Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-28-08, 06:40 PM   #1
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Cool Toons-v2

Adds a new tab to your Social menu called toons. The new tab shows summary data for all your characters with drop downs to choose server and info page. Summarized info includes : Level, race, class, location, xp, rested xp, played time, professions, secondary skills, gold, guild, and hearthstone bind.

This was originally written by Aquendyn and revamped with more options with his permission.

It should be bug free and working great, with the minor exception that a few people have had the tab sticking out past the side of the social menu.
This should be a final release unless a future patch breaks some code.

Toons-V2

Last edited by Crippe13 : 04-02-08 at 04:05 PM.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-01-08, 10:49 PM   #2
KillerDreaming
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
KillerDreaming's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
That tab problem is probably a resolution issue, hm?
__________________
KillerDreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 04:04 PM   #3
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by KillerDreaming View Post
That tab problem is probably a resolution issue, hm?
It could be a resolution issue, another addon adding a tab, or something I just haven't thought of... I admit I'm still stumbling through most lua and xml- and since the tab is in the right spot on my 3 computers its hard for me to try and diagnose.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 04:48 PM   #4
KillerDreaming
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
KillerDreaming's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Originally Posted by Crippe13 View Post
It could be a resolution issue, another addon adding a tab, or something I just haven't thought of... I admit I'm still stumbling through most lua and xml- and since the tab is in the right spot on my 3 computers its hard for me to try and diagnose.
Just trying to help. Ease your work a little.
__________________
KillerDreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 07:56 PM   #5
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,691
Resolution and UI scale wouldn't effect it. Though, with the addition of the Chat tab, users will most often have a problem if they have two mods that want to add tabs to that frame (CTRA + Toons, for example). Also, the tabs will change size depending on which font you have set in your UI. For example, I use a Fonts folder. The other day, I put in a font that was sized smaller than usual - the tabs resized to fit the font.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 08:38 PM   #6
KillerDreaming
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
KillerDreaming's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 114
Why am I always wrong?
__________________
KillerDreaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 10:13 PM   #7
0Blackmage0
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
0Blackmage0's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 192
Originally Posted by KillerDreaming View Post
Why am I always wrong?
Dont worrie, its not your fault.. You were born this way



Haha, just kidding
__________________


0Blackmage0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-08, 10:37 PM   #8
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 9,691
Hey, you're not the only one that gets corrected at times. You're just having a streak of them atm.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

Seerah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-08, 11:35 PM   #9
Gekkoracing
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
not functioning......

heya,

This addon sounds great.....i reloaded my addons only using the updated ones....Toons still does not gather info like its supposed too...........what am, i doing incorrectly??? please help.... thx

B
Gekkoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-08, 12:42 PM   #10
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Originally Posted by Gekkoracing View Post
heya,

This addon sounds great.....i reloaded my addons only using the updated ones....Toons still does not gather info like its supposed too...........what am, i doing incorrectly??? please help.... thx

B

There are a few possibilities I can think of:

1st- does toons show up in the addons menu on the character selection screen? And is it enabled? If it doesn't it's either in the wrong directory or somethings missing.

2nd- Do you get a message when the character loads saying toons ver ## has loaded?

3rd- If you use an error catcher like swatter (included with auctioneer) does it list some sort of lua error on login?


Toons should grab data as soon as a character has logged on. It obviously can't grab information from characters that haven't been used since you installed it. That doesn't sound like the issue here, but I thought it's worth mentioning.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-08, 10:00 PM   #11
0Blackmage0
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
0Blackmage0's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 192
This is just a repost incase it is more convinient for the author to just check the forum Vs File Comments




Could you add the ability for this mod to sync basic info (level, name, Profs, Guild, Rank, Played time, Perhaps Gold Amount? ) with an option of (Guild/Friends/None). Thanks for your consideration
__________________


0Blackmage0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-26-08, 01:04 PM   #12
Gekkoracing
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Crippe13 View Post
There are a few possibilities I can think of:

1st- does toons show up in the addons menu on the character selection screen? And is it enabled? If it doesn't it's either in the wrong directory or somethings missing.

2nd- Do you get a message when the character loads saying toons ver ## has loaded?

3rd- If you use an error catcher like swatter (included with auctioneer) does it list some sort of lua error on login?


Toons should grab data as soon as a character has logged on. It obviously can't grab information from characters that haven't been used since you installed it. That doesn't sound like the issue here, but I thought it's worth mentioning.
Hey thanks for the advice!! double checked directory, sokay.....does not load.....turned on swatter......came up with 2 problems in Toons.lua.......299 attempt to index field....'?' <a nil value>.........and 743 same thing.....(sorry can't seem to capture the info ...) hope this helps....
B
Gekkoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-08-08, 08:13 PM   #13
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
0Blackmage0 - Got the comment, like the idea, just may take me some time to learn how to code something like that.


Gekkoracing - There's now a new version out- I hope it'll solve any issues you were having with Toons

KillerDreaming - I finally thought of the possible reason I'm not seeing the tab glitch.. All 3 of my systems are widescreen :O Unless I hear a major outcry for a fix though, I think it'll wait until I rewrite with a frame of Toon's own.

Last edited by Crippe13 : 05-23-08 at 05:35 PM.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-23-08, 05:31 PM   #14
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
Well, Toons 2L is finally posted!!

I got the honor page and quest pages working well enough there shouldn't be too many issues. I also added a few more error catches to hopefully fix the last of the known bugs.

Unless more bugs crop up, or a patch breaks something I think Toons 2 has gone as far as it can really go in it's current incarnation.

I like Blackmage's idea of sharing data, and there are a few other tweaks I'm thinking of, but I also feel those aren't going to work well with the current way Toons works. They are on the drawing board for Toons 3 which will have its own frame and controls, but don't expect to see it very quickly.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-09, 11:24 PM   #15
Crippe13
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Crippe13's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 17
After losing tons of work on Toons3 due to a lightning strike ( took my main system and the eternal backup HD's ), Toons is back with 2.5 and more suggestions are welcome.
Crippe13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » Toons-v2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off