Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-26-10, 03:26 AM   #1
DeathByBlad3
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
issue with newest nui lite

when teleporting to a different city, the chat screen becomes one line and only way to fix it is to log out..didnt do this on previous version
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062610_052245.jpg
Views:	570
Size:	189.1 KB
ID:	4519  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062610_052228.jpg
Views:	570
Size:	187.5 KB
ID:	4520  
DeathByBlad3 is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 08:04 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
The latest latest ? 5.06.26 ( for 3.3.5 users ) ?

That said, I have seen this several times. If you notice the chat tabs are below the buttons height wise. That shows that somehow the tab buttons haven't realigned themselves to the top of the chat frame properly.

Right click the general tab and select unlock and then move it up until it starts moving the whole frame including the buttons. Then hopefully a relog will replace it back in the frame at the correct size.

Please bear with Scott with these new changes as believe me some of these quirks are not happening in a consistent manner.

Also, just in case my fixes to my InfoPanel chat plugins are not quite working right, if you use them and have downloaded my recent fixes for 3.3.5 try disabling them for a while and see if the problem persists. If not try enabling them again and then see if they recurr. If we can get a pattern it will help us resolve it.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 06:09 PM   #3
DeathByBlad3
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
yes 5.06.26 version 3.3.5..im on shadow council horde side..and usualy just relogging fixes it no need to resize it, all i had to do is log out and it fixes it..


just a few minutes ago i logged in the game. and it did it, same thing, i also tried clicking on trade/characters name and it wouldnt even let me right click there names or enter a channel by clicking on it.. hope this helps you some more
DeathByBlad3 is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 06:36 PM   #4
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
Can you provide me a list of the addons you're using with nUI (including nUI plugins) please? I have been unable to reproduce this error after many hours of testing.

Also, what chat mode are you using? IM or Classic? Do you have friends in the Battle.net that you're getting messages from? Anything you can point to that causes it to occur?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 06:54 PM   #5
nonretadin
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
nonretadin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 96
i am also getting this problem i use prat updated lastest version and i dont get anything with realid cause i have cellular for managing my whispers
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062510_212400.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	303.8 KB
ID:	4526
also a bunch of addons with bazooka but not really any that effect chat i switched it to classic mode
i use nUI+ so its not just lite version
__________________



yup themz da banana'z

Last edited by nonretadin : 06-26-10 at 06:57 PM. Reason: added info
nonretadin is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 08:11 PM   #6
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
If you disable Prat, do you still get the problem?
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 06-26-10, 08:22 PM   #7
nonretadin
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
nonretadin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 96
no but i dont know how to duplicate the error so i cant tell but no so far i turned prat off cause something happened to my editbox now its really dim and hard to read only with prat on
__________________



yup themz da banana'z

Last edited by nonretadin : 06-26-10 at 08:24 PM.
nonretadin is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 07:31 AM   #8
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
My gut instinct tells me this problem with the one line issue is being caused by another addon... otherwise I'm pretty sure I would have seen it by now and there would be a lot more people yelling about it.

The trick is figuring out what the cause is.

Can you please list *all* of the mods you're using, including nUI plugins.
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/

Last edited by spiel2001 : 06-27-10 at 07:59 AM.
spiel2001 is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 07:57 AM   #9
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
Also, can you test it out on all of your characters and see if the problem is limited to just the one character or multiple ones. Then go into your WTF folder for your account/server/character name and link in a copy of your chat-cache.txt file. That may help us see if it is something storing the settings somewhere and ultimately able to be reset with a bit of editing.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 04:01 PM   #10
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
Well I seem to be consistently getting this problem now but I can't see for the life of me why it happens.

I disabled all nUI infopanel addons and just had nUI active and my ldb plugin for nUI active and logged in.
.. No problems with chat frame position or size

Enabled dual stats infopanel plugin and logged back in.
.. No problems with chat frame position or size

Enabled my own decursive plugin and logged back in.
.. Chat Frame messes up

Relogged.
.. Chat Frame all okay again.

Enabled my own SmartDebuff plugin and logged back in.
.. Chat Frame messes up

Relogged.
.. Chat Frame all okay again.

Scott, looking at your dualstats and my plugins I can't see what you are doing different that would cause the chat frame to be affected differently and inconsistently from login to login.

Here are some screenshots anyway to show you what I mean.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062710_225030.jpg
Views:	549
Size:	267.5 KB
ID:	4531  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062710_225107.jpg
Views:	554
Size:	158.4 KB
ID:	4532  Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_062710_225220.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	280.2 KB
ID:	4533  
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 04:20 PM   #11
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
Rofl, and then I get the opposite happen.
Enabled my chat plugin. Log In. Chat Frames fine.
Change Chat Frame Settings on new frame. Log Out. Log In. Chat Frames messed up.
Reloaded the UI and chat frame fine.

Darn inconsistent but consistent buglets. rofl.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 06:09 PM   #12
Xrystal
nUI User and Supporter
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,030
Aha, figured out the problem. At least somewhat anyway. Gonna try testing on some other plugins and see if the similar is happening there.

In regards to my chat frame plugins I need to monitor the event UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS as that is called after blizz has finished doing its chat frame changes. At that point I know when I can start looking at what frames are available etc.

PLAYER_LOGIN however is the event that nUI uses to turn on the infopanels based on their active/enabled status at that point.

When the chat frames go funky PLAYER_LOGIN is called before UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS. When the chat frames work fine that is when PLAYER_LOGIN is called after UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS.

Now the question is Scott. Can we by default turn off the plugin so that initpanel doesn't enable it and then turn it on again when we are ready ? if so what is the correct way of doing this ?

When can/should we use plugin.setEnabled, options.enabled and what is that extra nUI_InfoPanels[XXXX].enabled used for ?

Okay, confirmed it.

All I have running nUI wise is nUI. Yep, thats it .. nothing else. I even turned off Omen and Recount and Skada to stop those infopanels from being created.

The only infopanels I have are the combatlog and the map one.

Log in, PLAYER_LOGIN appears before UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS bam .. misaligned chat.

Log in, PLAYER_LOGIN appears after UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS woot .. chat looks perfectly fine.

Starting to sound like you might have to rethink some more event management Scott


Ah. Another error spotted due to event order :

Code:
[2010/06/28 00:44:51-6023-x1]: nUI-5.06.26 (Plus)\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:249: attempt to perform arithmetic on a nil value
nUI-5.06.26 (Plus)\Integration\nUI_ChatFrame.lua:501: in function `applyAnchor'
nUI-5.06.26 (Plus)\Main\nUI.lua:670: in function `setScale'
nUI-5.06.26 (Plus)\Main\nUI.lua:141: in function <Interface\AddOns\nUI\Main\nUI.lua:137>
<in C code>: in function `LoadAddOn'
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:235: in function `UIParentLoadAddOn':
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:258: in function `CombatLog_LoadUI':
Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:482: in function <Interface\FrameXML\UIParent.lua:454>:
This occurs if VARIABLES_LOADED appears after UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS but before PLAYER_LOGIN if I adjust nUI_ChatFrame to look at UPDATE_CHAT_WINDOWS instead of PLAYER_LOGIN. And this happens quite often so definitely not a good idea to use this event *sigh*.

After what seems like hours ( probably just minutes though ) and thousands ( probably hundreds .. erm more likely less than 50 ) reloads I only got the error a few times and the only time it happens is when that chat event appears after the login event. All users can do at the moment is a reloadui to fix it.

I'll try and work this knowledge into my chat plugins to at least stop it from freaking out rofl.
__________________
Xrystal is offline  
Unread 06-27-10, 06:42 PM   #13
spiel2001
nUI's Author
 
spiel2001's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,724
I can try changing the panel logic to call you on PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD instead of PLAYER_LOGIN
__________________

What people don't get is that I am, ultimately, an artist at heart.
My brush has two colors, 1 and 0, and my canvas is made of silicon.



Official nUI Web Site: http://www.nUIaddon.com
Official nUI Support Forum: http://forums.nUIaddon.com
My day job: http://www.presidio.com/
spiel2001 is offline  
 

Go BackWoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » issue with newest nui lite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off