Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-10-09, 10:25 PM   #1
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
A question for the family gearheads...

There seems to be a family of pretty sharp gearheads here in nUI land... Any Linux types out there?

I'm having an issue getting X to span desktops for me. Anyone have an idea if this is a video card/driver thing or an X config thing?

Under Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server 5, if I select display from system administration and enable dual head I can configure the displays no problem and run dual desktops on them. But the moment I enable desktop spanning and log out/back in, X won't start and I have to revert to the default config before I can get X started again.

Anyone know anything about this?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-09, 10:35 PM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
Now that is one area I tried to avoid. I'd ask my brother but at 4am I think he will kill me

Hopefully someone out there has a smidgeon of knowledge of Linux to help you out there
__________________
Xrystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-09, 10:42 PM   #3
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Yhor's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,077
I saw an answer to this somewhere, I'll see if I can dig it up. What card are you using btw, just in case?


Edit: Found a couple links to start off, both seem appropriate. I'll keep looking for the one I saw that was a pretty awesome guide for both nvidia and ati, and also covered some various desktops.

In the mean time..
Related to Kubuntu 5.04 and using ATI (but generally applicable)
http://www.granneman.com/techinfo/li...lheadhowto.htm

Some generally helpful tips. (Ubuntu, Fedora, etc..)
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...nitors-689888/

Last edited by Yhor : 11-10-09 at 11:11 PM.
Yhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-09, 08:48 AM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yeah... this is a trashy onboard Intel video chipset... one VGA output and one DVI output. I can't recall the exact chipset number, but I'll look it up tomorrow when I have physical access to the machine again.

And thanks Yhor.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-09, 11:15 AM   #5
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Last time I had a similar problem (long ago), tho not on Red Hat (or a "server" install) a reinstall was the only way to get it working properly.

And the weird part was, the first install was less then a week old, done with the same disc, using the same install options (iirc). After the second install it worked like a charm.
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.
Seer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-09, 02:51 PM   #6
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Yhor's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,077
Originally Posted by spiel2001 View Post
Yeah... this is a trashy onboard Intel video chipset... one VGA output and one DVI output. I can't recall the exact chipset number, but I'll look it up tomorrow when I have physical access to the machine again.

And thanks Yhor.
As far as I know, I've never heard of on board video being able to do this, at least not without a program to implement it. Hopefully I'm wrong or you can find something to get you going. I'm still looking for that guide, as I find time.

Good luck.


*Seer, were you using on board video, if you can remember?
Yhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-09, 04:16 PM   #7
Mycroftxxx1
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mycroftxxx1's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 103
Our work desktops, HP DC 5000, use on board videos IIRC and can handle dual video using a special dual-head cable.
Mycroftxxx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-12-09, 05:26 AM   #8
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Originally Posted by Yhor View Post
*Seer, were you using on board video, if you can remember?
No, was some kind of nVidia AGP card IIRC,


I know Lenovo has some kind of weird "adapter" in a PCI slot that looks like a DVI connector (a bit different then the normal DVI that holds both digital and analog signals) that only seems to work with Vista. Offcourse I can't find any machine here at the moment that has this adapter still inside (most monitors are VGA here, and we need to use XP) and Lenovo uses mostly intel IGPs but also nVidia and ATI chips..
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.

Last edited by Seer : 11-12-09 at 05:31 AM.
Seer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-09, 05:01 AM   #9
Telepavarion
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Telepavarion's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 81
Yeah but most of the Lenovo graphic cards are made for CAD and not for 3D output.

I had some problems on my ThinkPad with Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy. It takes really a long time to get it really good work with 2 displays. But I dont can say anymore what's exactly I done. I switching back to Vista, because of a 3D CAD Programm from Siemens which only run under Windows.
__________________
To be or not to be.



Telepavarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-09, 07:42 AM   #10
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Have you tried Wine?

http://www.winehq.org/
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-09, 08:00 AM   #11
Telepavarion
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Telepavarion's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 81
Of course, but SolidEgde goes to deeply into Windows as Wine can handle it easily. The biggest Problem are my IntelVideo Chip, because it isn't translated correctly and I see a black screen.

Yeah I really miss Ubuntu sometimes. It has some very nice functionallity and runs very fast, but alltimes to use a dualboot system isnt nice and so have have to switch back. I have read it runs on Linux, but only with full compatible VideoCards. My ICH-9xx isn't it.
__________________
To be or not to be.



Telepavarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-09, 12:56 AM   #12
KruesephiikZ
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
I seem to remember this being a driver issue entirely. Spanning desktops hasn't worked correctly with X.Org forever, cept with nVidia cards. Span the desktop, change the resolution, change it back then see if it'll start up. For whatever reason that worked for me in the past when I had an ATI card. May be completely unrelated to your rig, but it might be worth a shot.
KruesephiikZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-09, 10:41 AM   #13
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Yup... and the winner is... nVidia. We went out and got three nVidea cards and put one in each server, installed the drivers, booted, set the desktop to spanning and done.

We're going to experiment a bit more, but it looks like it is a driver/X.org thing.

My sincere thanks to everyone for their input.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-09, 06:12 PM   #14
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Yhor's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,077
Glad ya got it working, sorry ya had to spend money .
Yhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-09, 07:11 PM   #15
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Okay --

So, tonight we used the xorg.conf we built with the nVidea card that works, and replaced the nVidea card/driver names with the Intel/Vesa card/driver names and booted.

The good news is that unlike before, X did not crash and the servers woule boot into X11. However, the spanning failed and we still had cloned desktops.

So... the moral of the story is that the Intel chipset and drivers clearly just won't support spanning in X11. The nVidea solves it and we were able to do it with $44 cards, which is far less than the time it would take the engineers to resolve it any other way.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » General » nUI: Community Chat » A question for the family gearheads...

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off