Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-10, 06:39 PM   #81
Marthisdil
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 350
Scott,
Just went to login and got the following:

Date: 2010-04-09 19:38:25
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua line 219:
Usage: nUI_MicroMenu:SetPoint("point" [, region or nil] [, "relativePoint"] [, offsetX, offsetY])
Debug:
[C]: ?
[C]: SetPoint()
nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:219: applyAnchor()
nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:296:
nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:282
AddOns:
Swatter, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
Cursor, v3.3.0.2
NPCScan, v3.3.0.4
NPCScanOverlay, v3.3.0.7
Ace3, v
ACP, v3.3.0.31
Altoholic, v3.3.002
AraBrokerGuildFriends, vr22
AraBrokerReputations, vr4
AraBrokerTradeskills, vr33
AucAdvanced, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucDb, v5.1.DEV.3583
AucFilterBasic, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucFilterOutlier, v5.8.4696.2531
AucMatchUndercut, v5.8.4696.2531
AucStatClassic, v5.8.4591 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatHistogram, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatiLevel, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatPurchased, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatSales, v5.8.4696.2842
AucStatSimple, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatStdDev, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucStatWOWEcon, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilAHWindowControl, v5.8.4696.3311
AucUtilAppraiser, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilAskPrice, v5.8.4696.3175
AucUtilAutoMagic, v5.8.4696.3142
AucUtilCompactUI, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilEasyBuyout, v5.8.4696.3583
AucUtilFixAH, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
AucUtilGlypher, v5.8.4696.2545
AucUtilItemSuggest, v5.8.4696.3108
AucUtilPriceLevel, v5.8.4696.2545
AucUtilScanButton, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilScanFinish, v5.8.4696.3576
AucUtilScanProgress, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilScanStart, v5.8.4696.2530
AucUtilSearchUI, v5.8.4696.3655
AucUtilSimpleAuction, v5.8.4696.4546
AucUtilVendMarkup, v5.8.4696.2530
Auctionator, v2.6.2
Auditor2, v4.3.3
Babylonian, v5.1.DEV.130
BadBoy, v4.2.2.3
BadBoyCCleaner, v2.2.1
Bagnon, v2.13.2
BeanCounter, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
BonusScanner, v5.3
BrokerACP, v1.0
BrokerAuditor, v4.3.3
BrokerEverything, v0.0.18
BrokerSimpleCurrency, vr9
ChillEffect, v0.1
ChocolateBar, vr107
Configator, v5.1.DEV.130
DataStore, v3.3.001
DataStoreAchievements, v3.3.001
DataStoreAuctions, v3.3.001
DataStoreCharacters, v3.3.001
DataStoreContainers, v3.3.001
DataStoreCrafts, v3.3.001
DataStoreCurrencies, v3.3.001
DataStoreInventory, v3.3.001
DataStoreMails, v3.3.001
DataStorePets, v3.3.001
DataStoreQuests, v3.3.001
DataStoreReputations, v3.3.001
DataStoreSkills, v3.3.001
DataStoreSpells, v3.3.001
DataStoreStats, v3.3.001
DataStoreTalents, v3.3.001
DebugLib, v5.1.DEV.130
EMLib, v
Enchantrix, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
EnchantrixBarker, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
FishingBuddy, v0.9.8o
GearScore, v3.1.15 - Release
GFWLinkerator, v3.2
Informant, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
KevToolQueue, v1.05
LeatrixGfx, v
LilSparkysWorkshop, v
Looter, v
MarketWatcher, v2.05
nUI, v5.06.12 (Plus)
nUIAuraButtons, v5.03.00
nUIConfigGUI, v30300.1
nUIInfoPanelDualStats, v1.03.00
Omen, v3.0.9
Postal, v3.3.1
Prat30, vr440
Prat30Libraries, v
PratArmoryLink, v3.1-v3.1
QuickAuctions, v
RecipeBook, v
Recount, v
Reflux, vr46
ScrollingWatchFrame, v1.03.02
Skillet, v
SlideBar, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
Stubby, v5.8.4696 (CreepyKangaroo)
tekKompare, v3.2.0.7
TweakWoW, v2.9.6b
WinterTime, v1.83
WoWEquip, v1.2
BlizRuntimeLib_enUS v3.3.3.30300 <us>
(ck=bec)

Reloading the UI fixed it.
__________________

Marth


Marthisdil is offline  
Old 04-10-10, 05:34 AM   #82
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Man, this is driving me nuts... that should be an impossible error. The only way that error could exist would be if the *statically* defined layout that is loaded when nUI is loaded was wiped out of memory.

I am *so* miffed by this set of errors. It almost seems like the garbage collector is wiping out tables that are *not* supposed to be cleaned.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-10-10, 05:52 AM   #83
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,026
I've actually been starting to do tests on the existence of self in my functions just in case that has been wiped. Every value is being tested before being used just in case.

eg
function CreateMyFrame(...)
local f = CreateFrame(...)
f.AFunction = function(self)
if not self then return end
...
end
return f
end

local myframe = CreateMyFrame(...)
if ( myframe ) then myframe:AFunction(...) end

lots of testing but its the only way I know of getting it to gracefully bow out instead of erroring left right and center.

I'm starting to wonder if the new introduction of the local addonTable, addonData = ... feature to create a local but yet addonwide table has started a wave of altering the scope of variables.

And yeah its annoying that it seems to be doing that.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-13-10, 02:09 AM   #84
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
o keep getting this error on login with the blank frames

Date: 2010-04-13 18:11:09
Code:
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua line 219:
   Usage: nUI_MicroMenu:SetPoint("point" [, region or nil] [, "relativePoint"] [, offsetX, offsetY])
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   [C]: SetPoint()
   nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:219: applyAnchor()
   nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:296:
      nUI\Bars\nUI_MicroMenu.lua:282
Code:
Date: 2010-04-13 18:11:09
ID: 2
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Bars\nUI_XPBar.lua line 224:
   attempt to index field 'options' (a nil value)
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   nUI\Bars\nUI_XPBar.lua:224:
      nUI\Bars\nUI_XPBar.lua:139
   nUI\Bars\nUI_XPBar.lua:351:
      nUI\Bars\nUI_XPBar.lua:337
Code:
Date: 2010-04-13 18:11:09
ID: 3
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua line 319:
   attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:319: applyScale()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:474: applyOptions()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:578: configFrame()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:119:
      nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:112
Code:
Date: 2010-04-13 18:11:09
ID: 4
Error occured in: Global
Count: 8
Message: ..\FrameXML\FloatingChatFrame.lua line 784:
   attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   ..\FrameXML\FloatingChatFrame.lua:784: FCF_OnUpdate()
   [string "*:OnUpdate"]:1:
      [string "*:OnUpdate"]:1

a console reloadui fixes it but i have to do it EVERY SINGLE TIME i log in.
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.

Last edited by tinyu : 04-13-10 at 02:45 AM.
tinyu is offline  
Old 04-13-10, 04:14 AM   #85
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,026
It's still intermittent with me .. some days it happens every time I switch around toons or other times it only happens the once. Probably more noticeable when I do jump around though.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-13-10, 05:27 PM   #86
Deimous
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 50
Same here. Some days it happens every time, and other days it doesn't happen unless I swap toons quite often. But, when it does show up, every time I swap toons after that point, it will consistently show up.
Deimous is offline  
Old 04-14-10, 12:53 PM   #87
werewolf2554
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
I have to reload (use Loadit for speed ) and get the disable adons message.
werewolf2554 is offline  
Old 04-14-10, 02:23 PM   #88
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
You shouldn't use LoadIt and you should not be getting the disable addons message. That implies something much worse is going on.

The correct way to "fix" the problem for now is to type '/nui rl' even though you can't see the chat edit frame.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 04-15-10, 12:50 PM   #89
dbarron
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Ditto on the chatframe lua error..and I am current with the versions. It's quite sporadic, only about 2 times in 3 days (with several login events during those three days).
dbarron is offline  
Old 04-19-10, 05:49 AM   #90
Jordro
A Cyclonian
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 45
If this helps

I noticed that this problem only happens when I log out for anywhere up to an hour and a half and then log back into the same toon I was previously on. I always go to the character screen and let wow log me out, and then re-enter the password when I come back. Happened 3 times yesterday. This morning went to the same toon I was on last night and everything was fine.
__________________
I rather be flying!
Jordro is offline  
Old 04-19-10, 06:30 PM   #91
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,026
It looks like its purely a timing error from between the time that Scott Unhooks ChatFrame1 ( the main chat window ) from its parent and adds it to its new parent regular wow tries to update it. Because it has been reparented there is a delay before it understands its positioning. Assuming of course at this point the new set points are in place. Just had the error occur while my mini addon was running and it picked up the fact that GetTop and GetBottom were returning nil values and/or GetLeft and GetRight rofl. Can't remember now

I had a similar problem with my watch frame the other day and once I simply put an anchor in place the error went away. It was just the case of timing it so I could replace it with the correct anchor afterwards

http://www.wowwiki.com/API_Region_GetTop
This function is only guaranteed to work after the PLAYER_LOGIN event and then, only if the object in question is being Shown. Also, currently if you re-anchor an object or Show it, you will need to wait until after the next OnUpdate event before this function will return the correct new value
The block of code I am testing for this is :
Code:
for i=1, NUM_CHAT_WINDOWS do		
	local cframe  = _G["ChatFrame"..i];
	local exists = ( cframe ~= nil );
	testtab2["ChatFrame"..i] = {};
	testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].Exists = exists;
	if ( cframe ) then 
		testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].isDocked = cframe.isDocked or false;
		if ( cframe:GetRight() and cframe:GetLeft() and cframe:GetTop() and cframe:GetBottom() ) then
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].DimensionsValid = true; 
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].Error = false;
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].Result = "OK";
		else
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].DimensionsValid = false; 
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].Error = true;
			testtab2["ChatFrame"..i].Result = "Reloading...";
			--ReloadUI();
		end
	end
end
I tried an onupdate routine on both the frame having problems ( the watchframe in my case ) and the event frame but no dice. So it looks like it needs to be anchored sooner rather than later even if it is only temporary while it processes the other stuff.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-20-10, 06:47 PM   #92
Ladox
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
I login, for example, in SW, then I go to ironforge or anywhere else, I give out. When I login again, shows screens of errors (in about 15 to 22 pages) and I have to use / nui rl. I use Windows7 ultimate, version 5.12 nui plus. I have other addon, Vuhdo, Grid and Gearscore. The error appears only when I logout in a different location from where logged in.
Ladox is offline  
Old 04-20-10, 06:57 PM   #93
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,026
Wow, you should not be getting that many errors. There is something else going wrong there as well. The known nUI errors trigger 4 pages only and the same errors each time.

Might be worth double checking those messages to see if other addons are getting problems in a similar way too. There's been reports around about stuff like this so its most likely due to an undocumented change or some random load order messing things up.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 04-21-10, 04:28 AM   #94
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
If you can, try to page back through it all and find out what the very first error was. The first error is the important one as all of the rest are typically a result of the first error.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » blank frames on login

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off