Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-10, 01:11 AM   #1
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
nUI and PTR 3.3.5

get these on login to the PTR with the current live version of nUI+

Code:
Date: 2010-05-16 16:39:17
ID: 2
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ...youts\Default\InfoPanels\nUI_InfoPanel_CombatLog.lua line 406:
   attempt to index local 'bottom' (a nil value)
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   ...youts\Default\InfoPanels\nUI_InfoPanel_CombatLog.lua:406: setEnabled()
   ...youts\Default\InfoPanels\nUI_InfoPanel_CombatLog.lua:204: initPanel()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_InfoPanel.lua:793: applyScale()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_InfoPanel.lua:908: applyOptions()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_InfoPanel.lua:937: applySkin()
   nUI\Main\nUI.lua:252:
      nUI\Main\nUI.lua:137
Code:
Date: 2010-05-16 16:39:18
ID: 3
Error occured in: Global
Count: 1
Message: ..\AddOns\nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua line 357:
   attempt to index local 'bottom' (a nil value)
Debug:
   [C]: ?
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:357: applyScale()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:495: applyOptions()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:599: configFrame()
   nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:126:
      nUI\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:112
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
tinyu is offline  
Old 05-16-10, 01:18 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
ah you can get on PTR now ? I tried a few times before the weekend started with no luck .. will jump in there on Monday then

But yeah, the chat frame section will probably need changing due to the changes they've incorporated.

Yep. This is a portion of the FloatingChatFrame.xml file for 3.3.3 :

Code:
<ScrollingMessageFrame name="FloatingChatFrameTemplate" movable="true" enableMouse="false" resizable="true" inherits="ChatFrameTemplate" parent="UIParent" hidden="true" virtual="true">
	<Frames>
		<Button name="$parentBottomButton">
	</Frames>	
</ScrollingMessageFrame>
And this is the same Template in 3.3.5 version of the same file :
Code:
<ScrollingMessageFrame name="FloatingChatFrameTemplate" movable="true" enableMouse="false" resizable="true" inherits="ChatFrameTemplate,FloatingBorderedFrame" parent="UIParent" hidden="true" clampedToScreen="true" dontSavePosition="true" virtual="true">
	<Frames>
		<Frame name="$parentButtonFrame" inherits="FloatingBorderedFrame" parentKey="buttonFrame" alpha="0.2">
			<Frames>
				<Button name="$parentBottomButton" parentKey="bottomButton">
			</Frames>
		</Frame>
	</Frames>
</ScrollingMessageFrame>
From memory of looking at the code it should be an easy enough change. I will need to do it to my char frame addons as well so I'll know for sure once I've fixed and tested those.
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 05-16-10 at 01:30 AM.
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-16-10, 01:39 AM   #3
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
yeah im on there now
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
tinyu is offline  
Old 05-16-10, 05:50 AM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I got it just long enough yesterday to download an update and haven't been able to log in since. I'm getting a "can't connect" message now.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Old 05-16-10, 06:37 AM   #5
tinyu
A Molten Giant
 
tinyu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 816
yeah the PTR has been pretty buggy was in a ony group and after we killed her NO one got there loot >< good thing its only a PTR
__________________


"There's no such thing as too many addons."
Lothaer
Titan Dev Team Member.
tinyu is offline  
Old 05-20-10, 03:48 PM   #6
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Well updated PTR files and tried to log in but still can't. I had this problem last time and could only log in a week before the patch hit live rofl. Just as well that I haven't got a job at the moment to fix the bugs I had after the last patch.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-20-10, 11:53 PM   #7
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Did you copy a new char to the test realm ? You can't log on any more unless you did that. (Previous ptr chars are bey bey)
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.
Seer is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 04:47 AM   #8
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Yeah I tried that. I have no characters available to copy. The one attempt I made last week or so wouldn't let me copy either.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 08:41 AM   #9
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,865
I had that issue the first time I tried to log into this testing phase of the PTR. I ended up clearing out anything pertaining to Blizz from my firewall and then trying to log in again. It let me right in and I haven't had anymore login issues since.
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
Petrah is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 09:03 AM   #10
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Nope, didn't work for me .. Seems to think I have no battlenet account when I log into the test server.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 11:02 AM   #11
Seer
A Molten Giant
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 649
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
Yeah I tried that. I have no characters available to copy. The one attempt I made last week or so wouldn't let me copy either.
Just being annoying, but also no pre made chars available ?

Maybe it thinks your account is inactive or something ridiculous like that..
__________________
Take it as you want or leave it as it is.
Seer is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 11:15 AM   #12
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Rofl, tried copying a character again and voila... just like in game, complain a few times and it works rofl. Transferred 2 characters across.

And amazingly can log in now with both characters available rofl. Wonders will never cease rofl.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 01:46 PM   #13
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
Okay, finally got nUI working without errors. Not visually great but can't be helped.

local bottom = _G["ChatFrame"..i.."ButtonFrameBottomButton"];
local down = _G["ChatFrame"..i.."ButtonFrameDownButton"];
local up = _G["ChatFrame"..i.."ButtonFrameUpButton"];
local minimize = _G["ChatFrame"..i.."ButtonFrameMinimizeButton"];
local editBox = _G["ChatFrame"..i.."EditBox"];

The minimize button seems to be on the extra chat frames and allows the frame to be minimized similar to the objectives watch frame.

The editbox also seems to be floating between frames and named accordingly.

I also had to change the following around to get it to not error out.

Code:
local function onChatFrameEvent()

--	nUI_ProfileStart( ProfileCounter, "onChatFrameEvent", event );
	
	if event == "ADDON_LOADED" then

		if arg1 == "nUI" then
			nUI:registerScalableFrame( frame );	
			
			nUI_ChatFrame:configFrame();
			frame.texture = frame:CreateTexture();
			frame.texture:SetAllPoints( nUI.chat_frame );
		end
		
	else

        frame:UnregisterEvent( "PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD" );

--		nUI_ChatFrame:configFrame();
        
--		frame.texture = frame:CreateTexture();
--		frame.texture:SetAllPoints( nUI.chat_frame );
			
	end
	
--	nUI_ProfileStop();
	
end
I also had to add this check in before repositioning or it errored out with a not movable frame:
Code:
if cframe:IsMovable() then
	cframe:SetUserPlaced( true );
end
In light of ChatFrame1 and ChatFrame2 they seem to be docked hard coded as index 1 and 2.


FCF_DockFrame( ChatFrame1, 1);
FCF_DockFrame( ChatFrame2, 2);

And here's a pretty picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052110_204546.jpg
Views:	473
Size:	237.8 KB
ID:	4288  
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-21-10, 02:04 PM   #14
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
And here's a non nUI screenshot or two highlighting other new features.

It looks like the minimize button is attached to frames that are undocked from the main chat frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052110_210217.jpg
Views:	458
Size:	203.5 KB
ID:	4289  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052110_210039.jpg
Views:	462
Size:	242.8 KB
ID:	4290  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_052110_205804.jpg
Views:	455
Size:	201.3 KB
ID:	4291  
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 11:43 AM   #15
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
wowwiki have started posting up API changes they have found documented somewhere. These are I think more relevant to nUI but heres the link anyway


http://www.wowwiki.com/Patch_3.3.5/API_changes

width, height = GetChatWindowSavedDimensions(chatFrameId)
point, xOfs, yOfs = GetChatWindowSavedPosition(chatFrameId)
SetChatWindowSavedDimensions(chatFrameId, width, height)
SetChatWindowSavedPosition(chatFrameId, point, xOfs, yOfs)
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 11:50 AM   #16
Elgatodefuego
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
So just a quick question, when you guys play with the code for nUI do you use an IDE or just Notepad?
Elgatodefuego is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 12:03 PM   #17
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
I use Notepad++. I used to use my Visual Studio but Notepad++ is small enough to handle what I need it for.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 12:15 PM   #18
Elgatodefuego
A Murloc Raider
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Ah ok. Isn't there a LUA plugin for Visual Studio that allows support of Intellisense and all that?

I use VS 2010 (yes we upgraded early) at work and I've a license for my home computer (god I love my company). I've been thinking about tinkering more with the LUA code to really learn it (C#/ASP.Net developer) and would love to use a familiar interface if possible.
Elgatodefuego is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 12:21 PM   #19
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,013
I can't recall seeing one myself but there probably is somewhere around the place But yeah, I use 2008 ( upgraded before 2010 was out and while I had a credit card rofl ) so at least Im somewhat up to date rofl. I used it for the same reason but the intellisense that comes with the notepad++ posting on these forums somewhere helps me at least remember most of the functions without looking them up so nice practice at least.

This might eventually lead you to what you want though

http://www.wowwiki.com/Lua_editors/Visual_Studio
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Old 05-22-10, 12:43 PM   #20
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
nUI is developed using WoW AddOn Studio which does work with Visual Studio. The distribution even includes the Project and Solution files that go with nUI.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » nUI and PTR 3.3.5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off