Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-01-10, 04:54 PM   #1
Shinjite
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Shinjite's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Vista Confirmation Dialog For IE When Running Minion

For the past couple months, I've been getting the Vista Confirmation Dialog for Internet Explorer's Add-on Installer *almost* every time I've opened Minion. This is the confirmation box that opens when a program isn't running under admin privileges, if I'm calling it the wrong thing.

Anyhow, does someone know why this would be popping up? I don't use IE, and definitely not any IE browser add-ons. IE has never been open when I've run Minion. I just deny the program, and continue. Many thanks for any advice.
Shinjite is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 09:31 PM   #2
Xaxziminrax the Second
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
It could be that the Minion hooks into a browser to show the news service. It would probably reach for the system default.
Edit: If this is the case, change your default browser to firefox or something, and then open minion again as you typically would.

And is the term you're looking for UAC(?) (User Access Control). The one that looks like this? http://www.intelliadmin.com/images/V...C%20Prompt.png
Xaxziminrax the Second is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 09:58 PM   #3
Shinjite
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Shinjite's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Xaxziminrax the Second View Post
It could be that the Minion hooks into a browser to show the news service. It would probably reach for the system default.
Edit: If this is the case, change your default browser to firefox or something, and then open minion again as you typically would.

And is the term you're looking for UAC(?) (User Access Control). The one that looks like this? http://www.intelliadmin.com/images/V...C%20Prompt.png
Sorry, I meant to include in my original post that FF is my default browser. I never open IE unless I actually need to do so.

The image you linked isn't the one that pops up though. It's this -ignore the File Operation that's asking to run, as this isn't the exact dialog I get-: http://gizmodo.com/assets/resources/2008/04/uac.jpg Although, technically, I believe they're the same, as the titlebar reads "User Account Control" in both images.
__________________
"With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it." - Aristotle
Shinjite is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 10:19 PM   #4
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,035
It might be a good idea to get the correct screenshot to appear if neither of those is what you are getting.

But if you only browser is FireFox it shouldn't ask for IE8 anyway unless its just a wording error somewhere.
__________________
Xrystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 10:48 PM   #5
Shinjite
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Shinjite's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
It might be a good idea to get the correct screenshot to appear if neither of those is what you are getting.

But if you only browser is FireFox it shouldn't ask for IE8 anyway unless its just a wording error somewhere.
I couldn't get a screenshot of the dialog since the prompt basically locks everything on my keyboard except my arrow keys to switch from Continue to Cancel, but I did open and close Minion about six times, and got the prompt twice- once on the first run, and the second on the sixth. However, I did get this error once during my tests:

EDIT: Forgot that HTML won't work, so I'll try again with the Insert Picture option:

Seems like it's still calling up IE for some reason. I did notice that the add never loaded in the corner after I canceled out this prompt. Puzzling indeed.

I'll try to Google an exact screenshot of the dialog that pops up.
__________________
"With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it." - Aristotle
Shinjite is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 10:53 PM   #6
Shinjite
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Shinjite's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Shinjite View Post
I'll try to Google an exact screenshot of the dialog that pops up.
Found one:
__________________
"With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it." - Aristotle
Shinjite is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-01-10, 11:03 PM   #7
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,035
Does that IE message pop up when that error to use scripts pop up ? Maybe untick that box.

Maybe the way Minion is written it by default tries to use IE to do its html stuff. Or it could be the way the programming software works to hook into IE. Especially if its Microsoft software rofl.

Hopefully those 2 screenshots will help the developers of minion to find what the cause is.
__________________
Xrystal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-10, 04:00 PM   #8
Shinjite
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Shinjite's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 14
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Does that IE message pop up when that error to use scripts pop up ? Maybe untick that box.
That's actually the first time I've had that happen, and I'm beginning to think that it's an ad problem since no ad loaded after I closed out that debug prompt. Perhaps the reason I'm getting the IE Add-on UAC is because of a tainted ad? I did some more testing, and twice when I got the IE Add-on UAC prompt, the same ad loaded inside Minion.

Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Especially if its Microsoft software rofl.
I rofl'd at that. It wouldn't be the first time.

Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Hopefully those 2 screenshots will help the developers of minion to find what the cause is.
This is my hope as well. If it's an ad exploit of some sort, I really hope it doesn't become a widespread outbreak. Minion is extremely useful, and one of the reasons I chose WoWInterface. Ad exploits might cripple its userbase's confidence in the program.
__________________
"With regard to excellence, it is not enough to know, but we must try to have and use it." - Aristotle
Shinjite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go BackWoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Vista Confirmation Dialog For IE When Running Minion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off