Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-05-09, 01:20 PM   #1
ThaRalMatix
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
permanently move the Chat input box

Hi there,

i am having the Problem that the input box of my Chat is within the frame of the Chatwindow on the left lower corner and there "on top" so my Problem is that half the time there ist text behind it.

So i just wanted to move it (i use Prat vor that) al little bit higher. But everytime i close WoW and start it knew... the input box is on the very same Place.

How can i fix that?

regards

Matix

P.S Please forgive my poor English. I'm German.
ThaRalMatix is offline  
Unread 11-05-09, 01:45 PM   #2
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,871
You have to unlock the chat tab, pull the chat box down some, and then lock the chat tab again. I use Prat and had to do that so the edit box wasn't covering the text in the chat box.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline  
Unread 11-05-09, 02:33 PM   #3
Taralas
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by Petrah View Post
You have to unlock the chat tab, pull the chat box down some, and then lock the chat tab again. I use Prat and had to do that so the edit box wasn't covering the text in the chat box.
If you change the line in nUI_ChatFrame.lua that contains:

if not IsAddOnLoaded( "Chatter" ) then

to:

if not IsAddOnLoaded( "Prat-3.0" ) then

The settings from Prat are not overwritten, and the edit box can be positioned with Prat. Just move it wherever you want it (I have it just above the default position, outside the 'chat' area).

Still hoping we can get this rolled into the current or next version...

-Taralas
Taralas is offline  
Unread 11-05-09, 03:08 PM   #4
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,871
Thank you!!!
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline  
Unread 11-05-09, 06:59 PM   #5
MrDiBs
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
MrDiBs's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
About this Issue

Ok, not being the smartest crayon in the box, I googled to see what I needed to edit this file and enter the new code as suggested. To my surprise I read a simple text editor will do. So, I used notepad and for some reason it will not allow me to save the file saying it can't find the path. I tell this stupid thing where to find it and tells me " File already exists, are you sure you want to overwrite it ? " when I clk OK I get the same message again
" Cannot find C:\bla-bla\bla-bla\World of Warcraft\Interface\Addons\nui\Integration\nui_ChatFrame.lua"

Am I doing something wrong, or using the wrong text editor or am I just plain stupid. Please be frank, I am big boy and can take it....but take it easy om me I have a frail heart.

Thx in advance
MrDiBs is offline  
Unread 11-05-09, 10:57 PM   #6
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,787
My preferred editor for files like this and several others is a program a friend recommended a long time ago. Opens damn near anything and works really well for lua files

It's free to try, but if you like it, I would definiately spend the $32 US for it.

TextPad http://www.textpad.com/
__________________
Vis is offline  
Unread 11-06-09, 05:33 AM   #7
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
The path to the file depends on where you have WoW installed.

For a WinDoze 7 or Vista machine, it is [ C: > Users > Public > Games > World of Warcraft > Interface > AddOns > nUI > Integration > nUI_ChatFrame.lua ]

For a WinDerz XP box, it is [ C: > Program Files > World of Warcraft > Interface > AddOns > nUI > Integration > nUI_ChatFrame.lua ]

Rather than trying to type it all in to open the file, I would suggest just starting a C: and double clicking your way down to the file... that way you actually see the path as you build it and no room for typos.

Originally Posted by MrDiBs View Post
Ok, not being the smartest crayon in the box, I googled to see what I needed to edit this file and enter the new code as suggested. To my surprise I read a simple text editor will do. So, I used notepad and for some reason it will not allow me to save the file saying it can't find the path. I tell this stupid thing where to find it and tells me " File already exists, are you sure you want to overwrite it ? " when I clk OK I get the same message again
" Cannot find C:\bla-bla\bla-bla\World of Warcraft\Interface\Addons\nui\Integration\nui_ChatFrame.lua"

Am I doing something wrong, or using the wrong text editor or am I just plain stupid. Please be frank, I am big boy and can take it....but take it easy om me I have a frail heart.

Thx in advance
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 11-06-09, 11:09 AM   #8
MrDiBs
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
MrDiBs's Avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Ok, Got me that text editor "Text Pad" and did the trick.

Thank you for the help....Don't know what I do with out you guys here, being so attentive to all us users.... I for one appreciate it immensely.
__________________
So, whats the "Spiel" on this.
MrDiBs is offline  
Unread 11-06-09, 05:34 PM   #9
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,787
Originally Posted by MrDiBs View Post
Thank you for the help....Don't know what I do with out you guys here, being so attentive to all us users.... I for one appreciate it immensely.
Perfect time to say a quick and hearty Thank You to Scott for creating an incredible UI and also to all the User's/Authors that have created skins, plugins, and added/tested a host of valuable features for the entire community to enjoy.
__________________
Vis is offline  
Unread 11-07-09, 04:50 AM   #10
Telepavarion
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Telepavarion's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 81
As you tell about very good free text editors, I use Proton.

That's a syntax highlighting text editor, with only some functions you need. But I think that one isn't for the crow of the world, because it exist only a German Version.

Maybe someone find it useful. Here's a link to a German download site:
http://www.chip.de/downloads/Proton-3.2_13007891.html
__________________
To be or not to be.



Telepavarion is offline  
Unread 11-07-09, 08:35 AM   #11
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I've made this change in the next PTR release. I also increased the frame strata for the chat frame edit box to ensure it does not end up behind the chat frame as occurs for some users.

Originally Posted by Taralas View Post
If you change the line in nUI_ChatFrame.lua that contains:

if not IsAddOnLoaded( "Chatter" ) then

to:

if not IsAddOnLoaded( "Prat-3.0" ) then

The settings from Prat are not overwritten, and the edit box can be positioned with Prat. Just move it wherever you want it (I have it just above the default position, outside the 'chat' area).

Still hoping we can get this rolled into the current or next version...

-Taralas
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Technical Support » permanently move the Chat input box

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off