Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-09, 08:17 AM   #1
pokerquad66
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
carbonite: object not in database

i've just started questing in silithus and a lot of my quests are not showing up on the map. next to the quests is a orangish dot. when i click-it it says object is not in database. i'm using a mac computer, can anyone help?
pokerquad66 is offline  
Old 07-16-09, 09:56 AM   #2
Chmee
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 960
Using a Mac shouldn't make any difference. I'm using a Mac, and I don't recall that problem. OTOH, I didn't spend much time in Silithus, and it's been a while.

It sounds like your installation got messed up somehow. I'd start by reinstalling carb 3.13. Download it from here.
Chmee is offline  
Old 07-17-09, 09:44 AM   #3
pokerquad66
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
carbonite: still having problems

i downloaded the latest version of carbonite and am still having troubles. more than have the quests have orange dots next to them instead of white.
pokerquad66 is offline  
Old 07-18-09, 03:55 AM   #4
mrklotz
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by pokerquad66 View Post
i've just started questing in silithus and a lot of my quests are not showing up on the map. next to the quests is a orangish dot. when i click-it it says object is not in database. i'm using a mac computer, can anyone help?
That's a not a bug, it just means these quests are not yet covered in carbonite or having a location for specified Quest objective is impossible/useless.

There are some quests that have "out of line" objectives, such as reputation gains and using a quest item on the spot etc.
Both of these examples won't need a pointer, because you can do it everywhere.
mrklotz is offline  
Old 07-18-09, 08:35 AM   #5
pokerquad66
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by mrklotz View Post
That's a not a bug, it just means these quests are not yet covered in carbonite or having a location for specified Quest objective is impossible/useless.

There are some quests that have "out of line" objectives, such as reputation gains and using a quest item on the spot etc.
Both of these examples won't need a pointer, because you can do it everywhere.
i might agree for some of the quests but take for example "Breaking the Code" this quest has an exact location and i would think it should be able to be tracked. would this have anything to do with the WOW program? or is it strictly carbonite?
pokerquad66 is offline  
Old 07-18-09, 10:48 PM   #6
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
We have fairly limited data on Silithus, since Carbonite was released post Burning Crusade and most people skipped questing there, since Hellfire has much better xp and loot for lvl 58+. Much of our data was collected from users, so the more popular a zone is, the better the data. Haavok did hand edit a lot of data, but I doubt he spent much time on Silithus. I did about the first 25% of Silithus quests several months and the data was reasonable, but as you go farther, I'm sure it gets worse.
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline  
Old 07-20-09, 07:30 AM   #7
pokerquad66
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
We have fairly limited data on Silithus, since Carbonite was released post Burning Crusade and most people skipped questing there, since Hellfire has much better xp and loot for lvl 58+. Much of our data was collected from users, so the more popular a zone is, the better the data. Haavok did hand edit a lot of data, but I doubt he spent much time on Silithus. I did about the first 25% of Silithus quests several months and the data was reasonable, but as you go farther, I'm sure it gets worse.
that is good information to know, and makes perfect sense. i'm going to hellfire.....
pokerquad66 is offline  
Old 07-20-09, 01:24 PM   #8
voodoodad
Large, Friendly Letters!
 
voodoodad's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,632
Originally Posted by pokerquad66 View Post
that is good information to know, and makes perfect sense. i'm going to hellfire.....
Don't say that, man! I'm sure you're a good person who has just made a few mistakes in life. You won't go to hel... Oh... Never mind...
__________________

~ no need to make the message completely obnoxious - Cairenn
voodoodad is offline  
Old 07-20-09, 02:36 PM   #9
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
lol

Actually, when I finish the code to use/show the Blizzard patch 3.2 quest POI locations, then that should supplement our missing data nicely.

Now lets hope Blizzard gets good data in there. On the PTR yesterday I was seeing several Northrend quests giving me locations in and showing on the World Map in Hillsbrad.
__________________
faatal
carboniteaddon is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » carbonite: object not in database

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off