Tried 4 different test bars. each one seperately. 2 tried on the top of the display, 2 on the bottom. Each one tried once with DockingStation's 'allow movement of blizzard frames' either enabled or disabled.
- Lastly, I tried every combination of visability setting combo's and settings with the DOckingStation AND top console to see if that was it. Nei on both sides. Mouseover, on, smartmouse (on dockingstations end) none helped.

I'm telling you, when you spend a few hours getting into a bind like this and won't cease and desist to ask for help you really get yourself worked up... lol

2. The default scaling for my resolution settings is just BLIMPPPEDDDDified. I know and have for the most part switched to using the UI scaling in blizz's video options but it's becomming way to much of a pain cause more and more of the addons I use freak out in either a far to large or two small scale on THEIR end... which leads to then having to go (and hope the config even exists for it) to rescale those each individually... and that doesn't always play well some don't hold the scaling overide setting at all. Also, since tweaking for one such as nui means pissing most others each character that I have with different tweaked set ups to suit their class means having to redo it it over and over again for all of them aswell cause I'm finding far to little addons these days out there that still have a profile option to just copy settings from one toon to the next.

3. I FINALLY took a stab at making my own Skin for my nUI and it looks FREAKIN AWESOMEEEEEEE but BUT but the semi-transparent image/placeholder graphics on some of nUI's elements really are not giving me the effect i was going for. I wanted to ask before I touched anything default in nUI like that... is it okay to remove those or set it up to NOT use some of those graphics? If not/Or is it permissable for me to manually edit some of those images myself? (i.e. maybe some more transpariency, color shading, or even skinng them to match the UI so they blend it better?). Spekaing of doing my own skin/layout it leads into my last few ?'s...

4. So my skin I went with the allowing nUI to just flip the image for top and bottom, while I know the images by default are made be OVERLY large to allow for nUI's scaling and movement I did notice that while my bottom panel seemed to show reasonable and behave like any other skin the top one was displaying really only very very little of the top part of the flipped image. Say for example the 512 px hight, I'd image I was lucky if the top showed even 100 to 150 pixles...

5. Also in regards to the top console... I know and I've read your feelings on disabling or messing with some of nUI's core components in terms of moving them ect but I was wondering if in particular is their a way for me to keep the top console ACTIVE and shown but not necessarily remove but rather JUST HIDE the micro menu? My visualization is to have the top console graphic moved down to allow for my broker display but have the micromenu parsed into a databroker instead.... does this make sense?

Okay... my mind is reving telling me to pause and think of what else was going on I'd been putting off asking about but I think this is already to massive a wall of text and I'll let you pick at what you can here at your convience... thanks Scott (and any others input) for helping me out. nUI since the day i've started using it always have (and probably always WILL) be the first and foremost addon that I will insist on and make my centerport of my UI I hope always! Your the best!
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 09:06 PM   #2
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Originally Posted by Apraxia View Post

1. nUI absolutely just won't for the life of me reposition itself for my broker display bar! I came to a general conclusion that this might have something ultimately to do with the default code written to allow this was looking for Fubar or Titan Panel (or alternatively the plug-in for ninja-panel, which also didn't help). I use DockingStation (Display) http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info11831-DockingStationDisplay.html and nothing I've tried with get nUI to move it's arse for the damn thing. Here's things I've attempted:

!
here try this out and tell me if it works i just got done doing this addon
Attached Files
File Type: zip nUI_Integration_DockingStation (Display).zip (1.1 KB, 456 views)
__________________
Carz is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 09:11 PM   #3
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
here try this out and tell me if it works i just got done doing this addon
lol zomg I did'nt expect someone to go so far and actually make a special integration for it... thanks a bunch!!! I will test this out in about 30 minutes ish and let you know ASAP! awesomesause!
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 09:13 PM   #4
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
its no problem i kno some ppl that use that addon also but had to use NinjaPanel instead
__________________
Carz is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 10:22 PM   #5
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
its no problem i kno some ppl that use that addon also but had to use NinjaPanel instead

Nooooo... error on log-in :/

Code:
Error:  attempt to index global 'DockingStationTop' (a nil value)
File: ...isplay)\nUI_Integration_DockingStation (Display).lua
Line: 11
Count: 1
...isplay)\nUI_Integration_DockingStation (Display).lua:35: in function <...isplay)\nUI_Integration_DockingStation (Display).lua:31>
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 10:32 PM   #6
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
ok i'll get on it.... i dont use it so i really cant test it out
__________________
Carz is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 10:37 PM   #7
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
ok i'll get on it.... i dont use it so i really cant test it out
I'm going to be screwin around with the Ui elements ect for a few hours through the night... is their something you can semi teach/explain to me what to do or how to test?

I'd really love to learn how to troubleshoot and ultimately even know how to code and write things like this myself
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:11 PM   #8
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Rofl, the best way to test is to use it without knowing what to test. Just use it as if it was a normal addon you expect to do what you want it to do. Note down what goes wrong and what you were doing and a screenshot to demonstrate it.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:19 PM   #9
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Rofl, the best way to test is to use it without knowing what to test. Just use it as if it was a normal addon you expect to do what you want it to do. Note down what goes wrong and what you were doing and a screenshot to demonstrate it.
But I guess that would require more of an understanding though of knowing what exactly one would tweak with on the addon itself in the first place to know the bases have been covered to trial and error?
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:45 PM   #10
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
really the base of this addon is a plug in and go type so there really nothing u can do

Also are you geting a C stack overflow error with the addon on when u go over the Docking Station bars
__________________
Carz is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:46 PM   #11
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Yeah true if the addon did anything special. All that was done was allow the Docking Station Bars not to be covered by nUIs top bars. Titan and Fubar are built in which is why they are working fine. We would have to go through and work with the other addons of that type and do similar changes.

Basically, download the nUI addon that interfaces with Docking Station and make sure it works and you can access the information you would expect without nUI.

The addon itself won't or more likely won't do anything else apart from repositioning nUIs top bar lower.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:53 PM   #12
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
i found out what the problem is and there no way to fix it because Docking Station bars are moveable unlike NinjaPanel bar so idk what to do any input Xrystal
__________________
Carz is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:53 PM   #13
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
really the base of this addon is a plug in and go type so there really nothing u can do

Also are you geting a C stack overflow error with the addon on when u go over the Docking Station bars
I was, but after reading the error lines I noticed nUI's tooltip's were referenced over and over again... I attributed it to be a conflict with nUI managing the tooltips, so I turned that off and haven't had the cstack overflow again or since yet... cept each time I do a fresh nUI to test again... and forget to turn it off in ADVANCE :/
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:56 PM   #14
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
i found out what the problem is and there no way to fix it because Docking Station bars are moveable unlike NinjaPanel bar so idk what to do any input Xrystal
... that doesn't really make sense to me... I thought (or what I need rather) is for nUI to adjust itself DOWN so that way the panel doesn't overlap nUI's top bar and vice versa. Make it look as though.. the bar came first, THEN nUI's top panel began to extend from the bottom of that bar....

is this making sense?
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-29-09, 11:57 PM   #15
Carz
nUI User-Supporter
 
Carz's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 133
Ok so now it just still covering the top console

Ya like the NinjaPanel which moves it down but thats because NinjaPanel is set at top by the author with no intend to move but Docking Station bars are moveable by desgin
__________________

Last edited by Carz : 05-29-09 at 11:59 PM.
Carz is offline  
Old 05-30-09, 01:24 AM   #16
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
Ok so now it just still covering the top console

Ya like the NinjaPanel which moves it down but thats because NinjaPanel is set at top by the author with no intend to move but Docking Station bars are moveable by desgin

right, but fubar is the same as well too. So essentially, I just need something written that does for fubar and titan panel to do the same for docking station. Quite honestly too, and sorry to be a pain I don't use one of those two instead because 1. titan panel while now default support for broker display comes with by default it's own extra crap plugged in and not customizable much in terms of look and Fubar which WOULD be nice is not actively maintained by the author anymore and all feedback from users current on ace wiki, curse, and here have explained that there are numerous taints and errors now that aren't being addressed but maybe once or so during like a time frame of gaps for say updating the TOC by defauilt by him it seems :/ QQ

I need the bar with the cool 'looks' customizations.... default broker and libdb support minus the default overmass produced junk added by default with little ability to strip out.

Thanks for trying though guys... I think I might have better luck just looking into something or figuring out the way to edit the top frame to by default be pushed down the few extra spaces... should work fine that way since the panel graphic extends far up into interace whole and can come down over 300 pixils more at least while still maintaining it's graphical display.



So hmm, any suggestions as to anything else I'm dealing with I mentioned in my OP? lol. btw thanks you guys went out of your way to help. I appriciate it big time.
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-30-09, 03:10 AM   #17
Apraxia
Clippy Crit Chicken
 
Apraxia's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Shortened, updated, and slightly revised of OP for customizing help by me:

1. Could someone explain that way of uploading your SS's to WoWinterface's site to post here again? Can't find it damnit.

2. Original hope in manipulating nUI's default support which adjusts for fubar the same way for what I use (Docking Station) seems to not be a possibility. So looking for feedback on how to manually edit my top panel to always if possible by default to load just slighty further down with that extra spacing.

3. nUI's default scaling on my resolution settings (1680x1050 widescreen) is absolutely HUGEEEEE. I realize and have been (frustrated though) instead reverting to working with the manual UI scale slider in blizz's video settings panel, but this is just pissing off two many other addons in WoW and MOST do not have their OWN scaling configurater to then go fix them as well to all be a decent size relevant to the whole UI. Suggestions? QQ think this might be a SoL issue but can't hurt to ask


2?'s directly to Scott: I just want to get a verbal yay or nei to 2 things I was wanting to toy with but wanted to get the clear from you first. One, is it okay to hide an entire frame element in the UI for the purposes of a customized layout but more so for certain skins ect? Example: I want to hide the whole micro menu on the top console, but DO NOT want the top console hidden or even on mouse over (I plan to have my broker bar at the top with the menu there) I still want the art and even the hud display change button clearly and always visable.

and second: My skin I did came out pretty cool, but it's not lookin so hawt with the way some of the anchoring or semitransparent placement graphics beneath some elements are done. Is it okay for me to either 1. hide those all together, or 2. add different colored hues to them manually to compliment or blend to the skin, or 3. Manually myself further enhance and add more transparency to them as to not stand out on my skin so badly?

Thanks in advance again guys.
__________________


Apraxia is offline  
Old 05-30-09, 09:25 AM   #18
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Originally Posted by Carz View Post
i found out what the problem is and there no way to fix it because Docking Station bars are moveable unlike NinjaPanel bar so idk what to do any input Xrystal
Sorry Carz .. had to get some sleep .. okay, the only thing I can think of is if DockingStation has an accessible option to disable moving it around to position it as a top bar and then fix it in place.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-30-09, 09:35 AM   #19
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
1. Manage Attachments when adding a post .. scroll down a bit to see the option. It then adds the image to the message itself.

2. Looking at the code I don't think there is a way to shift the Console Top Bars section down as it is designed to only move if there are bar addons specifically known ( Scott has nUI_Fubar.lua and nUI_TitanBar.lua ).

3. nUI Allows you to scale the hud and if individual elements of the screen dashboard (bottom) or console (top) need resizing this should be possible by tweaking some of the layout lua files.

You can try editing the nUI_Layout_Default_Console.lua file in nUI\Layouts\Default\ folder and setting the micromenu options to false to see what that does. Maybe that in conjunction to turning off the console display will do what you want. But I know Scott has designed the top bars ready for future growth to include the panel information like Titan or Fubar.




Originally Posted by Apraxia View Post
Shortened, updated, and slightly revised of OP for customizing help by me:

1. Could someone explain that way of uploading your SS's to WoWinterface's site to post here again? Can't find it damnit.

2. Original hope in manipulating nUI's default support which adjusts for fubar the same way for what I use (Docking Station) seems to not be a possibility. So looking for feedback on how to manually edit my top panel to always if possible by default to load just slighty further down with that extra spacing.

3. nUI's default scaling on my resolution settings (1680x1050 widescreen) is absolutely HUGEEEEE. I realize and have been (frustrated though) instead reverting to working with the manual UI scale slider in blizz's video settings panel, but this is just pissing off two many other addons in WoW and MOST do not have their OWN scaling configurater to then go fix them as well to all be a decent size relevant to the whole UI. Suggestions? QQ think this might be a SoL issue but can't hurt to ask.


2?'s directly to Scott: I just want to get a verbal yay or nei to 2 things I was wanting to toy with but wanted to get the clear from you first. One, is it okay to hide an entire frame element in the UI for the purposes of a customized layout but more so for certain skins ect? Example: I want to hide the whole micro menu on the top console, but DO NOT want the top console hidden or even on mouse over (I plan to have my broker bar at the top with the menu there) I still want the art and even the hud display change button clearly and always visable.

and second: My skin I did came out pretty cool, but it's not lookin so hawt with the way some of the anchoring or semitransparent placement graphics beneath some elements are done. Is it okay for me to either 1. hide those all together, or 2. add different colored hues to them manually to compliment or blend to the skin, or 3. Manually myself further enhance and add more transparency to them as to not stand out on my skin so badly?

Thanks in advance again guys.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-30-09, 10:22 AM   #20
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Let me address moving the top bars first, then I'll reply to the other questions in a separate message.

You can move the top bars manually by editing [ Interface > AddOns > nUI > Main > nUI.xml ] -- this is one of the things that will change in the future as it's part of nUI that has not yet been incorporated into the layout engine.

In any event, you'll find the following section in the file...

Code:
<Frame name="nUI_TopBarsLocator" frameStrata="BACKGROUND" toplevel="false" parent="nUI_MasterFrame">
    <Anchors>
          <Anchor point="BOTTOM" relativeTo="nUI_MasterFrame" relativePoint="TOP" />
    </Anchors>
    <Size>
        <AbsDimension x="2560" y="2" />
    </Size>
</Frame>
Change it as follows...

Code:
<Frame name="nUI_TopBarsLocator" frameStrata="BACKGROUND" toplevel="false" parent="nUI_MasterFrame">
    <Anchors>
         <Anchor point="BOTTOM" relativeTo="nUI_MasterFrame" relativePoint="TOP">
               <Offset>
                   <AbsDimension x="0" y="0" />
              </Offset>
         </Anchor>
     </Anchors>
     <Size>
         <AbsDimension x="2560" y="2" />
     </Size>
</Frame>
Where you see the y="0" highlighted, just tweak that to move the upper console up and down. Higher values of y move it up, negative values move it down.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 05-30-09 at 10:25 AM.
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Customization » nUI: Customizing Layouts » WARNING: Clippy the CRIT CHICKEN crittin' the forum with a WALL OF TEXT

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off